We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nicolo Gallo 2, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is quite modern and situated in close proximity to the city centre and with dozens of restaurants in nearby streets. The room was very clean and modern and provided excellent sleeping opportunity. WIFI is not free which is most dissapointing in this day and age and if we had realised this we probably would have booked elsewhere. The staff on the front desk were obliging. Correspondingly the service in the breakfast area was appalling. On the first morning we went down to breakfast at least an hour before closing and found that the eggs sitting in the warmer were cold. The warmer had been turned off. On the next morning we noticed a sign on each table promoting that you could order eggs of your choice. However upon ordering poached eggs the rude head waiter advised that it would take 10 minutes to heat up the water and it would be better if we had the eggs from the warmer. In our view if you advertise something you should deliver. This is not the first time that the poor attitude of staff in breakfast areas has downgraded our rating of hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra with the other travellers of the Tripadvisor community. We would like to thank you for highlighting your appreciation of our rooms and their comfort, of the surroundings and location of the hotel and of the politeness of our front desk staff.
On the other hand, we would like to express our most sincere apologies for the poor attitude of our breakfast service staff, for the low quality of the eggs served in the warmer and for the lack of personalized service you experienced as to table service. Professional tailored service and excellent product quality are our trademark and we sincerely apologize that you were delivered a breakfast experience which is in no way compliant to our standards. We will take all appropriate actions in order to prevent such events to occur again.
Wifi is at present a fee-paying service but we will submit your remark to our management in order to highlight your experience with this service.
We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to have you again as our guest and let you experience that all the remarks that you shared with us have turned into steps for improvement.
Best regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    124
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
129
12
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is 6 or so blocks north of the edge of the Old City part of Palermo in which most of the city's numerous attractions are located, with a convenient and easy walk to Via Maqueda or Via Vittorio Emanuele. Very close to the hotel is a large shopping area and there are several excellent restaurants within just a few blocks. The hotel was nicely designed and clean, with spacious and comfortable rooms and large and well-equipped bathrooms. The staff was very helpful and friendly, patiently answered all our questions, and gave great advice. This is an outstanding choice for a hotel in Palermo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that really everything, from the hotel location to the room comfort and size, contributed to make yours a great stay - we are also very glad to read that you appreciated the helpful and knowledgeable attitude of our staff.
We look forward to having you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo!
Best regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A very nice city centre hotel in a good safe location near the big shops and theatre. Had a boutique feel with pleasant modern decoration. Large very comfortable bed, good sized room, well equipped bathroom.

Only niggle: the breakfast room downstairs did a fair, if not particularly inspired breakfast - but the noise! Every sentence, chair being pulled back, echoed and when the two rooms were full it was deafening as everything echoed! A carpet would have helped enormously.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra and that everything, from the property location, to room size and comfort, met your expectations.
We appreciate your remark about the echo in the breakfast room and would like to ensure that we will take in the utmost consideration your suggestion as to decorating the room with a carpet so to reduce this effect.
We hope to have you again with us in the near future!
Best regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the Suite and it was lovely,just didnt want to leave. Only down side is my boyfriend went down to get us a drink from the bar at about 8.30 in the evening and they said it was closed?! Other than that cannot fault it!

Room Tip: The Agata Suite is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your enhusiasm about our property and for sharing it with the other readers of the Tripadvisor community - we are delighted you enjoyed our suite so much!
We would also like to apologize that you found our bar closed on one evening of your stay - as a matter of fact, on that occasion our barman had unfortunately felt ill and had to leave without notice.
We hope to have you again soon as our guests on the occasion of your next visit to Palermo!
Best regards

Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is very centrally located, very near on foot to many sights and shopping areas, restaurants and the like, room standard is great, good value for money, breakfast buffet is wonderful and all the staff are courteous, knowledgeable, very friendly so overall a marvellous experience. I would highly recommend this pearl of a hotel in Palermo. Made my stay there unforgettable. Keep it up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra with the other members of the Tripadvisor community. We are really happy you appreciated so much our property, its very convenient location, our room standards, our breakfast service and the skills of our staff, on behalf of which we would like to thank you.
Reading that we made your stay unforgettable is really our greatest reward. Thank you also for highly recommending a stay at our property!
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again as our guest and in the meanwhile would like to send you our best regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just spent a long weekend here, we found the staff very helpful and the hotel, clean warm and friendly.

Not quite in the centre but that is probably a good thing but very handy for the buses both local and the tours.

We would recommedn it.

I have nothing more to say but have to put something in just to make up the word count to the required 200 for tripadviser - why is this?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra.
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel clean and warm and the staff friendly. We are also glad you appreciated the hotel location, which is indeed in the city centre, just off the main city square, piazza Politeama, and a short walk or bus ride from the historical city centre, which you mention in your review.
We really look forward to welcoming you again as a guest at Hotel Plaza Opéra and in the meanwhile would like to send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

booked the Plaza Opera in part based on previous reviews. I was not disappointed. The clean , air conditioned lobby was a welcome retreat from the August heat. Professional and polite staff. My room was a single but a very good size and larger than avessrage single bed. Room was spotless, nicely arranged with a very nice bathroom. Shower was small but perfectly usable. Lovely breakfast each morning with selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereal, yoghurts, lovely fresh fruit salad and brilliant selection of local cakes. Eggs and cooked items available to order at no extra cost. More than enough to set you up for the day.
The hotel was in easy walking distance of all the attractions, but on a quiet street. The airport bus stop was just around the corner. There was also a cool roof top terrace with sun loungers and tables and chairs. Would re book the Plaza Opera if returning to Palermo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
it is really a pleasure for us to read such a positive, detailed review on your stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra.
We are very glad you enjoyed our common areas and facilities such as the rooftop terrace, our rooms and bathrooms, the breakfast service and its excellent choice of products, the hotel location and the politeness of our staff. Your kind words really made us very proud of our work.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again as our guest on the occasion of your next visit to Palermo, and in the meanwhile we would like to send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Opera

Address: Via Nicolo Gallo 2, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Hotel Plaza Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Palermo
Hotel Plaza Opera Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.