We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo Pantano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Borgo Pantano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Pantano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Traversa fontana Mortella (fiume Ciane), 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Syracuse
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been in Borgo Pantano this September for our honeymoon. The structure is very well preserved. The service has been amazing. We felt pampered for the whole week (we really want to thank them for that).
The restaurant was great too. Much better of a lot of other restaurants in Siracusa.
Giusy, the owner, is a really sweet person. Every morning open to suggestions to what visit and what taste in the area on Siracusa.

We will definitely come back in the next years.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite in perfect conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guests,
First of all our owner Giusi thanks you for the compliments you have wrote in your review about the structure. Our chef Stefano and our staff thanks you for voting our restaurant a lot better than the other restaurants in Siracuse. It has been a pleasure for us pampering you and especially for Giusi to give you suggestions on what to do.
We hope to see you soon!
Warm and sunny greetings from all of us at Borgo Pantano.
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    516
    80
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
133
331
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Pros:Everything was great! Beautiful hotel. The stuff were very helpfull.. above and beyond expected.
Naomi at the reception give us perfect treatment, well done!

cons:hard to find it. we got lost for almost an hour to find.

note it was little bit chill at end of Oct.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Nir Levin,
Thank you so much for your nice review.
We are really happy you enjoied your stay with us! All of our staff thanks you for your nice thought and especially Noemi sends you a lot of warm greetings.
Our owner Giusi send you and your family her special best wishes.
Best regards,
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, Thanks to Josi, Noemi and their fabulous staff we not only had a great time at the hotel but were able to get a true flavour for the region. Where else can you share your experiences with the hotel's owner at breakfast every morning! You do need a car as there is nowhere to walk to if you want to leave the hotel but that only serves to highlight the tranquil setting of the hotel among citrus trees in the beautifully maintained gardens. The games room, complete with table football, table tennis and Wii console will keep the kids entertained when the weather is below par. The hotel fully deserves it's place at the top of the Tripadvisor rankings due to the warmth and attentiveness of the staff who have as much time as you need in order to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We will definitely be returning one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Marc and family,
We thank you a lot for the beautiful words written!
We hope seeing you and your family in our hotel and are
happy you all had a nice stay with us!
Kind regards,
HOTEL BORGO PANTANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A terrific hotel, outside Syracuse, in agricultural country but only 20 minutes from the city. Designed on the lines of a Sicilian walled farm, with olive and fruit tree groves around it. Large, comfortable rooms. Great swimming pool complex. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant. We were only sorry we were only staying for one night.

Room Tip: This is a low-profile hotel, blending in with the landscape. Therefore, there are no sweeping views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Mr. Smeader,
Thank you so much for your message! We are happy you like the design and structure of the hotel.
Giusi, the direction and all of us of Borgo Pantano send you their best greetings from Sicily!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This past September, we were in Sicily for a couple of weeks.During that time, we have been to many great hotels . But I must say that Borgo Pantano is the best hotel we have been in Sicily.The staff is very friendly and the surroundings are ideal. We were to try different restaurants in Siracusa, but instead we had dinner at the hotel restaurant during our entire stay, and did not regret it.The buffet breakfast is exquisite, cannot ask for better.We did not have a GPS, and we had a hard time finding the hotel, because you wonder if you are in the right direction, since you are travelling on a small country road. But it was all worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fabulous charming farmer house between orange fields. Very peaceful for relaxation. Large garden surrounded by green, big swimming pool with nice pool beds, 'fat boys', hang mats and cloths with cushions on the grass. Nice roof terrace for breakfast and dinner.

Room 115 has a nice view to the garden and pool but the drawback is a stuffy smell and the bathroom/toilet is for disabled persons. Hotel was fully booked but the reception managed to arrange another room for us on the next day.

Good breakfast, cornflakes, fried eggs, ham/cheese, mozzarella/tomatoes, fresh fruit and large variety in pastry. Fresh sweet orange juice served. I was a bit shocked seeing coffee in thermal bottle but likely you can ask for fresh made cappuccino.

Free wifi available.
In overall, a superb place to retreat and to knock down yourself.

Location wise, easy to get to Noto (30min), Syracuse (10min)

Local cuisine:
@Sicilia in Tavola in Syracuse - good service, speaks English, delicious food, only a few tables therefore reservation highly recommended
@Il Cenacola Trattoria in Syracuse - good service, speaks little English, delicious food

Don't go to - La Locanda Deccantico Pozzo (5min drive). This place was recommended by the hotel because we wanted to eat close by and blend with the locals. It turned out, two menus with same courses - one local price and one to rip off the tourists. It's not a large amount but still not honest business especially when its recommended. Food was the worst we had on our week stay in Sicily. Think their pizza's are good as everyone ate pizza's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for a week when visiting Sicily in Sept 2012.

You really could not wish for better service. From our arrival to departure the staff at the hotel could not do enough for you.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and is very open and spacious, providing guests with a wide range of places to relax.

The restaurant was faultless, with an amazing spread provided for breakfast and lovely food available for dinner. The chocolate cake with pistachio ice cream is to die for!

The rooms were modern and extremely comfortable.

if you do decide to stay here, then it would be advisable to have access to a car as it is in a fairly remote location.

If you're looking for somewhere to kick back and relax, then this place is ideal. We would definitely return to this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Borgo Pantano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Pantano

Address: Traversa fontana Mortella (fiume Ciane), 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Pantano 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Borgo Pantano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Pantano Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo Pantano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.