We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "Orange" stay !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa dei Papiri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa dei Papiri to your Saves list
Villa dei Papiri
3.0 of 5 Farmhouse   |   Traversa Cozzo Pantano - Traversa Testa Pisima 2/C | Riserva Naturale Fiume Ciane e Saline, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An "Orange" stay !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

In the middle of an orange's field, the facility seems very romantic at the first view. And it eally is. We were 3 people and we got a big 2 floor suite for only 125€/day, breakfast for 3 included. Not bad. Anyway you need to tolerate a not perfect cleaning of the room. Not because the room service but because you are in the middle of the country and humidity or dust are possible and sometime aggressive to an old country house even if restored. Wifi available in the common area. No restaurant in the facility, but very close in another "Villa", or Syracuse downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for really appreciating the features of this place and our service, we hope to guest you again to satisfy your expectations even more.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    71
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
60
89
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place really isn't what you'd expect. Another lesson to never judge a book by its cover.
The whole place is really musty and deserted, no soul or good vibe found here.. Unlike what the website suggests.
Our room wasn't very clean and even worse, it was covered by millipedes! They where everywhere! And I don't mean a few, more like a hundred or so.. Yikes!
We stayed here a couple of days and during our stay there was nobody around the place to welcome or help us or anything. Breakfast wasn't what we expected, on top of that I got a fierce food poisoning here that ruined the rest of my holiday. I'll never forget this place, wish that was a good thing...

Room Tip: Get out of there and book a room elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest
we don't know if crying or laughing is best, because your review looks very theatrical, nearly Scary movie, with a desert hotel without a soul and millipedes everywhere; but we want to know therefore what ghosts have given you the room, the keys, they prepared breakfast that you disliked (but for which the others make us compliments), and even a poisoning which of course we were not informed of until a year later in this comment of yours.
Sorry for this nightmare we have caused, we believe that the countryside didn't fit you, but we apologize anyway for everything and we hope that our future clients will tell their problems while present, and not a year later when we do not understand what and why.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a beautiful place! Citrus groves, date palms laden with dates, beautiful buildings and grounds! Idyllic.....until you take up lodging. Our room had five air fresheners, which reeked. I had to put them away, at which point, the smell of dampness took over. Arriving late at night, we piled into bed, but yuck! The sheets were damp! Next morning breakfast in the main building, or should I call it refrigerator..... Breakfast was good, though not what you would expect in a place like this. Next morning, no hot water. That evening we relaxed with a bottle of wine and nuts from the bar....very stale nuts. And still no hot water. Meanwhile, in our room, millipedes scaled the walls. Next morning we were provided a hot shower in another room. Checking the room before departure, i made the mistake of looking under the bed...cant tell if it had ever been swept, it was littered with dust and dirt.There were no apologies from the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guest, we are sorry you had all these problems, and we thought you would have appreciated our efforts to help you about the hot water problem, but you didn't.
It happened at weekend so you can understand it is a problem to have a tecnician coming to fix it, and we gave you another room; things can break and we always do our best to solve or find an alternative, sorry for that. You came in winter time, so we remind our guests in winter it's cold as it can be in the main lounge (400 square metres) but you forgot saying you have heater inside the room. At least, it's normal that at the end of a vacation, just before leaving the room, the cleanliness is not perfect, hoteliers could write books about what customers leave in their rooms. Anyway the dust under the bed or millipedes on the wall can be normal being in the countryside and after a few days of use (opening and closing the door, dust can easily enter as well as insects!). Definitely you shoud have checked the room on arrival and not on departure, and above all you should have told this at the reception, because the staff cannot apologize for something they have not been informed about and only you knew. We are always at our guests' service and we do anything to please them or solve problems, but these need to be told immediately and not after departure. Thanks anyway for being our guest, any criticism will always be a source of improvement and greater attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsmouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Set close to the Fonte Ciane, the Villa dei Papiri is a respite for the weary traveler who perhaps wants to walk among the papyrus plants and admire the incredible blue sky and wintering birds. A short distance from Siracusa and its old city, the Villa dei Papiri offers an ample breakfast (no other meals), convenient self-catering for those so inclined, and fresh-brewed morning cappucino. The staff are friendly, well-informed and willing to help. It's stone facade and rich vegetation makes this a beauty spot. The area is dense with orange, lemon and olive groves and the surrounding ancient sites and beauty spots are worth a visit. Stand on the edge of a crater on Mount Etna - only forty-five minutes away - and take in a view of the world not to be forgotten. I never shall.

