We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Minareto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Minareto to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Minareto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Faro Massolivieri, 26A, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Syracuse
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I had arranged to stay here for my birthday in September 2012 as I used to live in Sicily as a student and have always wanted to come back. I often find that the arrival at the hotel can set the tone for the rest of the holiday so was delighted when we arrived to the beautiful Hotel Minareto, upgraded in our room and given a complimentary bottle of champagne! Although some may complain that the hotel is about a ten minute drive from Syracuse itself this really isn't a drama if you have your own car and means that you as a guest are treated to probably the best sea views for miles around and aren't overlooked by any other hotels. The place is secluded, luxurious and peaceful (away from the main road). The staff were very friendly, chatty and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We had a 'semi-detached' villa room which had a private patio overlooking the sea (see photos). The room was spotless and very grand. The hotel also has exclusive access to a rocky area on which it has built a number of sunbathing terraces and a stairway down to the sea. Around the corner from this its own private and secluded white sand beachcove with crystal clear water.

The buffet breakfasts are of a very high standard, with plenty of fresh choices (local cheeses, meats and salads, hot foods, exotic fresh fruit salads, beautiful just-made sicilian pastries, cakes, flans and croissants, even a granita machine, 2 chocolate fountains and a home made ice-cream server. There are a few pizza and seafood restaurants just a short walk away from the hotel which we visited on a few nights to seek some variety. However, the food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Without doubt the highlight of our trip was one evening when my boyfriend elicited the assistance and collusion of the hotel and restaurant staff and they gave us our our own private terrace overlooking the private beach with our own butler for the night so that he could propose to me. The most amazing night of our lives so far made so much more special by our beautiful surroundings and helpful staff. I said yes by the way :)

Loved this hotel and we plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea if possible. There seems to be more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Manager at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your kind comment and the beautiful words You wrote about Grand Hotel Minareto.
We are pleased that Your stay at our Resort was amazing and You enjoyed the beautiful, exclusive location with direct view over the sea, as well as the rich buffet breakfast and elegant dinner at our Restaurant.
We are actually honored that You chose Grand Hotel Minareto for Your birthday and for the special event of a wedding proposal and we really hope to have You as special guest together with Your future husband.

Looking forward to welcoming You soon in future occasions

Best Regards

The General Manager - Dr. Antonio La Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    134
    63
    36
    18
See reviews for
101
368
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Celbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I were recommended The Grand Hotel Minareto by our travel agent. As we were just taking a break at short notice we decided to go to a hotel for the first time on holidays. This was also our first real holiday in 3 years. We traveled in October 2012. The weather was lovely and we got some lovely sunshine and warmth. The layout of the hotel was lovely and each room had a lovely veranda and private access. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff friendly and accommodating. The pool was excellent though the sea access was awkward and dirty. They should carry out some work in this area. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and the cafe / bar by the pool was heaven with snacks coffee and wine. The meals in the restaurant at night were average for the price which I felt was a little expensive. There is much better restaurants and bars in Ortigia and Syracuse. Here lies the big drawback for anybody staying at the hotel. You need to have your own transport. While the advertise a bus service it is quickly overbooked even in the off-season and is extremely limited. We had hired a car for the week and did not need the bus. We took a taxi one night and this worked out at €30 each way. On hiring the car I was asked for a deposit of €1,400 despite taking out extra insurance when booking the holiday. This is deducted from your credit card or you can pay an all-in waiver of €120.. a right con job.
We enjoyed our stay at the GHM and sampled the spa and other facilities which were excellent. During our stay i also sampled the Italian health service which was adequate as well.
I would prefer a self-catering holiday especially after experiencing the food markets in Ortigia. If I was to stay in a hotel again I would have no problem staying at the Grand Minareto Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you have your own transport as there is nothing close to GMH In the off seasons it can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was in Syracuse, with my sweet heart for the Festival of the ancient Greek theater, tragedies ( Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides) performed in the astonishing set of the old Greek theater, 2500 years old. The performancies are played during the sunset (May-June): it' s real an experience. Unfortunately the tragedies are performed only in Italian and traslation is not available what a pity!!! The Festival Organization should evaluate the opportunity to performe the plays with English, German, French troupes, or at least making available the traslation. I have lots of friends that would flock in Syracuse to see these performancies, but unfotunately they do not know Italian.
Actually one year ago we spent 4-5 nights in this Great location, but I would like to acknowledge this gem of hotel and its staff
The setting is quite superb right across the bay to the old town of Siracusa,in front of Ortiggia island.
Beautiful layout and fabulous pool. Rooms spacious and well equiped excellent breakfast with a large variety and choice to suit every taste. We preferred to dine outside in Ortiggia, where there are a lot of faboulous resturants. I would reccomend Kalliope for the quality, the variety of food and for the superb location close to the Cathedral.
Further the fantastic swimming pool, a very nice private beach is available in a nice bay, on an other side of the hotel there is a cliff where you can lay down,swimming and snorkeling as well if you like.
The Hotel reception staff couldnt have been more heplfull and friendly.Taking into account all the above we decided to extend our stay and with the support of Mr. Sergio Campaila, the Reception Manager,we have found a very convenient solution with sea view.
Maybe some drowbacks might show up, for istance the management of the shuttle must be improved, but definetly this is a 5 star hotel, for location, for services, for rooms etc

