We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maximum Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Massimo

Teatro Massimo
Piazza Giuseppe Verdi, 90138 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 091 6053580
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$111*
and up
Palermo Segway Tour
Ranked #6 of 276 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the biggest opera houses in Europe, Teatro Massimo is renowned for its excellent acoustiscs and holds over 1,300 seats.The venue hosts more than 130 music, opera and dance events every year.The exteriors are in neo-classical style with influences from Greek Sicilian temples, while the interiors are art-nouveau.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maximum Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I enjoyed this beautiful evening strolling along the Palermo center where the teatro was lit so brilliantly that the photographs I took were breathless, I then saw it in the daytime and still was curious to spend an entire day or two soon in Palermo to reall write what I thought artistically and honestly I didnt have a chance to do this, but will next week.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    304
    90
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Politics at the Teatro Massimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I went to the Ravel double bill and was surprised that the first 10 minutes were taken up by a long political speech from about 20 staff on the stage, holding banners. I understood that they were calling for the resignation of the director, over contract renegotiation issues. The protest was effective as almost all in the audience applauded enthusiastically. Interesting - can't imagine this happening in Covent Garden!

By the way, the production and orchestra were really imaginative and good!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Madame Butterfly at the 3rd Largest Opera House in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I hated opera until we went to this presentation of Madame Butterfly. Beautifully presented in two acts in one of the most beautiful opera houses ever. A walk back to our hotel after the presentation and late night pizza in an alleyway added to the fun.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Found this to be well worth a visit take time to enjoy plenty of interest to see and good value time of the year was great not too manypeople

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautiful from but the renovation destroyed the interior charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

ten years ago the city renovated the building but as for many renovation done in Italy the charm of what it used to be was lost. According to many locals. It's still nice to see from the outside and if you are fans go see an opera just to feel the atmosphere of being in a building that once hosted performances by opera stars such as Maria Callas.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Massimo also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Teatro Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Massimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.