We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous, but take a map!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ortygia

Ortygia
Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 59 Attractions in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Religious sites, Islands, Nature & Parks, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Dining, City walk sightseeing, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This offshore island was occupied by the Greek colonists who fortified it and constructed the earliest structures, including the temples of Athena and Apollo, whose remains can still be seen today.
switzerland
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“fabulous, but take a map!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I thought this town was wonderful but the more you walk through the narrow streets and are drawn in by the photographic scenery, the more you get lost in the labyrinthe! I ended up going into a shop to ask which directions the duomo was since I just couldn't find my way back! lovely

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,650
    489
    76
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“ITS A MUST !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We used public buses to go to Syracusa .Cheap and safe ,and always on time. It is better in my opinion if you go first to Ortygia ,walk
around its a very nice and romantic place and after you can walk to Syracusa and especially to
Teatro Greco amazing place!!!!
We had lunch in Ortygia a restaurant just after the bridge ,at the left side , a bit touristic ,but good.
Because of the rain we could walk as much we wanted but we visited the temple and we walked
in the narrow streets of the island which was very nice !!!
Unfortunately we did not have more time for the rest of the island !!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go in winter.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We love Ortigia and have been there 5 times. We thought we had seen it the first time but it has drawn us back and back. In winter the climate is pleasant and there are no crowds. It is a nice place just to wander around and shopping for food at the daily market is a really good experience. Take an apartment and enjoy simple cooking with these wonderful ingredients.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“An island of calm and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The island of Ortygia is one of the not to miss sights in Sicily. It is an island connected to the mainland by 2 bridges. For those driving to Ortygia there are plenty of parking spaces just over the bridges on the island but be aware that they are all pay & display and the ticket machines are inoperable. You need to find one of the licenced tobacco venders and they sell you a scratch card for an hour, so if you want to stay for 3 hours you buy 3 cards, scratch off the date and time of your arrival and display all of them on your dashboard.
The island has a bewildering array of attractions, including the Duomo, the Fountain of Aretusa (where Nelson took on fresh water for his fleet on his way to the Battle of the Nile), and the Temple of Apollo built in 575 BC. But just wandering around on foot is an experience in itself and well worth the journey.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming, vibrant, fabulous architecture, one of the most beautiful piazzas in all of Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Endless choice of restaurants and bars, wine and olive-oil tasting locales, good range of hotels, great shopping,good weather, surrounded by crystal sea

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortygia also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Lampedusa, Islands of Sicily
 

Been to Ortygia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortygia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.