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for You kind comment that You shared with the entire community of Tripadvisor.
We are glad that Your stay at Grand Hotel Minareto left You a good memory and You enjoyed the Buffet breakfast and the other restaurant services during Your stay, as well as the location and the room comforts.
The courtesy and the customer attention of our staff is something really important for us and we are glad that You noticed and appreciated it. Positive comments like Yours always give us the strength to do better and to offer always better services.

We really hope to welcoming You as special guest in the future.

Best Regards

The Manager - Dr. Antonio La Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On the whole this was a super stay. The private beach was lovely and so clean. Facilties on site were more than adequate although the wifi was limited. The fitness suite was well equipped and the pool perfect. Breakfast was excellent but the dinner menu was uninspiring and not cheap and the poolside cafe was just ok. You really need a car. The free transport to Siracusa was on a first come first served basis - unfair for those left who had to pay for a taxi. Difficult to balance maybe as the location is so lovely but cut off from local sights.
The staff were very helpful. Simona and Fabio at reception were exceptional. Just a few niggles which means 4 star rather than five.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent 4 nights here, great location across the bay from Ortigia. Lovely pool area, great little private beach/bay, our room was big and very comfortable. Just a quick 10min drive to downtown Syracuse, a great hotel

Room Tip: A view of Ortigia
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for the time You spent to write this comment and to share Your feedback with us and with the entire community of Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that You appreciated the quality of the services offered in our Hotel and its exclusive position.
We are looking forward to having You as our special guest in the future
Best Regards

Dr. Antonio La Spina – General Manager

“Hospitality means caring about every single detail and waiting for the Guest’ return”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Overall this hotel-resort is excellent. Warm, friendly and luxurious with a stunning view of the old city from the room terrace and a breathtakingly beautiful rocky beach/lagoon. So after a long day of sightseeing and when it suddenly started raining (early May), we had no problem amusing ourselves in the hotel. My husband and son even took a dip into the cold sw-pool. I still take one star away because of a few things that definitely could be better/improved - the internet connection was very poor, the fitness center too dark, restaurant just OK/pricey for dinner (breakfast was good), and our room was tiny - but overall we had a great time, so a thumbs-up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for the time You spent to write this great comment and to give us Your positive feedback.
Comments of our guests about their stay are extremely important for us, in order to motivate the staff to offer always a better service.
We are looking forward to having You as our special guest in the future
Best Regards

Dr. Antonio La Spina – General Manager

“Hospitality means caring about every single detail and waiting for the Guest’ return”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked our accommodation on line as part of our Siracusa vacation, I ma pleased we requested an ocean view room and we weren't disappointed. The resort was relatively quiet for end of October, friendly helpful staff, great amenities. Will stay there again. Excellent breakfast, shame you could have it on your own private terrace instead of in the dinner room. Loved the concept of a chocolate fountain at breakfast - that was a first. We ordered lunch one day at pool side restaurant and were under whelmed ...very average. Mostly we ate in the many local restaurant down the road that were fantastic food. Very disappointed by the spa services i arranged for 2 female friends who come to visit us for a day...not a great set up not having all the necessary equipment on site if one changes one mind

Room Tip: request and pay the extra for Ocean view rooms, ask for near lighthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Minareto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minareto

Address: Via del Faro Massolivieri, 26A, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Minareto 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Minareto was born on a promontory which draws from the poetry of its natural beauty and the power of the charismatic history of the pride stand before the island of Ortigia, a masterpiece of art and history, heritage of UNESCO.has three different private access to the sea that allow our guests to enjoy of softy golden sand, that recalls classical caribbean little islands, or the rocky sea beds of the cliff, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Minareto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Minareto Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Minareto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.