We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay to visit Palermo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nicolo Gallo 2, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay to visit Palermo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Perfect location in Palermo, standard rooms are quite small and not ideal for long stays and big luggages but very clean. Traffic can be extremely noisy and if you want to sleep ask for rooms not on main road. Breakfast can be improved, it happened frequently we had to wait or ask for ham or cheese or croissants. Staff was very helpful and kind helping us in any request we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. It is always very important for us to learn the opinion of our guests on our property and services. We are glad you liked the location and the rooms – ideally, we recommend superior or deluxe rooms for very long stays and large quantities of luggage, but at the same time, we feel it is important to highlight that our standard rooms are generally considered very comfortable by travelers. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some waiting at breakfast – at peak hours we always try and prevent unreasonable waiting but your comment will encourage all breakfast staff to improve and be even more efficient in addressing guests requests and replacing products on the buffet. We would like to thank you on behalf of all members of staff about the comments on their kindness and helpfulness – we all put our heart in what we do and it’s important for us to know that you noticed it.
We really look forward to welcoming you again as our guest.
In the meanwhile, we send you our kindest regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    126
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
129
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel was excellent. Except it is pretty hard to find by car. It is within walking distance of most of the Palermo sites. Several good restaurants are very close as well. Parking in the lot across the street is an adventure. Parking and in room Wifi are extra charges. The front desk staff were not friendly at all. I felt like I was a bother to them when checking in or when asking questions about Palermo. The most positive thing about this hotel were the two men that ran the breakfast. They were so friendly and were happy to help me. They remembered that I like cappuccino on my second morning. The food was good too. Thanks guys for brightening my day.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with other travelers of the Tripadvisor community.
We would like to thank you for underlining the hotel’s favorable location and enjoyable neighborhood. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble finding it by car – we are just on the next street to one of the main landmarks in Palermo, and that makes it usually easy to find us. As to the videosurveilled private garage, which is right in front of hotel entrance and perfectly suitable to serve its functions, we do have a car valet service, which could have helped you in case you did not feel comfortable with driving inside the garage.
We are most sorry and would in fact like to apologize for having a bad experience with our Front Desk – if you have a look at previous reviews by travelers, our Front desk staff is always described as helpful, and very keen on providing information and suggestions about the city. All the same, your experience reminds us that even the best service needs improvement sometimes.
We would also like to thank you on behalf of Sergio and Antonio, our two cheerful members of staff from the breakfast service – they really take great efforts in making it possible for every guest to have a great start of the day, and we love to hear that you appreciated them.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Palermo!
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel was recommended to us by friends.Location is excellent,room was very good and exceptionaly clean.Having in mind local traffic the room was quiet as the hotel is in a small street,staff very kind and helpful,breakfast very good,we stayed 7 days and we were able to vary breakfast every day even if it looks limited the first time,we loved fruit especially beautiful juicy local oranges.The selection of italian cheeses is excellent.If you wish you can order eggs or bacon.Coffee is very good and you can order whichever you wish.We just loved their cappucino.
We are going back to Palermo and the main reason for that is Hotel Plaza Opera.

