We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ This is not 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Gelone, 45 - Siracusa, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in Syracuse
Eilat, HaDarom, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“ This is not 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Rooms are old .tv only few chanels and the smalest size tv I saw in my life.
Breakfast is poor .
All the reception workers are lasy with info
They give only half of the info or wrong info. Its better not give any info then wrong info
The only good thing I can say that it is clean hotel
Olso no wifi at the room so how its a 4 star hotel ?

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    36
    29
    29
See reviews for
16
51
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a cosmos tour of sicily.

The hotel reception is lovely and welcoming, and the room was equally as lovely and clean with a generously sized bathroom. The evening meal was delightful and the restaurant decor was modern and stylish. The waiting staff were also very kind and friendly. Breakfast was basic breads, yoghurts and meats, some fruit was offered but appeared to be tinned.

The hotel isn't in an ideal location for evening walks or a wander to a bar or shop. We wanted to walk to Ortygia in the evening and found ourselves in darkened streets with no shops or people near by. It seems the hotel is set in the business area of the town.

As a whole the hotel is fine for one night but I wouldn't not recommend an extended stay in the area.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here just for 1 night as part of a tour group. Our room No 323 was a good size and well appointed with a fridge, desk, twin beds, and A/C. There were no tea & coffee making facilities. It had a shower but no bath which was not a problem for us but could be for those wanting a soak..

The hotel has lifts and Wi-fi but this is expensive @ 3 euro an hour. Unfortunately Italians don't consider May to be hot so the A/C was off and the room became stuffy. We slept with the window open and paid the price in insect bites by morning.

The hotel is fairly central being about 20 minutes walk from the old town Oritega which is well worth the effort. There is a supermarket only 5 minutes away.

Dinner was a set meal with a fish risotto as starter followed by more fish, potatoes & salad. A sicilian pastry rounded off the meal. Portions were generous all round. Water was not provided on the table for those not wanting alcohol but you could buy bottled.

Breakfast was the usual continental style buffet. Sliced ham, Salami & cheese, HB eggs, cereal, fruit juice,cake & croissants, Fruit, Tea & coffee. There was no hot food nor were rolls provided only sliced bread.

The hotel was fine and met our requirments but there was nothing to set it apart from hundreds like it. They also need to appreciate that paying guests would like to have a choice as to whether they have A/C or not.

Room Tip: Go when the A/C is switched on otherwise you have the choice of baking or being bitten to hell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very nice, but the rooms were small, tattered, outdated, and poorly ventilated. And they charged for wi-if that didn't work. It's centrally situated in walking distance from Archeological Park and Ortigia. Definitely more of a 3 star.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The location is not bad.
The quantity and the quality of the dinner was very bad.
The breakfast was very poor.
There is no internet axes from midnight till 7 in the morning!!!!!
The room was small and the only positive was the wooden working area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyaretusa j, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel Siracusa and providing us with feedback concerning your stay.

We are sorry you were not able to enjoy during your stay with us.

We are very pleased that you will be returning to the hotel and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and would encourage you to contact us if you have any further issues or comments and for sure our staff will be happy to resolve every your problem.

Yours Sincerely,

Donato
Web Marketing Executive
marketing@jollyaretusapalacehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here just for 1 night as part of a tour group, room was reasonably sized and comfortable, air con worked, food was better than average continental buffet breakfast..hotel was modern , clean and close to busy centre.

Evening meal was an excellent risotto..so no complaints

A fifteen minute walk away is Ortigia, the old town, effectively an island but other than walking over the road bridges you could not tell

But the atmosphere in the Cathederal Square was wonderful in the early evening, traffic free, the bells ringing , people sat on benches chatting

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed one night as part of a tour group.
The room was generous in size for a single room.
Hotel is close to the Ortigia and Neapolis and within easy walking distance from both.
The only criticism I have was the poor breakfast and dreadful coffee they had in the morning.
Other than that, as a one night stop on a tour, found it to be acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel

Address: Corso Gelone, 45 - Siracusa, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The  'Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel', is a "4 Stars", situated to Syracuse center. The 114 rooms, have been projected and furnish for guaranteeing the comfort of the guests in the respect of an absolute privacy. The elegance of the comforting environments, the courtesy of the service, always impeccable, the safety of a professional assistance, they do the ideal place for business guests, that will find here a favorable environment to the planning and the management of their appointments, or for the families or Touristic and Religious Groups, that for the enviable strategic position exploiting in the center of the city of Syracuse, they can do the point of departure for the most famous destinations, that are a few steps from the hotel: Greel Theatre, Sanctuary of the Madonna of the tears, Ear of Dionysus, Arethusa Fountain, Papyrus Museum, Island of Ortigia etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Syracuse
Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.