We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nicolo Gallo 2, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

First place we visited on our honeymoon in Sicily is Palermo, and we stayed at the Hotel Plaza Opera. The staff here was great and very helpful with information on where to eat and what to see. Room itself was modern in an Ikea-esque way, and everything was in good condition. My wife loved the fact the hotel included the bubble bath and bath salt, but when she did use it the stopper wasn't working properly and the water kept draining. Easy fix, but we didn't call it in.

The staff at the breakfast buffet was great, specially the older gentleman who is the head personnel there? Very courteous and nice, pleasant to talk to. Breakfast was the same items, which I didn't mind at all as it was quite good, but my wife wished there were some variety.

Location...great location. Just a block off the main shopping street, a couple of blocks away from the old district...all within walking distance. Loved that they closed off the main street on Sunday for pedestrians, not sure if it was only for that Sunday we were there or if they did this all the time.

Lots of good restaurants close by, though we were disappointed that a pizza restaurant we ordered a take-out one night was closed for lunch. But we found a good substitute nearby called Bondi or Biondi...nice steak and sea bass!

We would definitely stay at the Plaza Opera again should we return to Palermo...the ambiance and location is well worth coming back for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really happy to read that we contributed with starting your honeymoon in the best way possible!
Thank you for highlighting the friendliness and knowledgeability of our staff, the fabulous hotel location, surrounded by very good restaurants, nice shops, and just off via della Libertà, which is closed for pedestrians every Sunday, and the elegant hotel and room ambience.
We are very happy you enjoyed the unique design room décor and all the features in your room, though we are sorry you did not request an intervention from our maintenance staff, who would have been happy to solve any issue with your bathtub. We are also delighted to read that you loved our breakfast service and products, and appreciate your feedback on buffet variety, as this is one of the areas where we continuously look for 100% guest satisfaction.
We really hope you enjoyed your honeymoon in Palermo and in Sicily, and that you wish to come back and visit again one day – we will be absolutely delighted to welcome you back again at Hotel Plaza Opéra!
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    117
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
122
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very good, central location for visitors. Modern, almost 'minimalist look'. Good breakfast with ample choices.
Reception staff helpful but no substitute for a true concierge. OK for maps, directions but not for restaurant recommendations, reservations to the opera and other services offered by more 'complete' front desks/concierge capability.
Room was adequate in size; good comfortable bathroom; sufficient storage (closet) space.

Room Tip: Stayed 2 nights and even though it was an outside room, noise was not a factor. Good sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with the other readers of theTripadvisor community. We are very glad that you enjoyed the hotel location, the modern look and the ample choice of products at breakfast, together with its quality. We would also like to thank you for highlighting your enjoyment of the room and its comfortable spaces.
I would also like to thank you for sharing your opinion on the concierge service provided by our front desk staff, which I must admit quite surprises me: as a matter of fact our staff does provide all the services you named in your review, and namely provides restaurant recommendations and bookings, arrangement of excursions, private tours and guided visits, opera and theatre reservations – there is no dedicated concierge staff, but our front desk does provide complete concierge services 24/7, upon request. I am sorry if you had the impression such services were not provided, or if one member of staff failed to meet the property standards. I would appreciate, if you can, if you could contact us by email at giulia.briguglia@thehotelsphere.com, and give us further reference on this issue.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you again as our guests in the future on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia,
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had problems with the reception which didn't speak english and the communication was rather difficult and not at all professional and there was a misunderstanding on the price of the room.In general no value for money.Rooms are ok but not worth the cost. Breakfast was in a small room in the basement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very sorry to read that your stay did not match your expectations.
Our management and all our staff really strive with all their best efforts to always make every guest stay perfect and unforgettable. This was unfortunately not at all the case with your recent stay, and we would kindly ask you to contact me via email at giulia.briguglia@thehotelsphere.com in order to gain a better understanding on your front desk experience.
As to the general price-quality ratio, we may say that the general viewpoint of our clientele differs from your personal experience, which is by the way undeniable and unique, and that many travellers find the boutique design atmosphere of our property, including our rooms and the breakfast room in the -1 floor, quite lovely. Obviously the opinion of the look and feel of each property is absolutely individual and therefore we thank you for reporting your dissatisfaction with the overall feeling and atmosphere.
We would love to have the occasion of having you again as our guest on the occasion of a next stay in Palermo and let you feel that each comment we receive is thoroughly considered and contributes to the continuous improvement of our standards and services.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a pretty nice, typical European hotel in a convenient location to downtown. The bathroom was nice and modern, the room was smaller than most pictured in the reviews here and it makes me think we got an older room in the hotel which might not have been upgraded. The bed was typical European, pretty thin and firm, and not my ideal bed (but exactly what you find everywhere in Europe). The room was somewhat clean, although there was some mold and discoloration in the bathroom because the shower tends to spray everywhere.

