We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verdi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Verdi to your Saves list
Hotel Verdi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maqueda 417, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Verdi for 2 nights in a spacious room for 3 people. The room had a balcony facing the beautiful Teatro Massimo. The hotel is perfectly situated for access to restaurants and bars and you can easily walk to the nearby Poletiama bus stops to the airport, sightseeing tour, and Mondello Beach. The room was very clean and we didn't find it too noisy even though our room faced onto the main street, although we stayed midweek and it may be more noisy on the weekends judging by what other reviewers have said. The proprietress was friendly and kind but has no English, though this was not an issues for us. I would certainly recommend Hotel Verdi and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
24
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money, we stayed their for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago, the hotel is in an excellent location close to shops, restaurants, cafes, bars etc. to be honest we were not sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised, The rooms are clean and have plenty of room ok the bathrooms may need a revamp but dont let this put you off. Each room had a balcony overlooking the main street, I believe other people has said it is noisy, this noise is shut out by the shutters and doors and you have air con. Manager really helpful and polite, rooms cleaned daily with new towels and sheets. WELL WORTH A VISIT.

Room Tip: Our rooms both had balconies so ask ( though think all rooms have them )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room that I had was quite small but it's enough. It has very good location, is closed to the four corners. And it's about 10-15 minutes walk from the train station. I did not find it noisy, maybe the room was facing the back instead of the main street, It's very very clean. Breakfast includes croissants, yoghurt, fruit and coffee/tea. It's quite filling. The price is very attractive for its location and its cleaniness. The staff is very friendly and honest. I left my mobile in the eating counter and they immediately gave it back to me when they found out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Positive :

- Right in the city centre /near teatro massimo and shopping street
- Room is OK - small but OK with AC
- Guy very hospitable - I am intolerant to dairy products and he did his best for me to enjoy my breakfast - providing additional fruits/bread/honey/ham etc.

Negative :
- You have to climb a certain number of stairs to get to the reception - no lift - no help for your luggage - That's not a good start !
- You have the impression to sleep in the middle of a motorway (noisy traffic on avenue also during the night)
- Noisy inside the hotel as well as the breakfast room is very near the rooms...so don't expect to sleep in the morning as people will start eating (and talking) at 7 am
- Breakfast is served until 9h15 only...even on a Sunday
- Check out is at 10.00 am which is very early (usually 11h or 12h)
- The lady is not welcoming at all : not properly dressed, not behaving as the owner, no smile, she has been wearing the same t-shirt for 2 days - and her smell was really awful. She opened the door of our room and showed us the AC - Her terrific smell stayed in our room !!!

The main negative point is the noise.
I woulnd't stay there anymore even if the price is very attractive and the location more than OK.
I am sure there are better options in Palermo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed there two times -- a week in 2008 and another week in 2011. 14 Days and repeat patronage should mean something. I had a corner room off Via Maqueda and a side street. I loved the comfortable bed and the oil painting of my room. The bathroom was clean and nice -- one thing the shower was clogged, but it was fixed the second time I was there. I warn you -- noise could become unbearable in the midnight hours of Saturdays and Fridays -- but well, you would be at Via Maqueda and the location is really really central (opposite to Theater Massimo where Sofia Coppola got shot). The climax of Godfather III. Perhaps starts your evenings with aperitif, savor local vino with great foods and ends each meal with grappas and limoncellos would make you forget about the noise.

As an aside, I love Palermo and Sicily, my favorite city and region across Italy. Take Palermo, the BEST foods (The best Medieval Food Markets -- Il Capo, La Vucciria or Borgo Vecchio -- and open-air sort-of-BBQ place "Da Jolly of Angelo Presti") , the BEST bar (at Market Ballaro), the WARMEST people (so Many Many), the BEST Churches and Chapels (The Palatine Chapel and Monreale Cathedral and to a lesser extent but still memorable Grotta di Santa Rosalia/ St. Rosalia's cave). I picked here for daytrips to Cefalù and Bagheria/Baarìa -- Lovely -- and even as far as Agrigento -- Doable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great value in a decent location. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. For 60euros a room, you really can't fault this hotel. All rooms have balconies and large bathrooms as far as I can make out. Palermo itself was slightly disappointing but this hotel was a major positive

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Address: Via Maqueda 417, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Verdi 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Budget Places and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Palermo
Hotel Verdi Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.