We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in a renovated palazzo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel to your Saves list
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Syracuse
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good stay in a renovated palazzo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here, we came with car form Catania and we coud easily park our car at a little square of the hotel.
The interior and the whole hotel has an ancient impression (in the sense that they preserved as good as possible the structure of the palazzo). The room was not big, but was oke, we had a view on an opposite palazzo that was in renovation.
Now in the bathroom there were 2 negative points, out of the rain shower there came almost no water, good enough for a wash but certainly not a rain-shower-experience.
And the toilet seatting was loose on the toilet .
On the first day we had also a negative experience, the cleaning staff did remove the towels but forgot to bring new ones, we had to contact the reception a few times to finally get a full set of towels.
The breakfast was oke, but a bit of a strange habbit that you need to order almost everything from a menucard. On the buffet itself was only sweet stuff and fruit, so it means that you always need to ask for some cheese, meat, or an egg or fresh juice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    181
    44
    9
    1
See reviews for
148
526
23
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is beautifully restored, and the room we had was lovely and charming with a small balcony. The location is good and breakfast was plentiful.
I really enjoyed Siracusa, and this hotel was a great base to explore everything. We parked the car at the hotel and walked everywhere. I adored the small streets and enjoyed exploring all parts of the old town.
Some of the best service we had in our 10 days in Sicily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location is overlooking the sea on the outskirts of Syracuse. I would recommend booking a sea view room, otherwise you could end up looking at a wall 1 metre from your window.

The staff are efficient and extremely helpful, but there are clearly not enough of them so they end up doing a plethora of 'other' jobs which means at times the reception/bar are unattended.

The breakfast was really fantastic and incredibly fresh, with a great selection of various items both hot and cold!

The restaurant was closed for 2 of our 3 night stay, so unfortunately the hotel felt lifeless with all the guests out eating elsewhere.

Our room was big with a great bed, but in desperate need of a re-paint. The walls were full of marks probably from suitcases banging into them.

The bathroom was tight with poor water pressure in the shower which is unacceptable in a 4* hotel.

Overall, this is an ok hotel, but at well over $250 a night it cannot justify the premium over other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: A sea-view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for one week the end of June and beginning of July. It is a beautifully restored old "palace." We loved the common areas, especially the breakfast room. The breakfast was a luxurious experience --a feast to all senses. Beautifully laid out with plentiful of fresh fruits, baked goods, and made to order omelets. It was hard to leave except that the town itself and the remainder of Sicily call out daily. We took day car trips to the North and to the South of Siracusa. The staff offered great advice and beach towels and on our last day before driving to the airport, a care package of goodies for the car ride as we had an early flight and were not able to stay for breakfast. From the hotel we walked nightly to various activities in Ortigia--an art festival in the town square; a puppet show in an open air theatre; a jazz concert in an old castle. During the days, we drove to Catania to visit the fish market; we drove to Caltagirona to look at ceramics; we drove to the southernmost tip of Sicily and on the way saw lemon orchards, vineyards and charming fishing villages. Throughout we consulted the concierge in the hotel before we left in the morning and when we returned they would enquire about our trip--we just felt so welcome and well taken care of--it was definitely a very memorable trip and we plan to return --hopefully soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taormina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this charming boutique hotel. We found the staff extremely friendly and accommodating. They kindly made arrangements for us to reserve an umbrella at a private beach club on the coast which was wonderful. The room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious. Every restaurant recommendation that they gave us was fantastic. Our room faced the street and we didn't hear a thing. We recommend this hotel highly and would certainly return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is very good and the staff very kind, specially Mariangela and Marcelo, two fantastic receptionists who try to solve all your problems, but the hotel must have more people to offer a better service. The breakfast is really good, in my opinion the best in all 3 hotels I stayed in Sicilia. Our room was a suite junior, it wasn't big but the space was enough for three people. It was comfortable but the decor was quite simple and the walls should be painted. For a hotel in a touristic place, everything seemed OK, except for a problem that is absolutely unacceptable, most of the time we had no water in the shower, just a few drops, what made our baths sometimes impossible, sometimes unpleasant. When I complained in the morning, they said that it was a problem from Artigia, only in the morning, but the problem remained for the rest of our stay, sometimes just a little better sometimes exactly the same way. I don't know if this is a problem of the hotel or a specific problem from that room, but what I know is, because of this problem, even with good features, I can't reccomend Algila hotel to my friends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for finding the time to write a review, we appreciated.
We are glad you appreciated our staff service that, they say, is Always available and attentive.
It is difficult to me to understand in what way, if they provided all tour needs as you say, you suggest besides more people to be employed to provide a better service.
Just a detail, our is a 4* star hotel and I guess it was an oversight what you write. maybe you wanted to write "the best in all 5* hotels I stayed in Sicilia"... In fact our clients say so!
As per the water, that was not strong flow but it isn't a "lack of water" ... I apologize: it is a wider problem that involves the town and we are tring to solve in a very short time

Hoping to welcoming you again
Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can happily recommend this charming, boutique hotel. The common areas and rooms are beautifully and tastefully appointed; lots of character throughout the building with furnishings that suit the historic structure, but with modern touches that give you a bit of luxury and pampering. There are little touches throughout that elevate this hotel experience: almonds, juice and water left out by the lounge chairs next to the elevator in the afternoon, a plate of fresh fruit waiting for you in your room, the Bvlgari bath products, an extensive breakfast selection with the option to order items a la carte. The staff truly excels in ensuring a pleasant stay – in addition to making the usual dinner reservations, they also did research for us and provided us a list of recommended hotels for our next destination; they also called a ferry company based out of Anzio that only spoke Italian about trying to get a refund for tickets we had for the following week – really exceptional. A truly beautiful hotel, with beautiful views, located conveniently in the middle of Ortigia. Loved this place. My only complaint is the WiFi--- I always had a difficult time finding the hotel’s WiFi signal regardless of where I was in the hotel. Normally, I wouldn’t mind so much, but the fact that the hotel barely gets any cell phone service reception of any kind, made matters worse. Nonetheless, if you’re coming to Siracusa, stay here – it’s well worth it and a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.