Room Tip: Upgrading might be worth it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review on your recent stay at our property and for sharing your overall positive experience.
We are happy you enjoyed the hotel location and wish to give you some feedback on some notes underlined in your review – in particular, I wish to ensure that every type of upgrade that has been carried out in the property has always involved all rooms, and more over their structure in terms of room size has never changed. There are no “older” or “newer” rooms in the property, and while other travellers who reviewed the property may have found that the room size matched their expectations and needs, you had a different experience, so that on the occasion of your next stay, we recommend trying a superior or even deluxe room, which offers larger areas. Moreover, we thank you for highlighting the small shower issues, and wish to ensure that a maintenance work on that is already planned in the coming days.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you again as our guest in the future and wish to send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When this hotel's sister property was unavailable, they recommended this hotel. I took a chance and made a reservation for three nights. I like this area of the city as it is just as alive as the older parts of Palermo, but far less chaotic. It is situated in a fashionable area and, although it may be too far for some, it is within walking distance to the major sights. I found the Reception Staff kind and very attentive, the lobby décor eclectic, and my single room spotless. My only complain was my room did not have even one receptacle to recharge my phone - but the Reception was very gracious in my request to recharge the phone while I was at dinner. It is located very close to the city's two major theaters, the archeological museum (closed) and two of my favorite trattorias. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely thank you for your excellent review and for awarding your stay a full five points – it made us very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We were very glad to read that you found the hotel location very comfortable and pleasant, the staff very attentive and that you appreciated a lot the overall décor and atmosphere, and the cleanliness of your room. With a view to your note on the absence of receptacles in your room, we just wish to highlight, for your next stay, that each room has one located close to the desk area. We thank you for the enthusiastic review and look forward to having you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
Giulia Briguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had two nights in Palermo, and moved here after one night in a Top Brand more expensive hotel that didn't live up to my expectation. I was met by Germana at reception, with a truly genuine welcome:she is passionate about the hotel and Palermo, truly a gem. The hotel is great value, spotlessly clean, compact but comfortable bedroom with every amenity you would wish for. Lovely Ortigia brand toiletries...a nice touch. Great location, just round from the Red Bus Tour stop, and close to many restaurants and shops in a safe environment. Airport shuttle bus stop is close by. Breakfast was good with great staff again, eager to please. I would rate this as a value "boutique feel" hotel and would definitely stay here again. All staff pleasant and helpful! They really make this hotel stand out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely, enthusiastic review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in all its aspects, from the warm welcome you were given by our staff to the comfort and amenities of your room! We are also very glad that you enjoyed the hotel location, with great shopping and dining options and easy links, and our breakfast service!
We would sincerely like to thank you on behalf of all our staff members for your great review which really made everybody proud of their work.
We hope to have you soon again as our guest and in the meanwhile send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel room very very small, either claustrophobic, there is no place for second chair and table in the room. Breakfast should be improved and varied.
Partly compensated with central location and Helpful stuff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you for highlighting the hotel central location and attentive staff. As the breakfast service, based on a extensive choice of sweet and savory produce, with fresh and local delicatessen, we would also like to ask you whether you could contact us at customer.relations@hotelplazaopera.com, in order to give us some further details on how breakfast could be improved. Moreover, on the occasion of your next stay we recommend that you choose one of our superior category rooms, which would probably fit your needs better than the standard ones, which are nevertheless in line with hospitality standards.
We look forward to hearing from you and to have you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Opera

Address: Via Nicolo Gallo 2, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Palermo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Palermo
Hotel Plaza Opera Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.