We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa dei Papiri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa dei Papiri to your Saves list
Villa dei Papiri
3.0 of 5 Farmhouse   |   Traversa Cozzo Pantano - Traversa Testa Pisima 2/C | Riserva Naturale Fiume Ciane e Saline, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not really!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Villa dei Papiri for four nights ten days ago and found this hotel to be very disappointing. The rooms are small and sadly lacking. There was hardly any storage space.The bathrooms are also dingy and not kept clean. There were lots of mosquitoes because of the surrounding vegetation. Since it rained heavily, the bed sheets that were put on the second day smelled damp and musty. Btw, don't bother to send in any items to the laundry. They are returned damp! The breakfast was not appetizing. It was made up of small pastries in plastic wraps for the most part. We noticed that leftover food from breakfast remained in the breakfast area all day. The only good thing was that you were able to get some complimentary access to the internet although it was very slow. Their sister restaurant close by had horrible wine and when we brought our own bottles, we were charged a hefty corkage. We'll not return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Direttore generale at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We 're sorry for your sad experience , but we believe that there is a fundamental mistake in the location's choice: it is normal that being surrounded by the vegetation of a nature reserve there are humidity and mosquitoes , it would have probably been better for you to choose an aseptic hotel in the city center. At least you have specified to have stayed during rainy days and so we believe it is clear the basic problem, even for the laundry that not having chemical cleaning or drying systems entrusts to nature and sun, and if your clothes cannot dry well because of the rain we really apologize for that , probably we would have better recommended a dry cleaning outside. As for the breakfast we should point out that mentioned small pastries are almond pastries , fresh and soft , packed one by one to preserve their taste and which are well known as one of the Sicilian pastry specialties (never seen?); however, you haven't mentioned the croissants , cakes, bread and buns, boiled eggs , cold cuts , etc. ... Besides your leftovers commentary sounds strange because breakfast area is always cleaned up. To conclude we underline we are not be responsible for a negative comment about a close by restaurant where you had dinner because it is another management (wine problem).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    71
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
60
89
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PARDES HANA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

the location in a natural reserve is a winner/ rooms and public area very pleasant and the country atmosphere is very very nice . buildings are beautifully restored and a nice orcard with pld olive trees completes the nice set-up.
cleaning can be improved though by no means not "terrible" as mentioned in some reviews.
as we always prefer a nice country house to a luxurious hotel we really enjoyed our 2 nights there

Room Tip: locate it on GPS before you arrive - it is quite a challenge to find it. follow the signs to Fonte C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your objective review, we are glad you have appreciated your stay and this farm, we hope to guest you again in the future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice setting and full of potentials...but this is it. Rooms are lacking of some refurbishment and are very mouldy and scarcely ventilated. AC was not working, staff is not local and unprofessional, breakfast is a scandal for a so called agritourism in Italy! Despite the discount they gave me on the final bill is not a place a would reccomend...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are sorry for your complaints, especially for breakfast which is widely appreciated by our guests, and we are still wondering what could be so scandalous..... Never mind, everyone has got his own tastes and preferences, we'll try to improve rooms as well as services. Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Calabria
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was not the first time we had visited this agriturismo and I doubt it will be the last. Having previously tried other accommodation in Siracusa, I can safely say that this is my favourite. It's great if you like nature and want to get away from it all but still want to be close enough to the city centre to be able to visit Ortigia easily. You'd probably need a car if you're planning on staying here, but it's only few km to the centre of Siracusa. It can be nice just to spend the day hanging around the agriturismo though, because it's in the middle of a nature reserve and a great place for short walks amongst the olive groves and by the nearby river. The rooms have a real Sicilian feel to them and the room which we stayed in (Exclusive) has its own little patio/garden with a table and chairs. It was lovely to sit there in the late afternoon sun! The main building has a fantastic communal area/dining hall and our young daughter really enjoyed playing in the surrounding gardens. Compared to most agriturismos/B&Bs, the breakfast is excellent and there's a wide range of food to choose from and the staff are really friendly and helpful, but also respect your privacy. Although there's no restaurant here, there is another agriturismo very nearby (Villa Cristina) which is really nice. In a nutshell, I can highly recommend Villa dei Papiri!

