We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plusses and minuses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ArtePalermo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added ArtePalermo to your Saves list
ArtePalermo
Vicolo Madonna del Cassaro 7, last floor, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 319 Palermo B&B and Inns
Europe
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“plusses and minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

I spent one night here and paid 50 EUR for a double room. There are some good things and some bad things about this place- it is up to you to decide whether it suits your needs.

Positives:
- one of the cheapest places in Palermo for a double room (I could not find anything for the same price)
- located centrally, walking distance to most sights.
- friendly owner, homely atmosphere, like staying with friends
- quite cute- nice art on the wall, nice rooftop terrace
- access to a kitchen

Negatives:
- it is like staying with friends- no privacy. Our only window had access to a shared balcony so we had to close the curtain and sit in the dark for privacy. The roof top terrace is cute as a button but is very small so if somebody else is there talking you can't read quietly.
- noisy. we couldn't take a nap because new guests arrived and the friendly host delighted in entertaining them for an hour in the shared living room- the walls are paper thin.
- 1 shared bathroom for 5 people- which means waiting in the morning to take your turn

Overall this is great if you like a personable, cheap place to stay in downtown Palermo. It is less great if you also appreciate some privacy, quiet time and like not having to wait before you use the bathroom.

Some other remarks- the apartment is on the 5th floor and this being an old building there is no lift of course. No problem for me but might be an issue for some.
you can help yourself to breakfast- make your own coffee (nescafe) and a croissant from a pacakge. but to be honest why would you when for less than 2 EUR you can have real coffee with a fresh croissant in any Italian bar? much better and more fun.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
24
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

We have just returned from a very comfortable three night stay at the ArtePalermo B&B in Sicily where we received a warm welcome despite our late arrival due to a toronto snowstorm.
The very central location in an ancient Sicilian roadway (complete with a street corner shrine) is within easy walking distance from the city's historic monuments. squares, markets and parks, Our room included shuttered windows and a balcony with romantic views that over-looked a typical, old Sicilian streetscape and it's neighbouring houses.
Original art by the hostess, antique stone and tile-work, the rustic kitchen setting and the charming rooftop patio-garden combine to provide a sense of really experiencing life in this traditional and historic city.
The hostess is a fun and easy going young woman who speaks many languages and cheerfully provides excellent details and suggestions (as well as useful maps and guidebooks) of what to do and see during your visit.
The beds and bath are comfortable and efficient and the rooms are much more spacious than one oftens finds in a B&B.
Note there is a walk-up to reach this interesting and welcoming B&B but for us both, at 58 years old and not 'active', it presented no problems.
bill and joanne toronto --

  • Liked — uniqueness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

We are a young couple who wanted to explore the real face of Palermo and searched for a clean accommodation for reasonable price.
The advantage with Artepalermo was that it not only fulfilled the last 2 characteristics but also the first one. Here you live as the real people in Palermo live - you have to walk up to the 5th floor, the building is neither new nor renovated, the kitchen is no Ikea-type kitchen you've seen so many of. On the other side, you can see and hear one or real Palermitan streets from your window, enjoy real Palermitan sun on a terrace and you learn that the little dirty streets in Palermo are not dangerous.
The room and bathroom are clean and neat - which is the most important for us. What we appreciated was information about places to see from the owner and her answers to all our questions related to life in Palermo. If you're not too picky, you will definitely like it.

  • Liked — terrace
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

This is a charming place in the heart of Palermo - a typical appartment house in a shady alley. The owner is friendly and has a lot of recommendations at hand. She herself is an artist which can be seen all around the place.

The guest rooms are located on the top floor and offer plenty of space, kitchen and bathroom are shared, but nice and fully equipped. There is a beautiful roof terrace to use for breakfast or self prepared meals.
This place is suitable for independent travellers on a budget who enjoy a simple accomodation in private atmosphere over a costly luxury package in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

If you want to get to know the real Palermo, then stay at the B&B/Apartment Arteparlermo. My friend and I had an excellent week in the apartment in March 2008 and felt quite at home! The house is located in an neighbourhood with small alleys with balconies decorated with laundry, between the squares and churches. After passing the narrow alley and the somewhat worn entry (with lots of outdoor electric wiring), we entered enter a simple, but clean and elegant apartment fulfilling all our basic needs. Host Marjolein Wortmann welcomed us hospitably – a Dutch woman speaking surprisingly many languages. She told us a lot about the ins-and-outs of Palermo.
The house is close to the well-known Vucciria market with fresh produces – we chose to buy our breakfast there. In brief a lovely place with good price-quality ratio – wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Liked — the setting and the service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

We loved our stay (for the second time) at Marjolein's lovely place in the middle of Palermo. The owner Marjolein is friendly and will help you find your way in Palermo. The house is great, and gives you a real Mediterranean feeling (white walls). And the roof terrace is superb. Although you share the house with the owner this is not a problem you really feel at home. There are no silly rules whatsoever. It is so much nicer than staying in a regular hotel or hostal.

  • Liked — Roof location in the middle of a city
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

ArtePalermo is a miraculous find! Dutch artist Marjolein is an incredible woman!! She runs this cheap, cosy and very welcoming B&B, she is a fantatstic painter (evidence of her colourful, vibrant art on most walls!) and she will sit down with you for as long as it takes and tell you where to go and what to see, hunched over a map. She's got a great partner who runs a fanastic and cheap Tunisian restaurant down town, and in her stylish but minimalistic B&B she can accomodate singles, pairs or groups happily and easily. I had the best time at ArtePalermo: refreshing, invigorating, splendid! By the way, there's a roof terrace which you find via secret stairs in the kitchen and its just the most relaxing place in Palermo! (Listening her talk to other guests, it would seem she speaks most European languages to boot!)

  • Liked — The arty but unpretentious atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ArtePalermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ArtePalermo

Address: Vicolo Madonna del Cassaro 7, last floor, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your ArtePalermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ArtePalermo Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ArtePalermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.