We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quattro Quarti

Save Saved
You added Quattro Quarti to your Saves list
Quattro Quarti
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quattro Quarti
Corso Vittorio Emanuele 376, 90100 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Palazzo Reale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 294 Palermo B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Charming oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Palermo can hardly be described as a pretty city. Much has been done to improve the seediest areas but many of the streets could do with a good clean. Nice to find this small but charming hotel in the middle of a bustling and busy town.

We caught the train from Milazzo (good trip) and walked from the station - not far but a bit tricky to find. Once inside you are cocooned in a very stylish B&B. Outside, you are in easy walking distance of the main sights. Whilst not renowned as a tourist city, there is plenty to see ranging from street markets to musems and churches. Make sure you check on opening hours. We found the main museum shut for lunch when we tried to visit.

The rooms are individually decorated with old world charm but don't expect a view from the window. Our room had a bath that we enjoyed after a day travelling. Breakfast is served communally at the large dining table. The staff are helpful in a quiet sort of way. We mixed up our dates and realised we only had one night although we had booked for two. No problem and no cancellation fee for the second night. We wished we had more time to enjoy this B&B and the interesting city.

Be aware that the staff are not always on site and you may have difficulty contacting them by phone. Plan ahead and let them know your movements. We had a bit of a mix up regarding the taxi to the airport but got there in the end. There were very few taxis in the street outside.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, B.C.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Great location in Palermo - walking distance to many of the great sights. Albert (Elvis) made our stay very enjoyable - he did a very good job and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast buffet was good - typical Italian - rooms were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed two nights in this lovely little B&B and found it perfect for our needs. It was clean and beautiful, in an amazing old building, was central to all of the major attractions in the region and had lovely staff. We were greeted with authentic Sicilian canoli on our arrival and felt warm and welcome. Although the area around the hotel is a bit run down, which seems typical of Palermo, that was quickly forgotten when we stepped inside.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I had booked a double room at this b&b so was a little disapointed to find it was two single beds pushed together (particularly as it transpired that a single traveller was in a proper double room). Room was very nice though and spacious with a separate sitting area. Something that we found very difficult was the lack of natural daylight as the room only had windows onto a dark lightwell but correspondingly it was very quiet at night. I think we would have preferred room onto the street which would have been more noisy but at least we would have seen daylight! The owners were friendly enough but we didn't see much of them. Breakfast was typical of what we found in Sicilian b&bs - fairly uninspiring packet pastries (not fresh) and 'juice'. The b&b is in part of a palazzo and the man serving breakfast showed us around the main rooms on our last morning - very impressive!

Room Tip: Choice is between daylight and street noise at front or darkness and quiet at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I did visit Palermo quite often this year and the B&B Quattro Quarti is the perfect spot to discover Palermo historical town
I do found this B&B the best one i ever been in all my life and i have been around the world a few times. The Management, The breakfast, The rooms, The food make me feel like a King every time i stay there, always a very professional warm welcome . Water melon jelly, mini cannoli with fresh ricotta cheese every morning, warm croissant with white nutella mmhhh delicious delicious
Quality and price better than perfection

Room Tip: all the rooms are very good and elite comfort but my favorite is the green one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We are just leaving this B&B after a three night stay. After notifying the manager the time of our arrival, we found the outside door locked (at 6pm) and no one answering the bell or the telephone. After 20minutes on the street, another guest let us in. We prowled throught the house and found the son of the owner asleep upstairs.

This young man showed us to a small double room. We had been promised a suite (in writing) but he told us the owner's relatives had come and were staying in it. So no suite and a room in which the air conditioner didn't work

During the three days of our stay we never saw the owner or manager. When we presented our credit card at checkout, the young man said the machine was broken and we'd have to pay cash. I refused and left a check.

There are many better hotels in Palermo at equal or lower cost. Stay away from this one if you can.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

The B&B is fantastic, the location is ideal.
If you rent a car the parking is a bit difficult, but ask the lady for tips, she is very helpful.
The rooms are all spacious, clean and very pretty. We stayed in the "Normanna" room, which i think is the best because it is the biggest and located in the inside of the building, therefore quieter than the other rooms which face the busy "Via Vittorio Emanuele".

The lady is very nice and helpful, breakfast is top quality.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — parking difficulties
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quattro Quarti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quattro Quarti

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 376, 90100 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Palazzo Reale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 294 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Quattro Quarti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quattro Quarti Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quattro Quarti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.