We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, centrally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Mia to your Saves list
Casa Mia
Corso Umberto, 112, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 166 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Lohja, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly service, centrally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel has no fancy signs outside to tell you its whereabouts. Instead a discreet sign next to front door. It's a bit difficult to find if you're driving a car, you may just pass it by.
The hotel itself is clean, all the personnel are friendly and very helpful. A very special thanks to a lovely receptionist who checked us in June 22nd and and was very helpful during our stay!

We had a room facing courtyard which was nice because there was no traffic noise at all. On our arrival we found a parking place for our rental car just around the block, on a one-way street. The next day we managed to park our car just in front of the hotel.

Breakfast is typically sweet, so if you want something more, be prepared to buy something from a nearby panineria.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    84
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
34
112
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked on the day and took the last room- a suite of 2 bedrooms and a bathroom for only two people! The staff were very friendly on checkin, the room was clean if a little dated. It looked on to the road which was a bit noisy and I would request a courtyard room if I stayed again. Location is excellent- very close to the centre on a nice street. Breakfast was average- normal for italy. Overall I would definately recommend it/ stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were arriving to Catania very late in the evening and then driving down to Siracusa, arriving even later in the evening. So having parking nearby was an important factor for us. Casa Mia does not have its own parking, but there is street parking nearby.

Another factor for us was price. We had originally reserved a room on Ortigia. To scale back on some of the hotel costs for our trip, I started checking other options and found Casa Mia. It was a four block walk to Ortigia and half the price.

This is a beautiful old building with an open interior courtyard. Our room was on the ground floor, so we could sit out on the benches to get some fresh air in the evenings. We had our breakfasts upstairs outside on the nice terrace.

The mixed part was the room itself. The heat and humidity had just reached Sicily and the tiny A/C just wasn't enough for the room. We live in the US south and can live with some heat. But the the A/C just could not take the humidity out of the room. The sheets felt "damp". The bathroom floor has a slick damp feel to the tiles that just wasn't at all pleasant.

And the bathroom itself needed work. I've stayed in hotels throughout Europe and know that things are different from what we may be accustomed to in the US. Unfortunately, our bathroom, in addition to the "damp" feel, just felt dirty. There was mold or some kind of filth or discoloration on some plastic fixtures that was kind of gross. And then there was a rubber mat in the shower area - kind of like the rubber mats many people put in their sinks 30 years ago to catch food from falling down the drain. That was also kind of gross. I'm itching as I write this just remembering.

It may well be that there is some variability in the rooms in this place. Others commented on the mold in the bathrooms, so maybe it's just the one room with the bad A/C that can't keep the moisture from accumulating (or a collection of such rooms). This could be a 5 star place, in the sense that it's a charming gem and a great bargin in a nice location, but the bad A/C and the moldy bathroom sadly made this a low point on our trip in terms of accommodations.

A general comment about Siracusa: It's a neat little town. Kind of had the feel of Venice without the canals - it's surrounded by the pounding sea instead. We're Rick Steves kind of travelers and appreciate his "anti-Michelin-guide" approach. You don't need to see every 3 star cathedral in Europe unless you're an architectural historial. A couple will suffice. Well, for me, Siracusa seems like a place that folks could take a pass on unless they're really wanting to see some of its unique ruins and sites. Don't get me wrong. It's a wonderful old city. But in retrospect, I think we would have rather had another day in Cefalu or the agriturismo we stayed in near Agrigento (Ciuci's Manor). We were traveling with two boys, so perhaps our priorities might be a bit different from those traveling without children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We were so pleasantly surprised when we opened the front door and found the lovely courtyard! The staff was wonderful and we were able to Park directly in front of the Hotel which is in a very safe and quiet area. A short walk to Ortygia, which is lovely was a bonus! We had a very spacious room with 2 balconies overlooking the streeet. It was quiet and had comfortable "vintage" furnishings and NO TV. The Breakfast and dining room were fabulous. It was a beautiful hotel and a GREAT value!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay here. The owner and the staff were very polite and pleasant. The room was spacious and clean. You are given the key to the building entry door and to the room - at night, there is no staff present. The location is superb - you are about 10 minutes away from train station and Ortygia, and 20 minutes away from Archeological park.

The breakfast was superb with quite a variety which changed from day to day. We used Siracusa as a base to visit Taormina, Catania, Noto and really enjoyed quiet pace of the city.

I would recommend staying here if you are looking for an affordable base to stay in Eastern Sicily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed in room 13 entered through a quiet inner courtyard. Room was thoroughly updated including seismically, yet retaianed many of the old architectural features. Spacious and quiet with good matress, desk, but no television. Excellent buffet breakfast with eggs, yogurt, juice, fresh fruit, and a variety of delicious baked goods. Not in Ortigia, but only a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The room we had was quite large but somewhat bleak in its decor. The antique iron bed frame clunked and creaked with the slightest movement, disturbing our sleep. The bathroom was a narrow corridor and the shower had quite a lot of black mould on the tiles. Altogether the place didn't quite live up to the expectations generated by the attractive pictures on the website.
Having said that, it was quiet, well located, relatively cheap and the breakfast was perfectly acceptable. A little bit of renovation by the owners wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mia

Address: Corso Umberto, 112, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Mia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mia Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.