We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome and pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo Pantano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borgo Pantano to your Saves list
Hotel Borgo Pantano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Traversa Fontana Mortella, 13 int. 4, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Syracuse
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A welcome and pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

To be fair - I usually stay at Hilton, Hyatt, or other properties which are basically guaranteed to be at a level that is appropriate to the cost. My wife and I had a three day window in our 19 day vacation in Sicily (still on it) and needed to burn three days in between the Hilton Giardini Nexos and rental property in Cefalu. We chose this hotel based on reviews. Frankly as I sit in this house now in Cefalu, I wish I had stayed.

Everything thing at this hotel is run extremely well and above board. It is a historic house / farm that has been turned into a top notch hotel. I want to give a special mention to Sylvia at the front desk - she was who greeted us when we checked in. My three kids adored her. The rooms were well done and clean. The dinner we had there for two of the three nights was well done and features traditional Sicilian fare. The staff at dinner was outstanding and engaged as well as personal and did not mind spending some time chatting which I can do all day. Oh yes - a decent wine list as well and the deserts are fresh and with good variety.

The facilities are excellent as well with an outstanding pool. One of the best I have seen in a while. The guests are from countries across the world which made it dynamic and they were all polite as well - this place was worth every penny. I can't think of one thing that I did not like and I am known to be critical.

Finally - it is outside of Syracuse so plan for a taxi - no more than 10 minutes to the old center or bring a car.

Thanks for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    92
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
162
383
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just spent 9 days at this slightly quirky hotel just outside Syracusa. Quirky because at this standard it is usually the 'chain' types of hotel which predominate and this most definitely does not resemble a 'chain'. We have been to boutique, fashionable, 'Philip Stark', 'exclusive' and suchlike hotels - but Borgo Pantano IS different.

Why? Because, customer service is paramount and personal for every member of staff; because every day all the wee things which make a difference are put into place - the hammocks between the orange trees, the towels on the grass with the cushions, the dozens of citronella candles around the grounds every night, the pastries on the bar counter appearing late afternoon, the candles all around the courtyards, the seamles movement of the poolside furniture for the frequent glorious outdoor weddings and then back in the morning as if nothing had happened the night before, and so on.

The junior suite we were in had been designed in this 'quirky' context and really works as as upmarket and comfortable space.

As everyone else has said, breakfast are as good as any, including some of the five stars we have stayed in (e.g. the great Gleneagles in Scotland), dinners are changed daily (in part) and are of a high and consistent standard. Above all, as we said, the quality and values of the service draw you into enjoying this experience. Nothing is too much.

Well done Borgo Pantano, you have made it work so well for your customers and you provide a hugely relaxing and inclusive environment for all who step through your white gates.

David

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear David,

What a wonderful review, thank you so much for that! We appreciate it a lot, your discription gives a good idea of our structure and the way we work...
To read that you find our breakfast a big surplus and equal in quality as excellent hotel's you've been in the past is only an honour for us... especially for our owner that dedicates her own time in organizing it...
Once again a big thank you from myself, Giusi and all of our staff members... we hope to see you again in the future...
Take care and sunny greetings from Sicily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As mentioned in the many other great reviews, this hotel is something special. The welcome, room, service, food - all excellent. The pool and grounds are beautifully maintained with plenty of space to relax. The staff and management have achieved the perfect balance between a personal, friendly approach and outstanding, professional efficiency.
There are many places of interest within easy reach including Ortigia/Syracusa, Noto, Ragusa and Modica as well as many beaches. New signage has made the hotel easy to find from Syracusa South junction.
We have already recommended unreservedly Il Borgo Pantano to friends and family and hope to make a return visit.
Thanks to Guisi and her lovely team for a great week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Sandra,

Thank you so much for you review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay so much
that you recommended it to all of your friends and family....
For us it's important to read the different opinions of our guests...
Once again a special thank you from Giusi, myself and all of our staff.

