We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one word: Bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo Pantano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borgo Pantano to your Saves list
Hotel Borgo Pantano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Traversa fontana Mortella (fiume Ciane), 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Syracuse
Huizen, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just one word: Bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is such an amazing place! Staff very welcoming, explained a lot about the place and the surroundings (and how to get there, as the hotel is a bit out of the way, but once you get the idea of where you are, it's easy) and nearby beaches. The whole place is a wonderful mix of old (style) and modern design. They also have a small spa, a playroom, a collection of books and DVDs you can lend. Room was great! We travelled with two teenagers and had a room with 2 singles in a 'downstairs' and the master bedroom + bathroom was 'upstairs'. Both areas had huge flatscreens as well. Bathroom is well equipped with the biggest walk-in rainshower ever. We also had a big terrace overlooking the breakfast/restaurant area. Nevertheless, it was very quiet all the time. The garden + pool are amazing. Relaxing lounge seats, huge four-poster sunbeds, a pool bar where you can have a proper lunch as well. The breakfast buffet was one of the nicest I've ever had, lots of savoury and sweet choices. For dinner they have a not too extensive menu which changes a bit every day. For us, it was fine as we didn't feel like going out again in the evening after sightseeing in de morning and laying by the pool in the afternoon. Highly recommended when you want to spend a few days near Siracuse, Etna etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we wanted to thank you for your time on having dedicated us a few words. We really appreciate it. It's nice to read you liked our welcoming staff and the hotel overall. We will keep up the good work! Thanks again.

Smiley greetings from all of us at Borgo Pantano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    87
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
157
377
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time here the staff was friendly and spoke french english and flemish seeing a flemish-Italian girl worked there and did a superb job at that.

We had room 120 wich was pretty ok were it not that the toilet was running 24/7 and this HUGE airco was sitting next to the outside wall. The swimmingpool and pool bar were superb as was the guy working there. The breakfast is all you can expect and was the best i had in italy so far. The restaurant served good food and the girls there did their very best to make our stay a pleasant one ( and they succeeded) but there was this guy who was always watching ovef their shoulders and was annoying the cr*p out of me. He wasnt in uniform like the girls though so u think he was management. Good thing he didnt serve my table much. All in all it was a great experience and i will go again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Proprietario at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Sir,
Usually, I never controverse, your opinion is for me very important and is taken into highly consideration.
In this case I think that your words were very strong and I feel to protect a member of our staff that is a really dedicated worker. I don't know what happened, probably because of a misunderstanding, maybe because of to much attention for the guests to guaranty complete satisfaction. His task is not to control the restaurant girls, because we have fully faith in our staff. Not all persons really like each other but I don't understand why you offend this person.
In our job we are aware that we are always under the spotlight and so we always put a lot of attention to detail and not to create misunderstandings, therefore we are really sorry for your harsh message dedicate to our staff member.
Best regards
Giusi Orefice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I enjoyed the Borgo Pantano. The service, as mentioned by almost everyone, is terrific. The staff is very eager to make the guests stay an enjoyable one. The grounds are incredible, very stylish and expansive, with many areas scattered here and there for lounging. The rooms are well done, well appointed and clean as a whistle. The pool is very large and the area around it well thought out and comfortable. The restaurant has the best breakfast we encountered in our two-week visit to Sicily and very good dinners. Just phenomenal!
There are a few things to keep in mind however. The BP is set up as a resort, and it caters to families. We were there in April and there were a lot of families there with small children. European children go to bed late and that means there is “kid noise” at all hours. If you want a peaceful retreat, this may not be the best place for you. I think tourists go there, particularly German families, and stay the entire time on-site for their get away. Additionally, it is ridiculously hard to get to with inadequate signage. It is in the boonies, as it were, and if you don’t have a car, you will be there for the duration. There is a shuttle to and from Siracusa, but it is once a day there and back and not conducive to real sightseeing. A solid choice though for a resort with a lot of amenities.
Have a facial.. Manuela was terrific!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA TX
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Like others have said, a bit hard to locate, but email for directions and that solves the problem. The citrus trees were in bloom and the air was so delightful you hated to go inside. Since there are no screens on windows..typical of all of Sicily...the mosquitoes can be a bit of a problem if you leave the windows open. They turned the air conditioning on for us as soon as we asked. Breakfast was indeed excellent, more choices than anyone could ask for including omelletes to order. Use the shuttle to and from Ortygia..it's only 5euro round trip and worth it. Parking can be a problem, traffic can be heavy and this way you enjoy the country side while they take you door to downtown and back. Dinner at the restaurant was good, but service a bit spotty, unlike the breakfast service...maybe just a busy night. The ground are beautiful, the venue is perfect for weddings, family affairs or just relaxing. Best beds during our trip with crisp linens and super clean bathrooms.

Room Tip: there is nothing within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you followed our road directions to get to our hotel, we always recommend our guest to consider our directions so they will not have any difficulties on finding us. We are also happy you enjoyed our garden area with orange trees and had a nice time with us. That's exactly the feeling we want everybody to get before going back home.

Warm greetings from Sicily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is an outstanding hotel with beautifully presented rooms. We had a suite on two levels, very tastefully decorated in white and purple, with a large balcony. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, offering advice and information, always with a smile. Breakfasts were excellent and taken on a lovely terrace. Dinners were also very good and reasonably priced. The grounds were extensive with a beautiful pool, which we unfortunately didn't have time to take advantage of. The hotel is in the countryside, about 7 km away from Siracusa - a car is essential. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Alan,

What a nice compliment to compair our hotel to a beautiful friendly boutique.
We noticed reading your review that you appreciated the room, you had nice breaksfast and good dinner at a reasonable price. To sum it up, you had a wonderful stay and that's why our staff keeps on working hard and smile.
Thank you again...

Cari saluti...
Borgo Pantano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent a wonderful night here with my husband last week. Arrived hot and tired from Catania and found ourselves in a cool white oasis. Check in was one of the best I've ever experienced, they went out of their way to find the perfect room for us. The pool area is very inviting and although there were several couples with children we were not disturbed by them. Staff were on hand everywhere to assist and in every corner of the grounds there seemed to be little chairs and cushions set out for you to relax and enjoy the views and the weather.

Good choice if you have a car but they do provide transport.

Room Tip: All of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Lovely guests,

Grazie mille for your review! What a nice compliment to read it was your best check-in ever. When we can we always let our client choose the best solution for his or her needs.
It's difficult not to have a good time in our pool and garden area, and indeed you confirm it.

Thank you for all.

Greetings from Borgo Pantano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Quite simply superb. A real haven. The owners have created a wonderfully stylish, light, bright and modern hotel in a traditional Sicilian setting, with delightfully calm and spacious grounds and pool.  We found the whole experience terrific. The staff are so friendly and welcoming – they really seemed to want you to thoroughly enjoy your stay at the hotel – which we did!! The restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced too. Highly, highly recommended. "

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo Pantano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Pantano

Address: Traversa fontana Mortella (fiume Ciane), 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Pantano 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Borgo Pantano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Pantano Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo Pantano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.