We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Ortigia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Ortigia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Ortigia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Mazzini 12, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Syracuse
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“location, location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 6 nights. Only drawback was temporary failing of lift, but a service one was still in use. As per the title, it's location, on the waterfront, with the sun going down in the west, our sea view room couldn't be bettered. We were central to ll the sights on Ortigia island. There were also free bike availability as well as the free private beach, towels and umbrellas and beds, although we had to pay a small fee to boat out to the beach. There were several eating places within easy reach, The breakfast was superb, and the roof top restaurant was very good but subdued (ad so we ate out every night). We used the bar facility prior to going out, and the head waiter was inspired in his recommendation of various wines to try. All the staff were competent and friendly. The reception staff were always happy and polite, and helpful, the Serving staff could never do enough for you, and the maids ect always gave a welcoming smile. I have no doubt that the staff were the biggest attribute the hotel had. We will go again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a sea view... well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    112
    33
    29
    14
See reviews for
55
102
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked with some trepidation having read very mixed reviews ... what a surprise to find a hotel which could hold its own , against any, anywhere . The Staff spoke English & all were helpful, courteous & friendly . The hotel was comfortable ,very clean & elegant throughout ; a private beach was 'icing on the cake'...the boat-ride across the bay with its panoramic view of Syracuse , a timeless & relaxing way in which to reach it. The breakfast , was a meal I came to look forward to both for its quality & quantity. We also had an evening meal at the hotel which was excellent .Wi-Fi was good & the location was the best.... I can't speak too highly of the Grand Hotel Ortega & thank you .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location and although it is useful to be down on the harbour front the view from our junior suite on the first floor just didn't deliver at all. It is a good location to explore Siracusa and Ortigia. The room was ok but not 5 star, no bathrobes, limited storage for clothing and the split option of the bed on a mezzanine level up the stairs above the sitting room didn't work for us. The staff were friendly but again not really what you would expect from a 5 star hotel, not engaged. Breakfast was only average, as usual in Italy heavily biased towards cakes and pastries and therefore it didn't inspire us to eat in the hotel in the evening. This was compounded by the inability to get a drink in the downstairs American bar or even on the third floor in the evening in that space where you want to relax before the evening meal. We gave up after trying twice and went out. The final sting in the tail for me was to find out we had four days of car parking fees to pay on checkout, an unexpected 40 euros ! Far from one of the best hotels I have stayed in throughout Italy

Room Tip: You need to be on the higher floors to have any view at all so need to choose carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel had a makeover around 1980 in a shopping mall decor style, quite far from the impression you get on the homepage. We had a junior suite, that turned out to be a very small room in two floors where the top floor with the double bed didn't have any air-conditioning which made very hot in july when we were there. Far from five stars, pretentious and overpriced. Oh, yeah, and the wellness area cost extra off course!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I and our 2 children (aged 7 & 3) stayed here for 10 nights in August 2013. The hotel represents fantastic value for money and stands out as one of the best hotels in Siracusa/Ortigia. We had never been to Sicily before and decided on this hotel for it's location, price and amenities. The hotel is situated on across the road from the marina and is just a couple of minutes from the main sights of Ortigia (all easily accessable on foot - just keep an eye on speeding scooters!) The reception staff were welcoming and arranged for us to be picked up in a car from Catania airport (for 80 euros) They speak several languages and can help with directions, reccommendations for places to eat, transpotation etc...) The room was large for 4 people and set over 2 levels which is good for giving some privacy. There was HD sky tv and air con. The bathroom was reasonable with spa bath etc...
There is a glass lift to all floors looking out to the internal atrium area (the date is set in white pebbles at the foot of the lift each day - we only noticed when we were leaving!) The restaurant is nice with a lovely view over the marina and bay - the outside seating is particularly good. The restaurant staff are lovely and fell over themselves to help our 2 children. I would reccommend trying the tasting menu if you have an evening meal there - the seafood risotto was superb! There is a wellness centre in the basement which my wife and I used. There was a good range of treatments and were pretty good value too. There is a boat to take you to the "private beach" advertised on the website. Note: the private beach is actually a section of a smallish beach set aside - but for several hotels, not just the grand hotel!! that said, it a lovely beach and during the week it is fairly quiet too. I'd definitely come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a suite if you can. It would be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Ortigia, right on the harbour front. Great breakfast. The room we had was a little bit on the small side for the price tag but it had a super waterfront view and was very comfortable. The hotel has a private beach which is a boat ride away - the reception will arrange and the fee is 5euro return. The boats leave three or four times a day, likewise the return journey. The beach was busy but the hotel has some reserved sunloungers and towels to use. Lunch facilities are limited so probably worth bringing something from the mainland! A really easy location for those arriving by train or bus - a 15/20 min walk away or taxi 8 Euros or so. Very handy for the main sights. Definitely worth a look given that hotels on the Ortigia island are limited in number

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I regularly come to this Hotel every year and I am almost sure is the best place to stay in Ortigia. Does this mean it deserves 5 stars? probably yes, the location is great, the restaurant on the rooftop has a wonderful view, food is goos and the breakfast is tasty. Rooms are very nice, I would say 4 stars. The big problem I always find is the internet connection: wifi (free) is supposed to be everywhere in the building but the signal is very poor and in the evening it's sometimes impossible to connect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Ortigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ortigia

Address: Viale Mazzini 12, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#16 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ortigia 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Ortigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Syracuse
Grand Hotel Ortigia Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Ortigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.