We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic three-days stay in Ortigia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B La Via della Giudecca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added B&B La Via della Giudecca to your Saves list
B&B La Via della Giudecca
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Vicolo III alla Giudecca, 4 | Piazza San Filippo, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 166 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic three-days stay in Ortigia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Have you imagined an exotic wedding ceremony held in Sicilia? We made that, with the help of the hotel owner and all the staff there.

We spent three nights there from May28 to May 30, and wanna hold a wedding ceremoney in the nearby church. A big suprise, of course, relates to our wedding ceremony. This B&B is located right beside a church. We didn't know it was so close when we inquired about if it was applicable to hold a wedding ceremony in a church for a non-Sicilian and non-religious couple (Of course the answer was "Yes"). Our initial intention was to find a holy place to make vows. So we only expected two of us and the priest on our simple ceremony. This simple wish turned out to be warmly fulfilled, with the hospitality of the Silicians and other international friends.

Secretly, the B&B owner, Mr Giuseppe and the staff there sent out invitations to both the other hotel guests and the neighbors, with one of our wedding photos they found in flickr printed on the invitation cards. Surpisedly, many of the invited guests and the locals attended our ceremony, like our family. The ceremony lasted about one hour and a half, totally out of our expectation (we thought a vow might take only ten minutes at large), and all of them stayed there until a small ceremony-after champange party--the champange was also a special offer by the B&B owner. How generous of him!

The lovely B&B receptionist Roberta recorded the whole process for us as a helper. Without her assistance, we would not own such a merry memory. There are so many other people we could not name out to thank to. There are four other helpers of the priest and we heartily appreciate all of their blessings. We are also grateful about everyone's being there, the B&B staff, the other room guests including one couple from London and another couple we didn't where they came from. And we also couldn't forget the three chief witness of our wedding, the BB owner-Mr Giuseppe, Mr and Mrs Pivi During the whole process Mr Pivi was ebulliently helping here and there, taking photos, maintaining, arranging, etc. We knew Mr and Mrs Pivi are about to start a big journey driving across China by a van. We hope everything good with their following journey and hope they could contact us when they arrive at Beijing. And the hospitable neighbors, who could not speak English at all, but were happy to witness and share our happiness. We wouldn't forget anyone, including Roberta's mother, who was late for the ceremony and the group photo. She drove all the way but missed the ceremony. However, we knew from deep heart her best wish for us and her kindheartedness. The handsome who served our three breakfasts, the lovelies who helped clean our room, the two-babygirls' mother who translated for us when we vowed, and the mysterious beer on our table that night after the ceremony who must be prepared by Roberta.

Everything was so wonderful at thisB&B. Yes I haven't metioned the room. All I say is the romm is JUST PERFECT. Please check the photos I took during the stay. Photos of reality will tell you everything.

We hope to come back on our anniversaries. And we hope to do something for Ortigia as long as we can.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    74
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
278
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

When we arrived in lovely Ortygia we were greeted by a wonderful lady who showed us to our beautiful apartment #12 on the top floor with the roof terrace, solarium right outside the living room, small kitchen, bathroom, dining room, and bedroom. One word WOW! This place was amazing! We took advantage of the kitchen and cooked dinner two nights enjoying our feast on our roof terrace. Looking our across the rooftops and to the sea on our private terrace was so relaxing in the evenings- definitely the apartment's main feature.

Breakfast each morning was so delicious and plentiful with fresh fruit, amazing ricotta filled donut-like pastries, fresh bread, meats, cheese, coffee, tea, fruit juice, etc.

Service of the staff was top notch. I asked to use the washing machine and in return a whole load of laundry was washed, dried, folded, and waiting in our apartment when we arrived back for the evening. That kind of service is incredible!

Overall, this B&B is amazing and apartment #12 is wonderful. The only very minor suggestions I'd like to make to Giuseppe are to plant some flowers on the terrace. Arriving to pots with weeds and dried up dead plants was a bit of a disappointment. I suppose I was expecting a terrace filled with blooming flowers since that seemed to be the norm in Sicily. And to replace the cover on the couch. It has so many stains on it that it was difficult to really relax on it.

I highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a beautiful place to stay in one of the most charming towns in Sicily!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Apartment #12 is an amazing apartment with an amazing terrace overlooking the sea and rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Situated in Ortigia's old Jewish quarter, this hotel, with its excellent customer service, is the perfect place to stay. The staff are attentive, friendly and helpful. We had a warm welcome from Guiseppe. Roberta, Guiseppe's right-hand woman, was most helpful with organising a hire car, getting buses and trains to various locations, printing timetables and gave us an upgrade after our first night because we were staying for more than a week. Johnnie and the girls quietly and efficiently made breakfast a very pleasant start to the day with plenty to choose from the full Continental breakfast. Parking is limited but we had no problem returning at the end of the day parking the car in no-charge areas just over the bridge in Siracusa and then walking just 10mins to the hotel. However finding free parking in peak season could be a problem. The Avis office just by the bridge was very reasonable and helpful; car hire for 4 days approx £230. Hotel is centrally located, lots of good restaurants and bars nearby. Sicilian food is to die for. We recommend visiting Modica. All in all, a great hotel and place to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent two nights here at the end of our trip and would recommend it; large, airy, cool rooms with soft neutral decor and some welcome extra features made it a great bolt-hole from which to explore Ortigia. The friendly owner was kind enough to help us locate a parking space nearby when we arrived (these are at a bit of a premium in the narrow streets or Siracusa), and the staff were helpful in arranging a table for us at a restaurant we'd been to some years ago and were anxious to return to.