Room Tip: The Exclusive rooms are larger and they're in a seperate building so nice if you want a bit of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for coming again to this place, it shows your love for nature and relaxing holidays, and above all it's our prize for any effort we make to let people enjoy their holidays.
We expect to guest you again and again for sure! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

In the middle of an orange's field, the facility seems very romantic at the first view. And it eally is. We were 3 people and we got a big 2 floor suite for only 125€/day, breakfast for 3 included. Not bad. Anyway you need to tolerate a not perfect cleaning of the room. Not because the room service but because you are in the middle of the country and humidity or dust are possible and sometime aggressive to an old country house even if restored. Wifi available in the common area. No restaurant in the facility, but very close in another "Villa", or Syracuse downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for really appreciating the features of this place and our service, we hope to guest you again to satisfy your expectations even more.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place really isn't what you'd expect. Another lesson to never judge a book by its cover.
The whole place is really musty and deserted, no soul or good vibe found here.. Unlike what the website suggests.
Our room wasn't very clean and even worse, it was covered by millipedes! They where everywhere! And I don't mean a few, more like a hundred or so.. Yikes!
We stayed here a couple of days and during our stay there was nobody around the place to welcome or help us or anything. Breakfast wasn't what we expected, on top of that I got a fierce food poisoning here that ruined the rest of my holiday. I'll never forget this place, wish that was a good thing...

Room Tip: Get out of there and book a room elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest
we don't know if crying or laughing is best, because your review looks very theatrical, nearly Scary movie, with a desert hotel without a soul and millipedes everywhere; but we want to know therefore what ghosts have given you the room, the keys, they prepared breakfast that you disliked (but for which the others make us compliments), and even a poisoning which of course we were not informed of until a year later in this comment of yours.
Sorry for this nightmare we have caused, we believe that the countryside didn't fit you, but we apologize anyway for everything and we hope that our future clients will tell their problems while present, and not a year later when we do not understand what and why.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a beautiful place! Citrus groves, date palms laden with dates, beautiful buildings and grounds! Idyllic.....until you take up lodging. Our room had five air fresheners, which reeked. I had to put them away, at which point, the smell of dampness took over. Arriving late at night, we piled into bed, but yuck! The sheets were damp! Next morning breakfast in the main building, or should I call it refrigerator..... Breakfast was good, though not what you would expect in a place like this. Next morning, no hot water. That evening we relaxed with a bottle of wine and nuts from the bar....very stale nuts. And still no hot water. Meanwhile, in our room, millipedes scaled the walls. Next morning we were provided a hot shower in another room. Checking the room before departure, i made the mistake of looking under the bed...cant tell if it had ever been swept, it was littered with dust and dirt.There were no apologies from the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guest, we are sorry you had all these problems, and we thought you would have appreciated our efforts to help you about the hot water problem, but you didn't.
It happened at weekend so you can understand it is a problem to have a tecnician coming to fix it, and we gave you another room; things can break and we always do our best to solve or find an alternative, sorry for that. You came in winter time, so we remind our guests in winter it's cold as it can be in the main lounge (400 square metres) but you forgot saying you have heater inside the room. At least, it's normal that at the end of a vacation, just before leaving the room, the cleanliness is not perfect, hoteliers could write books about what customers leave in their rooms. Anyway the dust under the bed or millipedes on the wall can be normal being in the countryside and after a few days of use (opening and closing the door, dust can easily enter as well as insects!). Definitely you shoud have checked the room on arrival and not on departure, and above all you should have told this at the reception, because the staff cannot apologize for something they have not been informed about and only you knew. We are always at our guests' service and we do anything to please them or solve problems, but these need to be told immediately and not after departure. Thanks anyway for being our guest, any criticism will always be a source of improvement and greater attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa dei Papiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Papiri

Address: Traversa Cozzo Pantano - Traversa Testa Pisima 2/C | Riserva Naturale Fiume Ciane e Saline, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa dei Papiri 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractions in the area. Special Services. Services and offers seasonally updated Local news on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Villa dei Papiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dei Papiri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa dei Papiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.