We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Save Saved
You added Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 66 hotels in Syracuse
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a find! This charming property is in a great location and beautifully appointed. The staff is warm and welcoming and super accommodating. We had a lovely room with a complimentary mini bar and breakfast and took advantage of the on site bicycles also free of charge to hotel guests.
Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    566
    164
    44
    8
    1
See reviews for
137
463
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the second time I have visited this lovely hotel by the sea in Ortigia.
This time I brought 13 clients with me. We can be a difficult group to cater for, with room, set up and general tourist needs. Everyone was happy with their room and surprised at the amount of space.

The staff have been excellent. They have managed every one of our rooms and individual needs expertly.
Breakfast is extensive. Room cleaning and management, spotless and faultless.
I shall return next year with another group.

Thank you to all of the staff for your care of my group.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This lovely hotel made me welcome from the minute I walked in - I had a dinky single room - perfect for one with everything you could need from a safe, TV and complimentary mini bar with water and soft drinks. Lovely staff who speak English and are genuinely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is a mixture of charming antiquity and modern conveniences like free Wifi and aircon. My room was spotless and the service throughout from breakfast to waiting in the bar was excellent. It's a short walk to the main centre of the town and there is a gorgeous sea view from the hotel. I literally felt my travel weariness fall away as I fell in love with this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

As with most Italian hotels it was expensive for what you get but at least what you get is good apart from the size of the rooms. Location great, we had a sea view and parking relatively straightforward and we also found it quite quiet despite building work going on next door. Staff were very helpful and gave good restaurant recommendations also breakfast was excellent with eggs cooked to order. The rooms were small with very limited hanging space which given the price of the hotel was disappointing. However overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at this supposedly 4 star hotel for two days and found it so crammed: no seaview from our standard room, though it did have a balcony. Our double room, No. 305, was tiny, there was a mini-closet in which we could not fit our luggage and there was nowhere else for it in the room. We had to keep our bags upright against the walls and open them on the bed to get some clothes out!
The bathroom was very small, too.
On arrival at 1:30pm we were told we could not check in until 3pm, so we went to a local restaurant for lunch. We came back at 3:40pm and our room was still not ready. We waited until 4pm to no avail and had to get changed in our friends' room to go sightseeing. When we came back at 7pm the room was finally ready, but no apologies were given.
However, the bedspread was full of dark stains and we had to ask for it to be changed, the shower door leaked, the TV could only be watched from the bed if one sat up straight as the screen was tilted upwards due to it resting on the chunky plug behind it. Even then the image was not very clear, one had to stand up to watch it properly. The Air Con was not very strong and would definitely not be adequate in Summer, as we were already feeling hot, despite it being October. The WIFI box did not work at all (no lights on it) so it had to be replaced. The second box worked at first, then stopped. Someone took a look at it and it worked again, though intermittently. Our friends had the same experience with their box. None of our toiletries was replenished on the second day, the tissue box in the bathroom was left empty and the towels were not folded back onto the rail, and were instead untouched were we had left them in the morning. Some of the staff were not very friendly and breakfast took forever to come when we ordered anything a' la carte. On checking out we were first told we had to vacate by 11am: when I reminded them that we could not check in even at 4pm due to their delay in cleaning the room, they only gave us 30 mins extra for our check out. This is definitely a basic 3 star hotel at best.

Room Tip: 305 is far too small, and stuck in the corner, avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although this was one of the plainer hotels of our trip I give it an excellent rating especially for the front desk. The friendliest of the trip. The junior suite was plain, but comfortable. The sitting area needed more light to read. The view was very nice and we were not bothered by noise by the time we went to bed. Nice to leave the windows open and hear the water. Good bathroom with good shower. Great location for walking. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meltham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is nicely situated by the sea just a few minutes walk from the central square of Ortiga. Internally it is very well appointed and decorated. Our double room was small, with a limited half wardrobe and chest of drawers so just enough space to unpack things. Friends accompanying us didn't have the latter so lacked storage space. Apart from occasional footsteps from above the hotel was quiet. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and service reasonable considering the hotel was full. Our final prearranged dinner for 11 was a splendid occasion although Sicilian attempts at fine dining don't quite work. In the end the baroque joy of Sicily washes away the little problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.