We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's 10 out of 10 from us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caiammari

Save Saved
You added Hotel Caiammari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caiammari
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Daniele Impellizzeri -Contrada Isola Fanusa, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 hotels in Syracuse
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's 10 out of 10 from us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We spent 8 days at the Caiammari in September – our fourth visit to this romantic oasis. We discovered the hotel when travelling around Sicily and we stayed this time because we were celebrating an anniversary. We love the large pool which has wide terraces and plenty of new sun beds and umbrellas. The gardens are beautiful, the gym is excellent, everything is maintained very well, the staff are fantastic – nothing is too much trouble and they were particularly helpful arranging a visit to a GP when I had an ear problem – the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are modern and well equipped, we have really enjoyed the food and wine in the restaurant and think the prices are reasonable.
Ortigia is beautiful and atmospheric and we found some excellent restaurants and bars, mostly recommended by the hotel staff. In the other direction head off into the hills to Noto where there are good restaurants, or along the coast to a beautiful beach, or close by to Ognina harbour for a Pizza.
You need a car at the Caiammari and ask for directions prior to your stay to save some time because it is located in typically Sicilian countryside. We don’t mind the driving - the trick is to keep moving and stay chilled! If you don’t have a car their sister hotel, Hotel Roma, is located in the heart of Ortigia. It’s lovely but we haven’t stayed there, we would miss the Caiammari too much, and writing this has made me wish I was there right now!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    30
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Visited this hotel last week. After travelling from Catania Airport we eventually found the hotel. The approach to the hotel is dreadful. Once you enter the grounds, the ambiance, friendliness of staff, and hotel itself is wonderful. Swimming pools exceptional. A car is a must - provided you are brave enough to drive on the roads. The driving discipline of the Sicilians is nothing but very very scary. Never would I do it again.

The room we had at the hotel was beautiful. It was clean, spacious, airy and had a jacuzzi in the room. Towels changed every day. Shower was a little disappointing in as much as it was small.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

The hotel is difficult to find, well off the main road among the scrub and agricultural land south of Syracuse. The surroundings are unattractive, though the hotel grounds are very pleasant and enthusiastically maintained. Although only about 6 km out of Syracuse, the only road in and out (the SS115) is constantly congested and the journey can take 30 minutes (the hotel is about 3 km east of this main road in any case). Rooms are OK, though not large and with limited storage space, and cursed with wobbly light switches, plugs that don’t work and so on. Ours was a split level, but the upper level was too musty and hot, despite the a/c, to use. The king sized bed was actually two singles pushed together. Staff were OK but several were rather unprofessional – at breakfast the second day we were asked rather ungraciously to move after we has started as ‘this table was for dinner’, even though we had been told to sit anywhere the previous day. Little things grated – the car park barrier was always down and you had to walk to reception to get it, rather grudgingly, lifted. Breakfast was unimpressive (tinned fruit, limited selection) and the restaurant not up to much (there are, fortunately, one or two good restaurants on the road into Syracuse (where restaurants are generally over-priced and poor). The pools are, however, very good indeed, clean, well maintained and large (the main one is about 25x10 metres, though it has no shallow end, but there is a second, shallow, pool about 25x5 metres).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Caiammari, what a hotel.
The location, about 10 mins from the old town of Siracusa is fine (once you have found it)but the hotel is a real gem.
An old converted farmouse, set it some beautiful gardens with a fantastic pool area, a large pool for the adults and a smaller one for the young ones.The bar area and restaurant are top class and the prices are not over the top.
Breakfast served in the main house, is a really lavish buffet with all the usual and more.
The rooms are very well furnished in a traditional yet modern style and are very spacious.The gardens are extensive and very relaxing, all in all, the best hotel we stayed in, during are week in Sicily and we cant wait to get back.
By the way, we booked through www.hotels.com and got a great deal, 3 nights for the price of 2.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

This place is great. But I would recommand to rent a car if you`re staying here. The staff is very helpful, so if you need to get to the town or to the beach they can drive you there in any time between 8.00 and 19.00. But if you want to stay in town after 19.00, you have to rent a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

This hotel is a beautiful old Italian house that has been rennovated and extended into the hotel. The grounds of the hotel are an oasis in the area and there is even a guide to where in the world all the plants came from! The rooms are lovely and a good size. The swimming pool is fantastic and again a decent size. We often had the pool to ourselves or were sharing with only a few other guests. The atmosphere is very relaxed. The hotel is situated about a 10 minute drive outside of Siracusa, however there is a free shuttle bus to the town and a taxi back to the hotel (as the shuttle only runs to the early evening) is around €20.

There are two drawbacks to the hotel - the service of the staff and the parties. The service of the staff ranged from very good to very poor. Having said that we always served, you just had to be a bit pro-active at finding the staff! There isn't much English spoken so the basics of Italian is useful - it gives you a more genuine experience!

The parties - out of our two week stay there were 4 parties. 2 of them were fine and did not interfere with our holiday at all. The other 2 were very loud and one in particular was by the poolside, which happened to be right outside our room! We were invited to that party but only on the day and were given no warning before that.

Despite these two drawbacks, I would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a relaxing and beautiful setting.

  • Liked — The grounds and setting of the hotel
  • Disliked — The loud parties
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

The hotel was really nice if you could pick it up and put it somewhere else.
It is isolated in the countryside and the evening meals were overpriced and arrived cold. The restuarant Daphne on the main road into Syracuase was half the price and excellent.
The suite though large only had a single whirlpool bath not double as seen on their website. It was dark and inadequately lit so we could not read easily in the evening unless sitting directly under one of the wall lights.
The worst thing was the noise of dogs from the surrounding houses barking all night constantly until dawn keeping us awake during the 2 nights of our stay.
The surroundings of the hotel really let it down with rubbish just fly tipped on the side of the road and we saw several dead rats which had been run over

I would definitely not recommend this hotel

  • Liked — Leaving it early
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Caiammari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caiammari

Address: Via Daniele Impellizzeri -Contrada Isola Fanusa, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caiammari 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a former noble residence, the Caiammari is an elegant 4-star hotel in eastern Sicily, 4 miles from Siracusa. The centuries-old botanical gardens feature an outdoor swimming pool.The spacious, airy rooms of Hotel Caiammari are elegantly furnished and feature wrought-iron beds, tiled floors and exposed wood beams on the ceilings. Each room offers air conditioning and a TV with satellite channels.The spa center is complete with sauna and jacuzzi outdoor pool . A range of massages and beauty treatments is also available.Hibiscus restaurant serves a fusion of Sicilian, Italian and international cuisine, including an exquisite selection of wines. The bar is famous for its cocktails, and the breakfast buffet includes fresh pastries.The hotel is half a mile from Arenella Beach. The staff can arrange shuttles to the heart of Siracusa and Catania Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Caiammari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caiammari Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Caiammari Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caiammari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.