We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely charming loft style apartment in the heart of Palermo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalsuite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palermo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalsuite
Save
You added Kalsuite to your Saves list
Via Vetriera, 41, 90100 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 319 Palermo B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely charming loft style apartment in the heart of Palermo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed in this wonderful apartment for 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is very centrally located and most sights are within walking distance. There are many nice restaurants in the area and the famous Gelateria Ilardo is so close that you can pop around for an icecream whenever you get the urge.

The apartment itsself is very romantic and cosy. The two balconies offer a stunning view over the historic centre on one side and a bit of the sea on the other. Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Kalsuite is the ideal residence from which to explore and appreciate Palermo. It is a less than five minute walk from the beautiful Piazza Marina, which has many conveniences including a grocery store and several restaurants, and is a good landmark for getting around the rest of the city. There is always something open on the piazza, and on Sundays there is an interesting flea market.

The owner of the apartment, Gabriele, is a knowledgeable Palermo native and the epitome of a great host. He made it a point to go over maps with us to familiarize us with the area, and also gives great restaurant recommendations. We ate at all three places he mentioned, and they were all incredible dining experiences, wonderful local places you wouldn't necessarily find even on TripAdvisor. He was even kind enough to buy us an after dinner drink when we all ended up eating at the same restaurant one evening (Grazie, Gabriele!).

The apartment's balconies provide unbeatable views of the city and surrounding mountains and sea, and the neighborhood is a fun and comfortable place to call home. Even the small street where the apartment is located has a few restaurants and a nice, modern bar. By the second night we visited the bar we were already made to feel like regulars, even with our limited Italian vocabulary. The little coffee place around the corner is also run by extremely courteous people. They serve great coffee and pastries for breakfast, and appeared to have quite a nice spread for lunch as well.

The apartment itself is gorgeous, well-maintained, classy, and just perfect in every way. The kitchen and dining area are more than adequate, and the washing machine is a big plus. The bed is comfortable, and clean towels are abundant. Gabriele is amazingly helpful and always available for questions and concerns. For the ultimate stress-free Palermo experience, look no further than Kalsuite.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Kalsuite from 24-28 November and had a fabulous time. I didn't think I'd like Palermo, but I was wrong! It's a fascinating city and easy to walk to most of the main sites. Gabriele was the perfect host. He met me at the train station and arranged for a driver to pick up my partner as she was arriving at the airport late. We were glad we'd done this since her flight was 3 hours late, putting her in around midnight. The Kalsa neighborhood is undergoing a lot of renovation so the building across the street from the apartment is being rebult. In another year, it'll be a whole different view. The construction wasn't a bother though as we were out during the days. A lot of the guidebooks still refer to this area as being unsafe, but we didn't feel any concern about walking around day or night. Gabriele took us on a walking tour of the local area one day and we really enjoyed that. He's a wealth of information and pointed out things we would have missed. We also went to several of his restaurant recommendations and enjoyed them all. The pizzeria Pelle d'Oca has take-out items which was great too. The cold and rain kept us from spending much time on the terraces, but it was fun to have such a good view. One night we wanted to build a fire, but there was no kindling, only several large logs. Not to worry..if you ever need kindling, Palermo is the place to find it! All of the open air markets throw their wooden crates away at the end of the day. We carried home 3 or 4 of those, broke them apart and, voila, a blazing fire in no time! We hope to go back to Palermo some time and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This place has everything you need to base yourselves in the colourful city of Palermo. Great location in the heart of the old town.

Markets, great restaurants and night life are just a cobbled alley away.

And Gabriele is the most helpful host you could hope for. Stay here before you stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Few words to say about our Kalsuite's holiday: romantic, cosy, kind (Gabriel is a wonderful and patience host) and sunny! The penthouse is modern but also antique (look the terrace, furniture and bathroom - it looks arabic). From there is easy to do a walking in the center. Great deal!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed at the Kalsuite for three nights - the apartment makes you feel that you're a local (if only for a few days!) The locals all say hello and it is well located to walk to the sites in the old town (cathedral, numerous churches, palatine chapel etc) as well as shops and street markets. Two restaurants and a friendly 'lounge' bar (for aperitifs and nibbles) within three minutes walk, more restaurants a bit further away. The apartment has two terraces, one at the back and one at the front so you can choose which of the great views to sit and watch. The kitchen is compact and basic but more than adequately equipped for making dinner - we bought swordfish steaks from a local market cooked them and then ate them on the fantastic terrace. The master bedtroom is on a mezzanine and does get hot but has an effective air conditioning unit. We found the local area fascinating (and totally safe) to walk around day or night. Gabrielle the owner does everything possible to help, from booking to departure. He arranged for a driver to collect us from the airport and the driver waited for us despite a two hour delay to our flight. When we got to the apartment past 10 o'clock Gabrielle was waiting to greet us and spent time letting us know about the local area, restaurants etc despite our late arrival. On departure we were worried about finding a taxi to take us to the ferry port (there dont seem to be many taxis circulating the city) When we rang Gabrielle to see if he had the number of a local taxi firm he immedaiately offered to come and collect us and take us to the port in his lunch hour!. The apartment is in an area that was severely bomb damaged and is now slowly being rebuilt to provide lovely living spaces in keeping with the old quarter. This does mean that you will hear some building work going on during the day- but we found it quite fascinating to watch the work in progress. We felt the apartment was great value compared with staying in a B&B, and with extra space and flexibility to self cater if you want to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Kalsuite has been a perfect location to discover Palermo. Kalsa district was the best choice to visit that old town.The apartament was very well appointed and views around were outstanding. A very good and high level restaurant right round the corner.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalsuite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalsuite

Address: Via Vetriera, 41, 90100 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-level penthouse in the city center with great views all over the old Palermo. Marble bathroom and fireplace, equipped kitchen and many other facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalsuite Hotel Palermo
Kalsuite Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalsuite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.