We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do book if possible, as it is small.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria La Gazza Ladra

Osteria La Gazza Ladra
Via Cavour 8, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
340 0602428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 395 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Do book if possible, as it is small.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a very Sicilian restaurant, quite small and obviously very popular with the local residents. We were very glad we had booked. It is very informal, with a limited menu each evening of extremely good food. The wine was good and the prices very honest.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    55
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful, fresh food sourced locally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Freshly prepared local dishes combined with limited seating in this small, family run restaurant means that you'd be advised to book in advance or be prepared for a bit of a wait.
Plus points include the great fish dishes, the slow food ethos, the intimate surroundings and the personal attention from the family who own and run this little gem of a restaurant.
Try the wine made from grapes grown on land reclaimed from the mafia!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Small family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Really well prepared simple food coming from a small kitchen run by a husband and wife. It is a small place and it was packed when we arrived. Fortunately, we waited only 5 minutes for a table for two. The antipasti was super. The fish of the day was expertly prepared. I will go back when in Ortigia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Beautiful service in this small, intimate restaurant. Mixed antipasti were best we had in Sicily. Tuna caponata was phenomenal. Pasta also delicious. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, simple tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I am very glad I visited this little restaurant. The stuff was very friendly and helpful with choice of meal. The food was simple but full of taste and delicious. I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Gazza Ladra also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Osteria La Gazza Ladra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria La Gazza Ladra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.