We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the atmosphere, surely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spaghetteria Do Scogghiu

Spaghetteria Do Scogghiu
Via Scina 11, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
3342108794
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 413 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Siracusa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For the atmosphere, surely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

A bit hidden, a small place with a very own atmosphere. The food is good, the service is the atmosphere. The place is a bit small and sometimes a bit too crowded. Certainly recommend the ensalata di polipo here as starter!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    151
    81
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This little gem is set back on a pedestrian walkway and not easy find but worth the effort. The food was delicious. The owner waited our table and was humorous and helpful. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and decorations.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, cute atmosphere, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Down one of the many side alleys in Ortigia, this small restaurant serves simple, well-prepared food. We both had swordfish, one grilled, one with tomatoes and capers, and a side --orange and onion salad and french fries. We had a half carafe of red wine which interestingly was served chilled. Desserts were cannoli (the ricotta was minimally sweetened) and cassata. No coffee. 46 euros. Cash only.

Food in Ortiga is not inexpensive so for the area, this is a fair price. And the food was good. I would recommend this spot to others.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simple and picturesque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

. You don't wait you for luxury, the simplicity and joy, the restaurant and the owners they are picturesque, they speak to gestures and in Sicilian but we capside everything. Kitchen simple and flat abundant. An experience to know the old Sicily.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Only OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We were impressed by the great atmosphere and the friendly staff. However, when our two pastas were placed in front of us, we were disappointed. Both pastas were somewhat tasteless, and lacked the distinct flavors that we had come to associate with the wonderful meals in Sicily.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spaghetteria Do Scogghiu also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Spaghetteria Do Scogghiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spaghetteria Do Scogghiu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.