Calorosi saluti dalla Sicilia.
Luigi Cavarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

"Very recommended. Beautiful area, gardening and pool side. AMAZING staff which provide the best quality and professional service you could ever hope for, all under the owner Guisi which is a unique and special person that provides gifted spirit and wonderful styling for the entire place. For this good price you get all the personal attention, great conditions and quietness at this wonderful resort This is the second time we return to this place we used to call heaven for the entire one week trip and this time the experience was just PERFECT. Left us a good taste of sicily views and its friendly people."
"We will definitely recommend to all and return in the future if possible. If I had to state something that can get improved and easily, is the launch offered in the pool area - can be better. Our grade is 9.95 for the hotel facilities and experience."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivaz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Borgo Pantano is an oasis of peace. From the moment we arrived until our departure we enjoyed every minute. The staff is most friendly and helpful. The room beautifully designed. Food is delicious and the breakfast buffet offers whatever you can think of. The pool with the large garden with Orange trees is heaven. One of the places you wish to come back to. Irene with sister Brigitta

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

we had a wonderful stay for 4 days
a great spacious and brand new room
great and more then enough choice for breakfast
the staff was very welcoming and helpfull
the best part was the garden and pool area which was so big and full off comfortable seating options so that nobody was in your way and it felt very private.
special thanks to the owner who was very helpfull and creative when had some small comments about our bathroom

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is one of the most peaceful and relaxing hotels we have ever visited. The staff were outstanding, the rooms are modern and well equipped. We stayed in a junior suite which has steep stairs up to the bedroom, so that might not suit some people.

The extensive breakfast buffet has an incredible range of home made pastries, breads etc. The evening meals on the terrace feature an ever changing fish menu as well as some good meat alternatives. Lunch at the pool is a lighter selection of pastas, salads and sandwiches.

The gardens with the very large pool are the most outstanding feature. You walk into the pool as if you are going down the beach into the sea. Due to the garden and pool size and the small number of rooms [about 30], it was more like visiting a private home.

The hotel is about 6 miles from the town in a remote location, so it is not easy to find alternative places to eat. However, it only takes 10 minutes to drive to the motorway, giving easy access to the coast and towns such as Noto, Modica and Ragusa.

On our last day, when we had an evening flight, the staff allowed us to use the spa area to shower and change before leaving for the airport, so we could use the pool and gardens to the last minute.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo Pantano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Pantano

Address: Traversa Fontana Mortella, 13 int. 4, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Pantano 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel Borgo Pantano, a 4 star hotel is just 7 miles from the center and the beaches of Syracuse, Italy. An ideal compromise between the countryside, sea and city of art, surrounded by nature, within the nature reserve “Cyane and Saline.” The Hotel Borgo Pantano is located on the site of an ancient farmhouse dating back to 1861, originally a farm property, full of orange trees, lemons, olives, has been completely refurbished in 2009. The challenging architectural recovery was personally supervised by the owners , who are committed to ensure that the charm of the structure remained intact, in full respect of its authenticity. The Hotel is spread over an area of 30,000 square meters, with the outstanding scenic pool, the charming Sicilian citrus grove and the large park with relaxation areas and reading, which guarantee every guest a pleasant privacy. Hotel Borgo Pantano offers many services A modern wellness center with sauna, whirlpool, emotional shower with aroma therapy and color therapy, plus a lovely sitting area to enjoy excellent teas. The hotel is also equipped with a bar, a splendid panoramic pool designed with a special entrance to “beach effect”; elegant restaurant with typical Sicilian cuisine, elegantly furnished rooms with different styles, rooms and suites with bath iacuzzi inotre all rooms are equipped with safe, minibar, LCD TV and free wi-if free. And even outside the hotel is surrounded by a spacious and beautifully landscaped garden planted with playground for the little ones, a multilingual reception, a multilingual library, an indoor games room with table tennis – table football – Nintendo Wii , discover more » ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Borgo Pantano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Pantano Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo Pantano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.