We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo Pantano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Borgo Pantano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Pantano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Traversa fontana Mortella (fiume Ciane), 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Syracuse
San Genesio Atesino, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is in a good position as it is only a ten minute drive to Syracuse. The motorway is close but you don't notice it so it is not an issue. The grounds are lovely with beautifully manicured lawns and gardens and the pool area is fantastic. There are lots of places to sit or lounge around the pool or just enjoy the garden.
We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and efficient.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of cheeses, pastries, fresh fruits, breads, eggs and bacon. We only had dinner in the restaurant once and it was satisfactory. Due to the weather we had to eat in the same room we had breakfast but as a restaurant we found it lacking character and too large plus the breakfast things stored in the corners for the following morning were a little off putting.
We stayed in a junior suite. It was clean and light and the bed was very comfortable although if people in the next room talk loudly you can hear them. The bathroom was excellent with a large shower. The room itself is set up very well with different areas. The downstairs area has a sofa, desk and a large wardrobe making it a great place to leave the cases etc. The bedroom is upstairs and has a door leading to the terrace.
Overall we thought it was an ideal place to explore Syracuse from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    75
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
140
338
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having travelled to Italy on many occasions I am simply basing my review on other four star hotels and in comparison this hotel should be awarded with five stars. Which I believe it would have, if balcony rooms and evening entertainment was available.

Upon arrival we were offered a choice of freshly baked cakes and a drink. The receptionist wasn’t just helpful, she was exceptional! We were given what looks like a book of info about where to park in the centre, what to see and handy tips galore.

The hotel is modern and every detail seems to have been thought about. The pool area is set in peaceful lush gardens and looks like a tropical retreat with ample double beds, beanbags, sun loungers with visors, mattress sun loungers, hammocks and umbrellas. The pool was slightly colder than average but there wasn’t a day that went past that the staff didn’t clean it for hours. It was spotless. We did plan to do more in Syracuse but the pool area was so amazing and peaceful that we spent most of our time here.

It’s not just the reception staff that are lovely it’s all staff! Think service with a smile everywhere you go in this hotel.

The room was an upgrade and had absolutely loads of space. The bed was massive and made of memory foam so it was mega comfortable. There were two televisions in the room. One in the lounge area and another in the bedroom. The bedroom television had a DVD player and to our amazement had a movie already in it that could be viewed in either German or English. So we enjoyed that after a night out.

There isn’t a bath tub in the bathroom nor is there something to hold onto in the shower, should any ladies need to shave etc which is my only gripe. Nevertheless the bathroom is more than well equipped, very modern and once again clean.

Each room has a massive window and I am sure that there are rooms with terraces but I couldn’t see them during our short stay and we didn’t have one. That made me a little disappointed because it’s always nice to sit outside on a balcony of an evening. However, there are so many little quirks and seating areas all around this hotel that it’s hard to stay disappointed for long. They even have washing lines with pegs scattered all over the grounds so you can dry your clothes overnight on them.

The breakfast surpassed all expectations and it was an amazing buffet breakfast. Freshly squeezed orange juice is put on your table whilst you help yourself to an array of food on offer. Fruits such as coconut, melon, cherries and strawberries are just some of the fruit available here. Pastries and cakes to die for as well as a hot breakfast if you prefer. Seriously, you will be blown away with the choice! You also get to sit on a beautiful terrace to enjoy all of this yummy food.

The hotel also has a spa which they were kind enough to let us use to shower in after we checked out and left for our flight. In addition there is a quirky little games room with a Wii and various other things to occupy you. There’s even a massage chair in reception with an abundance of sweets too.

On departure we were handed a small bag of almonds. Absolutely everything is thought about to make your stay amazing here. You won’t want to leave, trust me.

This hotel is more than worthy of five stars especially in comparison to other Italian four star hotels. If you want a restful, stunning break then this is the hotel for you. It really blew us away, so much so that we are looking to go back again for a weekend.

Make sure you get a car so you can get out and about (if you want to leave the hotel that is).

