We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli to your Saves list
Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Castelforte 98/A, 90146 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 346 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What wonderful villa this is. Directions to Il Glicine - Piana die Colli was spot on. We were welcomed warmly by Daniella who was a fountain of knowledge and advice with regards to history, places to eat and generally parking advise wherever we were going. Mondello is a 10 minute trip by car. Palermo is an easy 25 minute trip and once again Daniela gave us great guidance where to eat and places to visit in general. The Palazzo Mirto was a definite highlight and gave us a real insight into the aristocracy of Palermo. Daniela's garden is amazing and simply beautiful. Breakfast was plentiful and lovely sitting outside on the terrace in the morning. I was happy to speak Italian, but Daniela's English is very good. We had the apartment, however as a second room was vacant, our kids decided to take the opportunity to sleep there. Apartment was big enough for all of us to relax at the end of the day. We got to know Daniella very well over our 4 day stay and our family felt that we were saying goodbye to a very dear friend. Grazie mille Daniella. Fina alla prossima volta!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli is a place unlike any other - a wonderful Garden of Eden (without the snake) tucked in behind a palazzo, in the hopping district of Palermo/Mondello- all beaches and sea-front restaurants. The Signora speaks excellent English & French and is a mine of useful information about Palermo and district. Breakfast, outside under the verandah looking on to the glorious garden, or inside among the antique furniture, is a delight in itself. We have stayed here three times and will do so every time we come to Sicily. (There's a supermarket across the road, so you can eat in easily, after a strenuous day absorbing the glories of Palermo).

Room Tip: There are apartments with cooking facilities as well as standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

a perfect oasis from the sometimes frenetic pace of Palermo.
Very easy to find driving from the airport and only a short drive into Mondello, a charming seaside resort, and about 20 to 30 minutes drive into Palermo centre for sightseeing etc, given Gabriella's concise directions..
One of teh nicest B&Bs I've stayed in, and over the years that's been a lot. cosy comfortable apartment, beautiful garden and of course a most lovely charming hostess.
We will definitely be back, but unfortunately probably not for a couple of years.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a delightful surprise! I had been too busy to check the details sent to me by my son, so it really was a bonus to find such a gorgeous spot and such a vibrant hostess who seemed to know EVERYTHING about everything! You definitely need your own transport but would probably have that anyway. Being winter I could only imagine the joys of Gabriella's garden and surrounds, but found it hard to believe it could be any better than our four-night stay. Thanks to Gabriella we saw as much as time allowed and enjoyed every moment. A bit too far for us to get back there but if you are in Europe already and are planning to visit Sicily, then this base for several days is well worth knowing about.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gera, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This accommodation is very good for relaxing and recovering. It is very quiet and there is a beautiful garden like a little paradise with a lot of different plants and trees as well as a little garden pond with turtle. The house and the rooms are a excellent compound of museum, hotel and holiday flat (because you have a little cooking area). It is recommendable especially for families and it is not far from beautiful beach with crystal clear water. The breakfast is very substantial with jam, cake, cheese, yogurt and fresh fruits and more. In the house you have a lot of interesting things to discover. The good soul of the house called Gabriella speaks many languages and comply every wish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Being keen gardeners, we had picked this B&B because of the pictures of the gardens and also because Gabriella had written us such a nice email when we were making enquiries. We were not disappointed! The house and garden were delightful and Gabriella was the perfect hostess. It was the ideal place to come back to after a busy day sightseeing and battling with the traffic in Palermo! The home-made jams at breakfast were scrumptious and Gabriella's cake on the last morning to die for. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent four nights in this beautiful villa just minutes from Mondello. Our hostess Gabriella was exceptional in going out of her way to ensure our comfort and provide day trip suggestions, restaurant recommendations and deliver us a beautiful breakfast each morning. This is truly an oasis away from the bustle of Palermo. Mille Grazie Gabriella.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli

Address: Via Castelforte 98/A, 90146 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18C Villa of the Palermo Bed & Breakfast "La Piana dei Colli", sunk in the most luscious subtropical vegetation, is situated 15 minutes away from the centre of Palermo and 5 minutes distance from the beach of Mondello.Sicily’s mild climate will allows guests to enjoy the superb garden during all year, indulging in breakfasts, readings or simply walking around its paths.The owner who is an expert in gardening and botany, decided twenty years ago to transform the abandoned lemon’s garden next to the house into an extraordinary place where she has now gathered a wonderful collection of rare plants. This garden is visited every year by several Garden Clubs.At breakfast you will sample the traditional Italian "prima colazione" served with fruit from the garden and home made jams. Fresh eggs will be served if you wish. The house interior has been elegantly refurnished and it still keeps the charm of the old palazzo.Seaside is a few minutes far from the Villa, well-known Mondello beach, and the beautiful rocks of Capo Gallo add pleasure to your journey.Coastal boat trips (with boatman) available at reasonable prices.Two dogs, affectionate and playful live in the garden, sometimes at the sight of a cat can bark upsetting the calm that otherwise is sovereign.IL GLICINE La Piana dei Colli B&B guest house offers two types of accommodation:ROOMS (SINGLE, DOUBLE AND TRIPLE)DELUXE APARTMENT SUITE (OPEN SPACE)FREE WI-FI INTERNET ACCESS IS AVAILABLE IN ALL THE ROOMS.All the Rooms are comfortable, spacious, and tastefully furnished with a bed, a sofa, a desk and a television. Each room is fully air conditioned and has its own private bathroom, either ensuite or on the landing just outside the room.The ground floor room has French windows opening onto the garden, while all the other rooms are located on the first floor and overlook either the garden or the courtyard. Twin beds rather than a double bed will be provided on request.The top left photo shows the ground floor room with French windows opening onto the garden, while the lower photo shows a double bedroom overlooking the courtyard.The recently restructured Deluxe Apartment-Suite is an open space composed of two rooms and can sleep up to four people.The apartment is furnished to the highest quality standards has two windows offering splendid views over the garden.The living room is furnished with a sofa bed (which, when necessary, provides a comfortable double bed) and a small dining table, while the kitchenette in the corner of the room is fully equipped for the preparation of meals. The double bedroom, which in addition to the bed is also furnished with a large antique wardrobe, leads directly to a bathroom with shower. The bathroom is comfortable, spacious and tastefully furnished.The apartment-suite is fully air-conditioned.The photo on the top-right shows the bedroom, while the lower photo shows the living room with kitchenette.The town of Palermo will require a few days to visit its fascinating historical centre (one of the biggest in Europe) the many churches, the palazzos and the picturesque markets.Day-trips from Palermo can be arranged to visit Monreale, Segesta, Bagheria, Cefalù, Trapani, Erice, Agrigento, San Vito Lo Capo.The airport of Palermo "Punta Raisi - Falcone Borsellino" is 20 km away.Guests staying in the B&B must have their own means of transport as the area is not served by public transportation services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Glicine - Piana Dei Colli Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.