We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel to your Saves list
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Syracuse
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent three weeks in Italy in December 2012, and this was the most wonderful hotel of the entire trip. Not only is it beautifully decorated, the breakfasts were delicious. The location is perfect, as well. But best of all, the man at the front desk (I wish I knew his name) made a suggestion that changed our trip. We had been taking buses throughout Sicily, and he suggested we use a taxi for our trip to Taormina. The cost was within our budget, so we did it! Rather than spend several hours on the bus -- including changing buses (harrowing for us because we never knew what we were doing and we always ended up scurrying) -- we were there in an hour. We did the same thing from Taormina to Messina. It's amazing how a gentle suggestion can make such a difference. This is, indeed, a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Suzy,

how nice to receive your appreciations.
Our mission is always to satisfy our guests' needs even giving them the right suggestion.
Do not miss to visit us again this year and be quick to book: you will find nice surprices with rates if you book in advance!

Looking forward to meeting you soon

Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    181
    44
    8
    1
See reviews for
148
525
23
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st thomas, vi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were so happy to stay at the Algila Charme Hotel in Ortigia, Sicily over Christmas 2012. The staff is wonderful, helpful, generous with their information and time, great service, comfortable rooms, beds were great. The location is terrific with walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. The staff made many good recommendations for restaurants also. Trattoria Maturua for Christmas Eve was stellar and a 5-7 minutes walk up the street. The breakfast at the hotel was among the best. Order eggs and they arrive perfect and freshly made.
Loved everything an would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your kind words and thank you for giving us the pleasure to be our guest.
For the next time you will came here, I invite you to try our restaurant at least once, I am sure you won't be disappointed. We can offer tipical sicilian dishes but also a wide range of biological and vegetarian selections ( even wines! ) ... starting from breakfast to dinner...
Hoping tro welcoming you gain
Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Algila Ortiegia Charme was one of the most convenient and pleasant hotels we stayed at during our Italian holiday. We found it clean and professional and well located for all the attractions and restaurants of Ortiegia, and we were pleasantly surprised to find free overnight parking directly in front of the hotel door.
Breakfast was excellent, with a combination of a continental buffet and a cooked meal, served with reasonable coffee.
A couple of small negatives: our room was smaller than others we'd stayed in, with limited space to store clothes or travel bags; and although the service was impeccably professional, it was a bit impersonal compared to our experiences at other hotels in this beautiful country.
Overall, we were pleased with our stay. Will we return? Absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Peter,
Thank you for your kind words , they are always welcome.
Our mission is precisely to make pleasant the stay of our customers and we are pleased to do so.
For your next stay (which I hope very near) I would like to let you know that the hotel offers superior rooms, more spacious than those of the standard type. They have a living room equipped with cabinets and other accessories. Booking well in advance can also take advantage of an affordable rate and choose the most beautiful room. There are interesting special offers for our " special" customers

With the hope to see you soon
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. Ortigia (the island part of Syracuse) is a great place to stay - you can walk to lots of good restarurants easily and there is a LOT of history and beautiful buildings to see. The hotel is a very skillful conversion of 3 buildings and we had a comfortable room which was immaculately clean, had a balcony with a view of the sea, great bathroom and everything worked well. We'd booked bed and breakfast tariff, and the breakfast is fantastic - not like the miserable and expensive efforts of big chain hotels! Freshly squeezed orange juice, lovely Italian coffee, eggs with whatever, fresh fruit, lots of different cake... yum.

The staff were impressively knowledgeable and friendly, Marcello, Magdalena, Sabrina at reception, and went out of their way to help us out.

What I particularly like, as someone who has done too much business travel, is that they don't charge silly prices for things like wi-fi (which is free) or coffee or whatever. Instead they loan you bicycles to tootle around town and will put together a fantastic plate of antipasti plus salad and desert if you turn up after the restaurant is closed, and give you 2 ginormous glasses of prosecco at a very reasonable price :-)

Absolutely loved the place and would like to go back with our daughters. And, October turned out to be a very good time to visit, with good weather and not too many tourists :-)

Room Tip: the rooms are very individual, all the ones we peeped into looked good. The suite with terrace on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear John,
thank you on behalf of all the staff appointed (but also that you had no way of knowing) for the sincere words that gratify us very much.
Yes, I am waiting with you, your ​​daughters and family: we have structured an interesting policy for families and offer an opportunity for children to share the room with parents and ... the supplement is free!
In addition, if you book in advance, will also see a nice convenience promotion and rate.
We are very keen to improve our services.

I hope to welcome you again in Algilà
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We really liked this hotel, it ticked all the boxes. The staff were charming, the room was lovely if a bit dark (it is an old building, after all), the breakfast was the best of our trip, and the dinner we ate there was also good. Great coffee! And you could just step out into the centre of Ortigia. (The parking is a bit quirky. The hotel's spaces are expensive, but if you do a big loop to the left after passing the hotel you can get back to a carpark opposite, for the price of a tip to the freelance "guard". There is quite a lot of parking a bit further on, too.) Overall, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for expressing your preference.
We hope you will come back again in our hotel.
Do not hesitate to ask for assistance for your car, we have a range of possibilities.
We also implemented an exclusive line of organic products for both breakfast and dinner, including even wines without sulfites.
Our proposals for your leisure time are also, this year, many more.
In the summer months, for example, by purchasing a special package sea, we guarantee free transportation to the most beautiful beaches ...
We wait for you soon
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel, like its staff, is charming. It's a refreshing change from large soul-less hotels where every room is the same. We stayed in a standard classic room and it was plenty big enough. There were no drawers to keep clothes in but there were shelves in the wardrobe for this purpose. An excellent breakfast, complimentary soft drinks provided in the mini-bar on arrival and happy hour in the bar every evening all made us feel well looked after. Highly recommended to people looking to stay in an characterful well- located hotel in Ortigia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you plan holidays in Syracuse, you should really go in Algilà Ortigia Charm Hotel because...
... the place is beautiful
... it is well located
... the staff is really nice
... breakfasts are great
... bicycles are available for guests
We really enjoyed our stay there! And we're sure you will too!!
Arnaud and Geraldine

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.