We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sicilia in Tavola

Sicilia in Tavola
via Cavour 28 | via Landolina, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
3924610889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 412 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Home Made fresh Pasta, Sea Food, Sicilian Food.Need a reservation Closed on MondayOpen for lunch at 12:30 and we close the kitchen at 14:30 for dinner at 19:39 and we close the kitchen at 22:30Multilanguage menù We speak english and french Enjoy your Sicilian experience with us.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My third visit and I was not disappointed. We share a rather large suppa di fritta di mare as a first course that was delicious and followed this with an equally delicious course of tuna and a side dish of fresh sardines. The canolo did not disappoint. All went down well with a very cold Alcomo Cusomano white Sicilian wine. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    335
    84
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nearly perfect restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my second long visit to Siracusa, but I had somehow missed this restaurant, so this trip I dined twice, first dinner and then lunch a few days later. Both experiences were wonderful
For the first meal, dinner I started with a version of insalata siciliana that still makes me salivate just thinking about it: orange chunks, generous pieces of sweet fennel, salted fillets of fresh anchovies, scallions and parsley. Then the freshest spaghetti in a pesto of Pistacchio di Bronte with little bits of. Pistachio. A half bottle of a Donafugata red, not fancy but lovely. Mousse di mandorle (fresh almond mousse) with fresh raspberries.

My lunch about a week later began with a carpaccio of tuna, a mound with chunks of parsley and maybe fennel, not sure. And lemon. Then I had the same spaghetti as at dinner, and a glass of wine (don't recall what) and a dessert of lemon granita. Dinner was $50 US, lunch $46 US

Not only was the food deicious, the service was a wonderful combination of friendly and professional. And the clientele was a mixture of tourists and locals, very relaxed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pasta and fish dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Impeccable service, great choice of home made pasta and fish. Everything sourced locally and fresh. Very good selection of wines. And the home made "cannolo siciliano" deserves a special mention. A meal for two with labeled wine: around 70 €. Booking essential! You will not find a table just showing up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fresh pasta. Nothing great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fresh pasta at this place. Antipasti was nothing great. Very friendly staff. The bad thing is that they only had pasta with seafood and not a big variety with normal pasta.
Overall an ok place to eat but do not expect anything amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Visited twice in 3 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice during our 3 day visit to Syracuse.
The restaurant is rather small and crowded but thats usual in Siracusa.
The first time me and my wife took different plates and all were excellent. The second time we went we took the same plates but this time they werent as great as the first time.
Still a good choice and the price only came to € 75 including desserts and a bottle of wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sicilia in Tavola also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Sicilia in Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sicilia in Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.