Room Tip: All rooms face onto garden areas which are sunny havens of quiet with an occasional breeze among the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile reception at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much, we are happy to do our best and make you enjoy your stay, best wishes to you all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely stay in this converted farm house. The inn keepers, a lovely couple, were very attentive and easy going. Ana Lisa was accommodating. The property is beautiful, spacious and well situated. Huge dining room and giant garden. Our 3 br suite was perfect for a family, with a kitchen that we cooked in and a shower that functioned just OK. There were small issues but easily resolved by simply asking. We had a good breakfast out in the garden and spent the day exploring. The cleaning was not done as well as we had hoped and should have been more thorough (eg: rugs, dishes) but it was not really a big deal to us. I would recommend this place for its charm but you do need a car to get around. I believe the experience would be even better in Springtime or Summer.

Room Tip: "Giove" is a great room for a couple traveling with a 3rd person, as it has two levels. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Proprietario at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, it's nice to have guests like you, see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were 3 days there in summer 2012, and very disappointed. it looked very nice on the fotos and at first sight, but turned out to be deceiving. The location would be great, but: cleanness was poor, breakfast poor and awful (the first time in Italy since 20 years, and I couldn't drink the morning coffee because it tasted horrible!). After a moment one sees that they take care of the minimal necessary, many things were broken (like the chairs in the garden) and it was clear it had been so for a while. Worst of all was the lack of water - never seen that too in a hotel. First day the hotel director tried to solve with very little success, the second (I had to repeat many time that it really IS A PROBLEM to be without water... think of the toilet!!!) day no solution, until I had to claim a solution for the third day, and we got another toom with water - but still dirty. We were happy to leave and had to recover from that in the next hotel.
Another thing the hotel director is not very preoccupied with: you won't find it following your navigator (car). The signaling to the hotel is poor, too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Direttore generale at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest
First, we want to emphasize that the positive comments are a source of gratification as the negative ones are stimulus to improve and we thank you for the time spent in writing your review.
The occured water problem was a nasty surprise for us as well as for you, because obviously it is not a routine situation, given that a submersible pump was broken, the restoration and replacement have taken two days. We tried to meet your needs as soon as possible by changing with the first available vacancy, but we think that eventually you didn't like the style of the structure.
The road signs are not poor and we always recommend not to follow gps systems as they are not updated on the surrounding streets which have been recently changed, but this is not our fault and guests go on following their gps.
For cleaning we would have rather checked with you what was wrong, but surely we will put more attention to the issue in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Villa dei Papiri is an excellent agriturismo. It's not a spa or a luxury hotel, but it certainly is a luxury agriturismo.
We stayed only one night, but liked it very much. The setting, the buildings and the structure of the whole thing is very beautiful. It has some of that decadent Sicilian romantic atmosphere, and at the same time is very laid back and rural too.
The breakfast buffet is very delicious.
We talked about how nice it would be to go there for a long weekend in early autumn and just hang out, relax and read a lot of books.
Staff are very nice and helpful too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa dei Papiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Papiri

Address: Traversa Cozzo Pantano - Traversa Testa Pisima 2/C | Riserva Naturale Fiume Ciane e Saline, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa dei Papiri 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractions in the area. Special Services. Services and offers seasonally updated Local news on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa dei Papiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dei Papiri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa dei Papiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.