We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value too.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Domus Mariae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Domus Mariae to your Saves list
Albergo Domus Mariae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 76, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location and good value too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 7 year old and were well looked after. Comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. Pool wasn't open but didn't impact us too much. Staff are very helpful and the "car park" is very handy. Great base for Syracuse and Noto.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    59
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
102
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a very large room (211) that was quiet and comfortable. It was a triple with 2 larger beds and one small bed. The room was nicely decorated and had a large bathroom with a tub (not a shower). We were able to watch CNN on the TV. It is located on the island, which was near to sights and restaurants. It was the best hotel during my visit to Sicily.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was our favorite place to stay our entire trip. The beds are amazing, so comfortable & for a twin room the beds are spacious, nearer double bed size. The room was spacious, tastatefully decorated & the linen was such nice quality, a pleasure to sleep on. The location was superb. The staff so friendly.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are huge with sofa,s large beds, lots of room & nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilling East, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely few nights here. We had a problem with our room on arrival which was sorted immediately. Very professional and friendly staff. Rooms cleaned to a high standard. The showers are a bit outdated and our street side room was noisy which is the only reason it's not getting 5 stars. We used the pool a couple of times which was great after a long days sight seeing with the kids. You need to book the pool in advance and its worth it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had a wonderful ocean view room. Hotel is extremely well located, very clean and great staff. David and Cinzia were really great. We did not see the other rooms that do not have an ocean view, but seems like there could not be a better place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Albergo Domus Mariae was the best hotel we stayed in for our three-week trip including fine hotels and B&Bs in Venice, Florence, Rome, and Naples. We were there for my wife's birthday. I called ahead and talked to the manager Cinzia. She was absolutely wonderful! She arranged to have flowers waiting for my wife in our room upon arrival. She also made special reservations for dinner at "the best seafood restaurant in Syracuse." She made sure that the owner was waiting for us with special service and a romantic table. I can't say enough about the service at the hotel from Cinzia and her staff. We will definitely go back soon!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one of the rooms overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at Albergo Domus Marae for 4 nights and it was most enjoyable. Our room was excellent with a comfortable bed, and a small balcony. All the staff were very pleasant. On arrival we were greeted by Cinzia, she is a real dynamo, with perfect English, sense of humour and a good knowledge of local restaurants.
The breakfast was very good even though the staff did not understand Scrambled Eggs! it was always omelette.
Parking was fine, but I guess it could be a problem in high season. A very well placed former convent on the island of Ortigia which has a chapel attached to it. If you are tall, then mind your head when going up or down the stairs to the guest rooms!

Room Tip: The A/C unit is on top of the hotel and some people complained A/C noise. The second floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Domus Mariae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Domus Mariae

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 76, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#13 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Domus Mariae 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Albergo Domus Mariae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Domus Mariae Hotel Syracuse
Albergo Domus Mariae Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Domus Mariae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.