Breakfasts were very good; the excellent coffee brought straight over from the cafe opposite (where presumably the fatal ricotta-stuffed doughnuts also originate - delicious.). My only slight disappointment was that, staying in room 10, we were awoken at 6am both mornings by what sounded like a woman in high heeled shoes walking rapidly backwards and forwards on the floor above us - we assumed the housekeeping services are located there and that it was the chamber staff arriving and preparing for their shift. A bit of a shame but not enough to spoil the experience.

Room Tip: Maybe give Room 10 a miss if others are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent three days in the apartment (room 12) in this well located if slightly difficult initially to find, B & B. However, the welcome and delightful well-designed reception, sitting and guest computer (2) areas soon made up for the error by our taxi driver.

Checking was well done by Roberta, who marked up the local map with all the sights that we wanted to see and restaurant recommendations. We were then taken to our room, which is up three long flights of stairs. Fortunately, although some were spiral stairs they were not too narrow. There were enough stairs to make us think about coming and going from our room on the first day! However, one did quickly get used to doing the 61 or so steps. However, if stairs are an issue, request a room on the first floor so there is only one flight of stairs to climb.

The apartment is large, and nicely finished. There is a small kitchenette (but surprisingly no kettle, tea or coffee) and an empty small fridge. There is a glass dining table with four chairs, sofa (bed), rocking chair, TV (Sky TV as well, neither of which we used), heating / air conditioner. There is a private terrace off the living room and stairs leading to a second private terrace, this one on the rooftop. The bedroom has a large bed, chair, mirrored cupboards, and a chest of drawers.

The green tiled bathroom has a double sink, toilet, bidet and at the end, a shower. Amenities and a hair dryer are provided.

There is free wifi and the password is detailed in the room.

There is no in room safe, nor when I enquired about one, was there an offer to use a main safe, so I was left to presume that there was also no office safe. However, it was not an issue as the building was secure with the front door locked if reception was not manned. There was note in the room requesting that payment be in cash.

On a Friday night there was a little noise (music) from the street but it ended around 23:00.

Breakfast was served in a small room off reception. To ensure excellent coffee, it is brought from the cafe across the narrow Via Della Guidecca. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit, cereal, juice, milk, yoghurt, cake, cheese and cold cuts, and ricotta filled deep fried delights. There are five tables so at times the might be a short wait, however the continental breakfast offerings were continually replenished.

We were leaving later in the afternoon, and we were given a side door key so that we were able to leave our luggage, return at our convenience to pick it up, and freshen up in the main floor washroom. Very much appreciated.

Reception is staffed in the mornings and when guests are expected (therefore it is important to let them know when you plan to arrive) so the side door (key entry) is the usual entry point. If you have any issues, mention them immediately after check in or in the morning as there may not be any staff around at other times.

If you visit during May or June, consider attending a performance at the Greek amphitheater. We were able to get excellent seats (section A, row 6) on the day of a performance of Bacchus, which turned out to be one of the most memorable events of the whole trip.

We also followed local advice to visit the Paoli Orsi Regional Archaeological Museum and we found the exhibitions, particularly the coin collection (surprisingly) to be excellent.

Highly recommend this lovely B& B for the quality and size of the room, location, friendly efficient staff and the quality/price relationship of the offering.

Room Tip: There is no lift, but wide stairs. If lots of steps (61) to the top (3rd) floor are an issue, reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Bedroom, living room, dining room/kitchen, bathroom and a huge terrace made our jaws drop when we saw the accomodations we were staying in. It was really like our own apartment. The view from the terrace was excellent. The kitchen even had a clothes wash machine built into the counters, so we were able to get some laundry done. Excellent site (Ortigia is very cool), excellent service and excellent accomodations. Can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room preferrably on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

spotless. stylish. In the heart of Ortygia. Free Wi-Fi in the room. Generous breakfast. The owner, Giuseppe was very kind to make reservation for us in wonderful local restaurants. Public parking close by. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B La Via della Giudecca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Via della Giudecca

Address: Vicolo III alla Giudecca, 4 | Piazza San Filippo, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Via della Giudecca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B La Via della Giudecca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Via Della Giudecca Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B La Via della Giudecca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.