We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food in Siracusa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Blu

Ristorante Il Blu
via Nizza 50, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
+39 (0)931 445052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 412 Restaurants in Syracuse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food in Siracusa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We found this restaurant by chance while strolling around beautiful Ortigia. While reading the menu we started to chat with the owner, he was genuinely friendly and so we decide to sit in the beautiful terrace (you get a glimpse of the sea as well). We followed the owner and cook suggestions for ordering (this is not a menu place...) and had a great pasta coi ricci to start with and then a tuna and another local fish as "secondo" - interesting the use of abricots with fish.
Nice cantina with a good selection of local producers.
I know it is difficult to go wrong in Sicily for food, but this was one of the highlights our holiday. Price is a bit high compared to the local area but dinner was definitely worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    49
    9
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Husband and wife team hustle to achieve great service and fantastic food. The chef told me he goes to the fish market every morning to buy for the lunch and evening service. Our first meal was Red Tuna seared on the grill, present with the sweetest, juicy grilled peach accompanied by balsamic vinegar. Clean flavors, taken together told us a genius was in the kitchen. We went back 3 other times for more culinary treats, including pasta with sea urchin. Whatever the Chef recommends, try it. It will be fresh and original.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“very good food with a sea view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very nice restaurant with view of the sea from the outside tables. Owner very friendly. Food very good. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We found Il Blu on our wandering around Ortygia - like others seem to have, and had a most memorable meal: one of the best we've had in Sicily. The highlight of our meal was the fresh tuna teamed with figs (for my husband) and swordfish accompanied by peaches. Absolutely stand out meals. The owners of the restaurant were delightful and provided us with excellent advice on which wines were best to accompany our meals. And the surprising thing, after eating this fantastic meal was the cost was not exorbitant. If we'd been staying in Ortygia longer, I would love to have come back to sample more of their wonderful meals. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Inventive and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stumbled upon this restaurant wandering around Ortigia...so went back for dinner. Sat outside with a view of the sea...husband and wife team and very friendly as I was trying to learn Italian...he was patient with me...and cooked up a delicious piece of swordfish with strawberries....would reccomend...a bit off the beaten path...very modern inside...nice vibe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Blu also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Ristorante Il Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Il Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.