We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to Be Missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain of Diana

Fountain of Diana
Piazza Archimede, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 60 attractions in Syracuse
Type: Fountains
Attraction Details
Sicily, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not to Be Missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

But I did, my first trip to Ortygia! This place is so beautiful that after I saw my friend's photos of the backside of this amazing fountain, I asked, "Where was that?" She rolled her eyes and then showed me photos of me in front of it...ooops! Lots to see, lots to enjoy!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful fountain, pleasant piazza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The fountain of Diana is worth stopping in Piazza Archimede to see. She's beautiful, with her nymphs riding animals around her. Lots of little restaurants, gelaterias and bars (Italian bars, meaning for espresso, not alcohol) nearby.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Village
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good for people-watching.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A pleasant spot to linger at any time, not least after dark And nearby you have a whole selection of inexpensive waterfront restaurants.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Creates the interest in the piazza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Looks very different depending on the time of day, or night, and lots of things to look at close up. Has character!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Fountain of Diana is a beautiful sculpture of a gorgeous woman, surrounded by her nymphs riding various sea creatures. Worth a stop at Piazza Archimedes to view, and continue up Via Roma or Via Cavour to the PIazza Duomo.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain of Diana also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Fountain of Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain of Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fountain of Diana to your Saves list