We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel to your Saves list
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Syracuse
Edina, MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Shabby chic, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and Siracusa are what we enjoy about traveling in Europe - the beauty of imperfection, the presence of old things. This hotel had it in spades, old furniture, painted ceilings, unexpected nooks, no two rooms alike, but clean, comfortable and very well located to walk around the island of Ortygia taking in the beautiful baroque buildings, ancient Greek stones and daily Sicilian life. The market minutes away was an absolute delight! The staff were helpful in organizing cars, guides, excursions for us, and as many others have commented, breakfast was good, although the spremuta (fresh squeezed juice) tasted more like succo (the prepackaged stuff).

However, while charming, the public spaces could use refreshing - the carpets (while we appreciate their antiquity) were on the point of ratty - and for the price, one would expect more than one pillow per head and better bathroom fixtures. Still, would recommend this hotel, in a stunning, overlooked by tourists city that seems to be short on great hotels.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    178
    44
    8
    1
See reviews for
148
522
23
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Coming off the extraordinary experience we'd just had in Taormina (staying at the beautiful Villa Carlotta), I have to admit that the Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel was a bit of a letdown. I was expecting a chic, designerly hotel that would be pretty close to what we'd just experienced, but by comparison the Charme Hotel is a little on the plain and dowdy side. Don't get me wrong, it's clean and comfortable, but the decor is just a touch dreary. Our room (a Classic Sea View) was small and just lacked pizzazz. The furniture seemed a little worn and tattered, as though it had seen better days...which, come to think of it, could also describe Syracuse. But on the plus side, the hotel is in a great location (right by the water), has a very friendly and helpful staff who seem more than happy to provide guidance on exploring Syracuse or recommend restaurants, and offers a pretty decent breakfast selection (although you should be prepared to wait 20 minutes or more if you order anything extra, like poached eggs, from the kitchen). This is a perfectly fine hotel; there's just not anything particularly outstanding about it. I think my expectations might have been too high after reading all of the glowing reviews on this site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you for finding the time to live a review.
We are conscious we are not able to meet everyone's expectations, but I think there was a misunderstanding at the very beginning: we are not a boutique hotel as you expected but a "charme" hotel. Forniture, tiles, carpets as well as the building itself are antique but not old. It is very well described in brochures, description, presentation of the hotel and in our web site as well. Customers are free to decide if this style fits or not everyone's taste.
Wishing you pleasant continuation

Warmest regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The hotel was in an incredible location and was a perfect base for us to explore the surrounding area. We wanted somewhere that was within walking distance of lots of nice restaurants so that we didn't need to drive and we were very pleased. The staff were very friendly and helpful (especially Marcello who helped with tips of places to eat and things to do), the room was very comfortable and charming and the breakfasts were a highlight. We would definitely come back here and have already recommended it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your enthusiastic words.
We are still working for getting the full score from our customer and it will be very helpfull to know if something was not as you expected....
Looking forward to welcoming you here gain
Warmest regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in October 2012 and we cannot say enough good things about it. Excellent location, next to a small harbor, charming rooms, and within easy walking distance to a great outdoor market. Marcello, the manager, went beyond the call of duty to help with sightseeing and eating places tips which added to our pleasurable stay. I recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: Talk to Marcello
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sirs,
I do not have enough words to thank you for being so kind
The staff and me are happy you enjoyed yor stay, and we really are looking forward to meeting you again

Mariella Taranto
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We only stayed one night at Algila, that was a mistake. We should have stayed 2 nights in Siricusa. This hotel is perfectly located, quiet, on the Sea and near everything. The staff was very helpful. Their restaurant is a little gem. Probably one of the best omelets we had. Great breakfasts. The sea vew junior suite was small for a suite. I expected a larger room. But for one night it worked just fine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was not our first choice but what a great hotel and turned out better than our first choice were we stayed in 2011 and I would therefore highly recommend it. The staff are not only professional but really charming as well. The breakfast is exceptional. We had a junior suite which was a bit dark but there are only a few rooms with a sea view. I would therefore recommend to book early

Room Tip: Book early for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights at the start of June and in general, liked the hotel. The situation is good for exploring on foot and the staff were cheerful and helpful. A couple of things , however, marred our visit.
We stayed in room 304 which was as advertised and nicely decorated. However, the plumbing of the very smart shower did not seem to be up to spec .Indeed one evening there was no water at all for about an hour. The plumber visited and fixed whatever the problem was. Nevertheless my suspicion is that the water availability and pressure is an issue.
The other problem was we requested the hotel to book a couple of restaurants for us. This proved to be a little problematical as one was not booked and another booked but we were not informed! The only other potential pitfall is parking. The hotel has two spots allocated and if they are taken it can be tricky particularly in the height of the season. A nice hotel - not a great hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Sear Sirs,
thank you for finding the time to leave us your comments.
We are really sorry for the inconvenient with the water that, on the other hand, as you say, was fixed in a very short time. Staff is always willig to give suggestions and offer the best solution for customer's needs such as parking outside or also in a private garage nearby.

Hoping to welcome you here again
Best Regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.