We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, food and service!! Great quality of the price and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spizzica al Vecchio Lavatoio

Spizzica al Vecchio Lavatoio
Via Maniace 8 | Ortigia, entrance waterfront Alpheus, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
39 0931-463637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #271 of 397 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great location, food and service!! Great quality of the price and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My friends and I stumbled upon this restaurant while visiting Siracusa. It started to pour all of a sudden and we decided to take refuge in this restaurant and have some dinner.

From beginning to end the dining experience was very pleasant. First of all, the restaurant is located right along the waterfront, offering a nice view and a covered and sheltered terrace when it rains. We were a group of 3 and everything we ordered was just great. We tried a variety of antipasti which we are very pleasing and reasonable priced. For the meal we tried stuffed squid, buffala piza and grilled swordfish all of which we very good. Also good were the side dishes of grilled vegetables and mixed salads as well as the house wine.

I highly recommend the stuffed squid cooked in the 'Siracusa Style' (cooked in a sauce composed of tomates, capers and olives). Most delicious and not be missed.

Desserts and decaf expresso provided a nice end to an excellent meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    44
    37
    31
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Stick to the fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very good fishy antipasti. Swordfish and tuna, similarly, carefully cooked, fresh and tasty. Bit the pizzas were dreadful and I am puzzled by the previous revue. The dough was too thick and lacked a decent crust - under-cooked. Toppings were bland. The taking of the order was efficient and smiling, but thereafter, service was slow (getting extra bottles of water proved almost impossible) and we waited ages for our bill. Repeated requests were ignored for a good 25 minutes before we had to take matters into our own hands. They were very busy and appeared to have insufficient staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Unpretentious Pizzeria On the Waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a very friendly popular eating place near the Fonte Aretusa. They have a good selection of dishes both fish and meat, and plenty of different pasta dishes. They also do extremely good pizzas - the best we had tasted in Siracusa. Prices are not too bad and they treated us to a complementary dessert wine and a dessert to share. The restaurant has a good atmosphere particularly if you eat outside with some great views of the Mediterranean. Lots of people are continually passing by so it’s a good place for people watching.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Can't beat the food and the view....just don't ask for a pizza for lunch!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We sat at an outside table which faces the lagoon...very pretty. Ordered the formaggi sicilian plate which had about 5 different kinds of cheese along with a nice selection of olives. Followed this by trying to order a pizza which as it turns out are not served at lunch. But our waiter did try to accomadate us by suggesting a bruschetta!! We also ordered cavati alla turidda which is pasta with zuchini, spinach and mushrooms really tasty!! Service was good and menu in English.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north palm beach, florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“RUN, don't walk, AWAY from this restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

i know, i know. foodies like us had no business patronizing a tourist trap on lungomare in siracusa. but after a 30 min walk through old ortigia in search of an authentic little
osteria in the back streets, we discovered tuesday is a popular day to close your osteria. so with intense hunger pains we settled on this place because it seemed to have the most italians. service was atrocious!!! food was equally disappointing. my pasta was supposed to have gamberoni (big shrimp) gamberetti (small shrimp) zucca (squash) and radicchio. it had ONE medium shrimp, about 5 tiny shrimps, and not trace of radicchio or zucca. when i asked our CHARMING waiter (a gray-haired man who was rude an bitter) about the missing items, he grabbed my dish, took it to the kitchen, and brought it back w/ a spattering of chopped raw radicchio. when asked about the zucca, he said this means cream in italian (i speak it fluently enough to know this is a lie) but even then, there was not a trace of cream in my pasta, either. i had to get up and get my own balsamic vinegar when the other waiter failed to bring it after 10 minutes of waiting. my girlfriend's "shrimp cocktail" was tiny shrimp drowned in what tasted like thousand island dressing. what an utter waste of calories, money, and time. avoid this place like the plague!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spizzica al Vecchio Lavatoio also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Sortino, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Spizzica al Vecchio Lavatoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spizzica al Vecchio Lavatoio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.