We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first dining experience in Ortigia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Porta Marina

Ristorante Porta Marina
Via dei Candelai 35, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
+39 0931 22553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 413 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: $0 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our first dining experience in Ortigia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our flight was late and we were having problems finding somewhere to eat round 10 pm on a Saturday night. Came across this place with several empty tables. Generally, an enjoyable meal, but some dishes were over-salted and a little too rich. Noticed it held one Michelin star. We had better meals in other places in Ortigia over the following week, none of which were mentioned in the Michelin guide. Would probably give the place a second go with more careful selection of dishes. the menu looks very enticing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    97
    45
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The interior of this restaurant is amazing. Unfortunately the food did not live up to our expectations. The starter of pasta with mushrooms and nuts was just ok. The fish with gratin potato was over cooked. There seemed to be a lot of waiters but they did not refill our glasses once during the meal. The phone kept ringing, which would not normally be a problem, except it was so loud.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Best meal in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Sicilian to the core, this is a real treat of a place that I stumbled upon while avoiding the busier, better known and less authentic looking places which infest the streets of Syracuse with their faux terrases, tacky looking street furnitutre and canopies.

Ristorante Porta Marina da Salvo is located down a small back street near the Port and opens into a large atmospheric single room complete with Roman arches; I was seated in an ante room which also served as the cellar. Here there were four tables; three of which were taken. I had no reservation was was happy to be given a table with no fuss or ceremony.

The menu is surprisingly affordable and of an extremely high calibre with plenty of fixed price menu choices; everything from a €35 3 Course Special with fish/shellfish platters. Food was utterly exquisite, inventive, authentic and of a high quality; wines were a selection of local produced and Catanian wines, as well as several imported options.

Service was patchy however - as a solo diner I did feel as though I wasn't a priority customer. Notwithstanding this fact, I never felt as though I was short changed...the restuarant was a little understaffed perhaps but I still had an incredible meal.

This was in all one of the best meals I have had all year and certainly my best meal in Sicility - hands down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent out of the way restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Like others - we stumbled upon this establishment as it is on a very quite side street - but we were all getting hungry and decided to venture in and take a look around. The interior is very well done. The food was very authentic Sicilian food. The staff was very friendly and helpful in our selection of both the food and wine. We had arrived just as they were opening and were the first to be seated. Not long after many others came to dine. I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Simply the best meal we've had in Sicily in 2 weeks, and lucky we were!.. it was our last night there. Perfect service, skilful, professional, unobtrusive, immediate, polite. Perfect fish - I had the cod from Portugal - one of the best fish dishes I've ever had; my wife ordered local fish triglia and it was prepared with care and attention. Wine list is impressive, especially white section. We were seated in a small room/enoteca and there was not much of a view, but it didn't matter a bit that night. If we ever return to Siracusa, we will be dining there again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Porta Marina also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Ristorante Porta Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Porta Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.