Room Tip: Superior room,high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your excellent review, it made us really proud! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel, its location and quiet surroundings, the cleanliness of rooms and the helpfulness of our staff. We would also like to thank you for describing in such detail our morning breakfast: we take a lot of care in the selection of local, fresh produce, ranging from delicious fruit pies to local cheeses, fresh brewed coffee and cappuccino and a selection of fruit of the season, and we are really glad you enjoyed it so much and appreciated the variety of our selection, for seven days in a row.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that you have decided to come back in the next future! We will look forward to having you again as our guests and exceed your expectations – in the meanwhile, please accept our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We recently made our second visit to the Hotel Plaza Opera in Palermo (the first was in 2006 shortly after it opened.) The service was outstanding from the moment we arrived. The front desk clerk provided the name of a nearby restaurant (Poppof) that proved to be warm and inviting despite the rain and wind prevailing outside. The rooms are very modern and compact with very large bathtub/shower combinations. Linens were crisp and new. Wifi was so good that I could watch a streaming NCAA basketball game in its entirety. My only complaint? Hotels of this caliber should be providing free wifi internet in this day and age ... it is just as essential as hot water, clean sheets and morning breakfast. Euro 15 for 24 hours of internet should be a crime ...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all let us thank you for choosing our property again for your second stay in Palermo! It is such a joy to read that your first, good experience with us was completely reconfirmed on the occasion of your recent stay, and that you found our service outstanding, our facilities and services top class from all viewpoints, and that you also had a perfect concierge recommendation experience with one of our preferred restaurants. We would also like to thank you for your suggestion as to provide free wifi; as a matter of fact, the fee you paid for 24-hour connection (which is 10 euros) is essential for us to be able to provide a flawless, uninterrupted 24-hour connection with perfect speed, and to be able to guarantee speedy repair service is case of defaults. We nevertheless take with great consideration your suggestion and will pass it on to our product management department.
We hope to have you soon again as our guest in Palermo and to be able, on that occasion, to exceed your expectations!
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Recently my husband nd I stayed at your hotel for just one night and regretted that it was not longer. We had a lovely room that was spotless. Moreover, everything worked. We appreciated the well stocked refrigerator. The gentleman on the desk who checked us in also provided us with three restaurant choices for dinner. The one we selected was excellent. We had one of the best meals of our entire stay in Sicily. We also took advantage of the bar and had a drink and a very nice selection of hors d'oeuvres for a modest price. The salon is beautifully furnished.As well, breakfast food selection was excellent and the staff attentive but not intrusive.

Altogether we had a very enjoyable stay and we will stay at the Hotel Plaza Opera should we visit Palermo in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,
It is such a pleasure to read your review! We are very glad you appreciated all the aspects we focus everyday our efforts on, such as the cleanliness and upkeep of our guestrooms, the cordiality and knowledgeability of our staff and the style and ambience of our hotel. We are also very happy you appreciated both our bar and breakfast service. We hope you to come back soon to Palermo to welcome you again at Hotel Plaza Opéra!
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a very well positioned boutique hotel with lots of stylish touches. The staff are excellent and friendly. Germana, at reception, deserves special mention for her excellent advice on restaurants and her help in getting us tickets for Tosca in the Teatro Massimo. Breakfasts were delicious. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Palermo's historic attractions and its upmarket shopping. There are lots of interesting restaurants near the hotel. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
we are really delighted by reading how much you enjoyed your stay in Palermo and at Hotel Plaza Opéra – we are glad you appreciated the hotel location and surroundings, full of restaurants, cultural attractions and shopping opportunities, and that our staff assisted you in getting the most from your visit in a knowledgeable and helpful way. We will be looking forward to your next stay in Palermo and would like to thank you in advance for your preference.
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

立地も評判の良いこのホテルを4ヶ月前から予約していましたが、滞在1週間前になってオーバーブッキングしたのでホテルをかわってくれと言われました。こちらは早くからスケジュールを立てているのにこのような代替の見つけるのが難しい時期にこのように言われ、代替に提案されたホテルは二つとも立地も悪く、価格もプラザオペラと比べて同程度か少し安いホテルを提案されました。仕方がないので自力で他を探してもう少し金額の高い立地のましなホテルに移動しましたが、見つからなかったらどうなっていたかと思うと恐ろしいです。オーバーブッキングも不愉快なことですが、それに対する対応にも誠意が感じられませんでした。全くお勧めできません。

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Google Translation
“このたびはホテルプラザオペラに貴重なご意見をお寄せいただき、誠にありがとうございました。しかしながら、先日は予約システムの不具合からオーバーブッキングという事態に陥り、ご不便とご不快の念をおかけしましたことを深くお詫び申し上げます。前もってご予約いただいておりましたにもかかわらず、大変ご迷惑をおかけいたしました。
代替案といたしましては、まずは私どもからの距離を考え、一番近いホテル(300メートル以内)をご提案させていただきました。次に、ホテルの格としても同クラスの姉妹ホテル(700メートル以内)をご紹介いたしました。距離とサービスにおいて私どもと遜色のないホテルということを念頭に、精一杯お手伝いさせていただいたつもりでしたが、私どもの配慮がいたらず、結果としてご希望に沿うことができずに心苦しい限りでございます。

もし次回お越しいただく機会がありましたら、このたびの出来事を挽回できるよう最善のおもてなしでお迎えし、私どもの本来目指すサービスをご体験いただきたいと願っております。重ねまして、このたびは大変申し訳ございませんでした。”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Opera

Address: Via Nicolo Gallo 2, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Plaza Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Palermo
Hotel Plaza Opera Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.