We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property and inn-keepers, surrounded by orange orchards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa dei Papiri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa dei Papiri to your Saves list
Villa dei Papiri
3.0 of 5 Farmhouse   |   Traversa Cozzo Pantano - Traversa Testa Pisima 2/C | Riserva Naturale Fiume Ciane e Saline, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Charming property and inn-keepers, surrounded by orange orchards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely stay in this converted farm house. The inn keepers, a lovely couple, were very attentive and easy going. Ana Lisa was accommodating. The property is beautiful, spacious and well situated. Huge dining room and giant garden. Our 3 br suite was perfect for a family, with a kitchen that we cooked in and a shower that functioned just OK. There were small issues but easily resolved by simply asking. We had a good breakfast out in the garden and spent the day exploring. The cleaning was not done as well as we had hoped and should have been more thorough (eg: rugs, dishes) but it was not really a big deal to us. I would recommend this place for its charm but you do need a car to get around. I believe the experience would be even better in Springtime or Summer.

Room Tip: "Giove" is a great room for a couple traveling with a 3rd person, as it has two levels. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Proprietario at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, it's nice to have guests like you, see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    71
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
60
89
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were 3 days there in summer 2012, and very disappointed. it looked very nice on the fotos and at first sight, but turned out to be deceiving. The location would be great, but: cleanness was poor, breakfast poor and awful (the first time in Italy since 20 years, and I couldn't drink the morning coffee because it tasted horrible!). After a moment one sees that they take care of the minimal necessary, many things were broken (like the chairs in the garden) and it was clear it had been so for a while. Worst of all was the lack of water - never seen that too in a hotel. First day the hotel director tried to solve with very little success, the second (I had to repeat many time that it really IS A PROBLEM to be without water... think of the toilet!!!) day no solution, until I had to claim a solution for the third day, and we got another toom with water - but still dirty. We were happy to leave and had to recover from that in the next hotel.
Another thing the hotel director is not very preoccupied with: you won't find it following your navigator (car). The signaling to the hotel is poor, too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Direttore generale at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest
First, we want to emphasize that the positive comments are a source of gratification as the negative ones are stimulus to improve and we thank you for the time spent in writing your review.
The occured water problem was a nasty surprise for us as well as for you, because obviously it is not a routine situation, given that a submersible pump was broken, the restoration and replacement have taken two days. We tried to meet your needs as soon as possible by changing with the first available vacancy, but we think that eventually you didn't like the style of the structure.
The road signs are not poor and we always recommend not to follow gps systems as they are not updated on the surrounding streets which have been recently changed, but this is not our fault and guests go on following their gps.
For cleaning we would have rather checked with you what was wrong, but surely we will put more attention to the issue in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Villa dei Papiri is an excellent agriturismo. It's not a spa or a luxury hotel, but it certainly is a luxury agriturismo.
We stayed only one night, but liked it very much. The setting, the buildings and the structure of the whole thing is very beautiful. It has some of that decadent Sicilian romantic atmosphere, and at the same time is very laid back and rural too.
The breakfast buffet is very delicious.
We talked about how nice it would be to go there for a long weekend in early autumn and just hang out, relax and read a lot of books.
Staff are very nice and helpful too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having read the hymns on this place in the Lonely Planet, we wanted to make our stay here a highlight of our holidays in Sicily. The setting within the orange and lemon plantation is indeed very beautiful and so are some of the houses made out of boulders. But we got a tiny room in a uncharming bungalow-style building. Could have been okay, but when we entered the room,there was a distinct smell of moist and too much cleaning agent as if someone wanted to cover something. All walls were mould-infested (see pictures). We were not happy about that, especially because we had a five month old baby with us. We went to Syracusa for dinner and when we returned it was even worse: Worms were on the walls in both rooms (bath and sleeping). We went to the reception to ask for another room but all we were offered was another room in the same building,where we found just as many worms. The receptionst tried to make us believe that moisture and worms are normal, because the place is situated in a swamp! There are rats in every city, but fortunately I have never seen one in a hotel! Deeply disappointed, but without much choice, because it was already late, we went to bed with the worms and the moisty smell. The next morning, we skipped the breakfast and cancelled our second night. But we had to pay the full price for that one gross night. No compensation offered, no apology received! I have stayed in strange places in India and Africa, but this was the worst ever!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Direttore generale at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We are sorry for your experience, we are going to solve any moistness problem, and what you found in the room weren't worms but millipedes, that's why it was answered to be normal in the countryside. The reservation was prepaid and not refundable, so there was no refund on check-out, in this case we always offer to change the room according to availability (same or different typology) but maybe you didn't like the place at all finding more and nit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Excellent location, a very nice structure, highly cost effective and friendly service.

I confirm what another customer complained about: at breakfast jams were industrial ones but nevertheless the buffet was very good and full of fresh food. For business I travel around the world quite regularly and in my view the quality of the buffet was very good. Last but not least the breakfast room is in a lovely old building with a beautiful view to a marvelous garden. What the best way to start a lovely day in Siciliy?

The only small inconvenience was that my room was a little noisy. It might be an area of improvement. 15 minutes away from Siracusa and beaches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice place. Very interesting room interior. It does not serve dinner, but this is compensated by nearby villa, which serves superb sea food soup.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This Agriturismo was a great base to explore the region. It is situated about a 20 min drive from Ortygia/Syracusa next to a nature reserve. The property has lovely and well maintained gardens where the main building is located as well as at the dependences. After touring all day it was nice to come back to a nice and tranquil place to relax.
We stayed in a superior room and it was nicely furnished, clean and tidy, with a comfortable bed. It was also great to have the small fridge in the room. Bathroom was also clean.
Breakfast was very nice and plentiful with the usual Italian goodies, a variety of cereals, fruit, fresh fruit juice, yoghurt, croissants etc. We had nice weather so were able to have breakfast outside in the lovely garden.
Personally I think the staff could be a bit more enthusiastic. While they were nice and obliging, it's a shame that upon arrival they don't give you more advice and information about the facilities, walks, things to do in the immediate area etc. When we asked about the closest restaurants, we were just advised to go to Ortygia. If you don't have a restaurant for dinner on site then you should be able to give guests a bit more information and certainly let guests know about the Villa Cristina option. Thankfully we had the Lonely Planet....We did have dinner at Villa Cristina and it was very, very nice and honest Italian food at a very reasonable price with a lovely host. Also for people self catering there is a Spar Supermarket/Shopping centre about a 5 min drive away.
On another note: we had our bag of clothes laundered here and they did a very good job with it at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa dei Papiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Papiri

Address: Traversa Cozzo Pantano - Traversa Testa Pisima 2/C | Riserva Naturale Fiume Ciane e Saline, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa dei Papiri 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractions in the area. Special Services. Services and offers seasonally updated Local news on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa dei Papiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dei Papiri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa dei Papiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.