We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ariston to your Saves list
Hotel Ariston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mariano Stabile 139, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Politeama)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great value, central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Cheap and cheerful. The owner is charming. The room was basic but clean and the breakfast was also very good. We were able to find parking on the street opposite at €1/hour, but apparently the hotel has some available too. The hotel is centrally located.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed there during April 2014. Good location, very very very clean! Definitely recommend it! Incredible good ratio quality/price! They also offer snack and drinks to welcome guests, really appreciated!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is an excellent all-round hotel and a fine value at 55 euro a night for a double. It's about 1/2 hour or so walk from the train station, centrally located to the historical center of Palermo. The hotel was very comfortable and clean with free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was included in the price and was a cappuccino and some pastries. The hotel provided free espresso in the room along with a mini-bar where everything was free (drinks and fruit). This was a classy gesture and actually helped us quite a bit since we arrived after the nearby grocery store closed. We stayed three nights and would be happy to return to this great hotel in the fascinating city of Palermo!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel was easy to find from the main square in central Palermo. It is on the sixth floor of a building and is served by a lift. Our room was comfortable and spotless with tea/coffee making facilities, and an added bonus of snacks and soft drinks in the fridge, which were complimentary. Breakfast was continental style of freshly baked rolls, croissants etc. The hotel owner was very helpful and courteous, and we were sorry to be only staying one night.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and it certainly was and indeed had a very good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a bit late, but I have been meaning to write a review and now I have. Our week here was a great family break and we found the hotel to be fine, our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet, good A/C and a simple croissant and coffee meal in the morning. A stocked fridge was welcome, full of water and yogurt with biscuits and coffee machine too. Very friendly, happy owner and a simple but clean place run very well. Would stay again as it's a real bargain find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel is an easy walk from the bus stop in Palermo served by the coach from the Airport. Our room was immaculately clean and the hotel owner - Giuseppe - is outstandingly thoughtful, courteous and kind; he is a real credit to his native city and he answered our many questions willingly and always with a smile - he simply could not have been more helpful! The hotel is excellent value and ideally placed for all the amazing sights to be seen in Palermo as well as bus services to allow the exploration of further fields - Monreal cathedral is especially impressive. The simple breakfast, at no extra charge, is an additional - and much appreciated - benefit. The room facilities are fine with air conditioning, a coffee maker and a small refrigerator stocked to provide snacks free of charge. We very much hope to return and would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone - especially those with a sensible limit to their budget.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street below - albeit from the 6th floor. We were not too disturbed by nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 days at Hotel Ariston, located on the sixth floor of a building. Its great location meant it was easy to walk around the whole town. The coffee maker and snacks in the room (included in the price) were a bonus, and much appreciated at the end of a long day, as well as early in the morning before breakfast time. Giuseppe was very knowledgable with both directions and bus information.

The room itself was functional although a little chilly, even with the air conditioner working. Mats on the floor would have helped this. As well, the pillows were very hard, which did not result in a good night's sleep.

HINTS: Eat at the pizza shop just down the street - great food and great prices. Do not catch a taxi into town from the airport. Hugely expensive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 139, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#14 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ariston 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ariston Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ariston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.