It’s definitely got the wow factor! If you go, have an amazing time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

An excellent hotel with most attentive staff. Great restaurant with first class food. A little remote but well sign-posted so not difficult to find. Minor comment, the stairs in the Junior Suite were not very user friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of the great things about this very comfortable and well appointed luxury spa type hotel is the location. Driving around Sicily and especially finding parking spots is "fun" at the best of times, and driving through the automatic iron gates at the end of a solid day is like arriving in heaven.
The friendly staff, the huge pool, the bar, and then the restaurant all await. Our room was clean, plenty of space, super comfortable bed, no expense spared there either.
The Hotel is a good base to tour from or you can comfortably just recharge the batteries especially when that hot Sicilian sun is out.
A good spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel twice, and both times it exceeded all expectations!! Service with a smile, friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast! The grounds are peaceful and so perfect in every way! The pool and the pool area are always clean. Its also close to the centre of syracuse where we had the occasional dinner and enjoy the evening ambience of the town. Borgo Pantano is also close to a few beaches, if one needs a change from the hotel pool. We will definitely return for a shirt break when needed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If your Italian is lousy and you know the internet is 50% good and 50% evil then travel in the parts of Sicily one or two notches below the highlights can be a test. I am honestly not persuaded that Siracusa is worth the fuss (whoever runs the archaeological park deserves to be sacked... maps at gates with 'you are here' that are completely wrong and lousy unfriendly staff that are only grudgingly happy to relieve you of your 10 Euro entrance). BUT if you are in that part of the island, Borgo Pantano is wonderful. An oasis. Great multilingual communication. Lovely setting. The GPS gets you close enough to find your own way the final few turns. Well above average restaurant (with slightly stretched staff) but the best breakfast of any hotel we've stayed in Sicily. We probably should have skipped the day in Siracusa and just enjoyed the pool and room at Borgo Pantano.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Proprietario at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest from New York,
Thank you from our heart for the beautiful words you've dedicated to us. For us it's really important and it gives us the energy to always go on doing our best. We are really sorry that you had a wrong impression of Syracuse. I believe because you arrived late at night and you only had the time during the morning to visit the greec theater. Our city disposes of the Island Ortigia, one of the largest and important historical center of Italy, Unesco-site, where it's possibile to admire a lot of historical testemonies of a lot inviasion of folks like Byzantine, Arabs, Norman, Spanish, Greecs, Romans all in the same place.
This part of Sicily is considered one of the most beautiful also because of its cristal blue water of the sea, with Capo 'Passero', the most southly part of Sicily, where two seas meet each other, the Mediterranean Sea and Ionian Sea. We have beautiful natural reserves, as Vendicari where you can do birth watching and also see pink flamingos in a certain period of the year. We have the Canyon of Cavagrande that is crossed by small waterfalls that forms suggestive little pools.
There are so many things to see in Syracuse and surroundings, that on our website we've dedicated a space especially for the intineraries there are to see.
The Sicilian persons are really famous for their hospitality, we are sorry that you've met one of the bad apple between all the good apples and we are really disappointed for this.

We want to end with hoping that when you return in Italy and in particular in Sicily, you offer us the chance to show you the beauty and the soul of our city.

Warm greetings,
From all of the Staff of Borgo Pantano and the owner Giusi Orefice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a fantastic hidden treasure. It's got all the charm of a rustic retreat with all the luxury of a 5 star spa hotel. The team just can't do enough to ensure you feel welcome and have a wonderful stay. The food was delicious, we both had fantastic massages and spent hours relaxing by the beautiful pool. Before we left we inquired about hotels near Palermo for 3 days down the line and the staff (who all speak fantastic English and encourage you to practice your Italian) went out of their way checking the Internet and calling hotels to ensure we ended our Sicilian stay in the same style we started it. I will go back again and again - Thank you for a wonderful time Borgo Pantano!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo Pantano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Pantano

Address: Traversa fontana Mortella (fiume Ciane), 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Pantano 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Borgo Pantano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Pantano Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo Pantano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.