We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Minareto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Minareto to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Minareto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Faro Massolivieri, 26A, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Syracuse
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel has the most beautiful beach and views. All the rooms have little terraces. It would have been nice to have breakfast making the most of the spectacular setting instead of a big dining room which reminded me of a conference center. The dinner was also very mediocre . The hotel lacked a good concierge to advise restaurants and directions to the various sites. Maybe it was just a language barrier but a 5 star hotel like this one should do better. Yet said , this was one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    134
    63
    36
    18
See reviews for
101
367
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This staff knows how to make you feel welcome and knows the true meaning of the word hospitality. The staff is clearly proud of the hotel and surroundings and so they should be! What an experience and what example they set for other hotels. So go to Minareto if you want a great holiday or if you want to know how you should run an excellent hotel plus dito services. Thanks Minareto staff for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for the time You spent to write this great comment and to give us Your positive feedback.
Comments of our guests about their stay are extremely important for us, in order to motivate the staff to offer always a better service.
We are looking forward to having You as our special guest in the future
Best Regards

Dr. Antonio La Spina – General Manager

“Hospitality means caring about every single detail and waiting for the Guest’ return”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irha kodesh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel has so much potential but has poor management, poor maintenance and terrible staff.
We were with a group. Many received totally NOT 5* rooms. Aircon didn't work in some rooms and the reception staff had no solutions, when temperatures were in high 30'sC.
Waiters were hopeless, with no English and in many cases smelt terrible.
A typical example of amateurs with a good position having NO IDEA what a good hotel should be.
Sad!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked standard, were upgraded. Rooms not overly large but of high quality. the pool area was spa-like, great for relaxing, fresh towels as often as you wanted, wifi everywhere free, very romantic views over the cliffs onto either a sandy cove or panoramic rocks. no AC noise!!service very friendly and awake! breakfast until 10.30!! great for sleeping in. Food always freshly prepared. it was a perfect stay for our honeymoon!! thank you.

Room Tip: all rooms are very quiet, not all rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

There is an excellent full review by Andreas Z which I can only confirm. The setting is quite superb right across the bay to the town of Siracusa. We arrived on our wedding anniversary, and having mentioned it to the very helpful receptionist within an hour we had delivered to our room a bottle of Proseccio in ice bucket - made us feel special sitting on our terrace sipping the bubbles overlooking the sunset and ocean! We eat in the restuarant that evening. Food was good but expensive. The restaurant was a little like a holiday camp with screaming kids and people in shorts and tee shirts..........not quite the image of a 5 star hotel and restaurant! We would have liked to have eaten outside on their wonderful terrace overlooking the sea.....but no clearly too much bother for the 5 star staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a perfect place-to-stay! Very friendly staff, good rooms, enough places and variety to enjoy the sun. Go and stay here, it's the best and most welcoming hotel I've ever seen in Italy. Nearby Syracuse, so a perfect place to use as a base in this region.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for You kind comment that You shared with the entire community of Tripadvisor.
We are glad that Your stay at Grand Hotel Minareto left You a good memory and You enjoyed the exclusive location and the room comforts.

The courtesy and the customer attention of our staff is something really important for us and we are glad that You noticed and appreciated it. Positive comments like Yours always give us the strength to do better and to offer always better services.

We really hope to welcoming You as special guest in the future.

Best Regards

The Manager - Dr. Antonio La Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel has a resort feel. The rooms are "motel" like in that you walk into your unit from outside and the buildings are made up of clusters of units. The rooms/units are great. New, clean, comfortable, etc. The whole place is quite beautiful. The best part is the ocean. There is a private shallow beach area in a small cove. Perfect for small children I imagine. And then there is a swimming spot off a cliff where the hotel has made an access. You can either jump off the cliff or go down the steps and access the water from there. This cliff spot is not supervised or child friendly but for us it was a treat. The hotel has even put sun chairs on the cliff. How perfect. Breakfast was quite nice. Fresh squeezed OJ and capuccino and I am in heaven. Service was actually great. The guy I got anyways. I actually saw him after breakfast offering watermelon slices to guests on the beach. What else can you ask for. The hotel is however not in Syracuse. If you have a car you are fine, but if you do not the hotel I am told has a shuttle service to Syracuse which I think took a good 15 minutes (small tight roads) by car. We parked in a large municipal parking in Syracuse when we went out to diner. There was no problem getting a spot. We did not et at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a unit with an ocean view it was nice. At night you see the lit up city of Syracuse, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for the time You spent to write this comment and to share Your feedback with us and with the entire community of Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that You appreciated the quality of the services offered in our Hotel and its exclusive position.
We are looking forward to having You as our special guest in the future
Best Regards

Dr. Antonio La Spina – General Manager

“Hospitality means caring about every single detail and waiting for the Guest’ return”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Minareto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minareto

Address: Via del Faro Massolivieri, 26A, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Minareto 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Minareto was born on a promontory which draws from the poetry of its natural beauty and the power of the charismatic history of the pride stand before the island of Ortigia, a masterpiece of art and history, heritage of UNESCO.has three different private access to the sea that allow our guests to enjoy of softy golden sand, that recalls classical caribbean little islands, or the rocky sea beds of the cliff, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Minareto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Minareto Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Minareto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.