We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maximum Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Massimo

Teatro Massimo
Piazza Giuseppe Verdi, 90138 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 091 6053580
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 162 Attractions in Palermo
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the biggest opera houses in Europe, Teatro Massimo is renowned for its excellent acoustiscs and holds over 1,300 seats.The venue hosts more than 130 music, opera and dance events every year.The exteriors are in neo-classical style with influences from Greek Sicilian temples, while the interiors are art-nouveau.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maximum Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I enjoyed this beautiful evening strolling along the Palermo center where the teatro was lit so brilliantly that the photographs I took were breathless, I then saw it in the daytime and still was curious to spend an entire day or two soon in Palermo to reall write what I thought artistically and honestly I didnt have a chance to do this, but will next week.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    231
    72
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Politics at the Teatro Massimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I went to the Ravel double bill and was surprised that the first 10 minutes were taken up by a long political speech from about 20 staff on the stage, holding banners. I understood that they were calling for the resignation of the director, over contract renegotiation issues. The protest was effective as almost all in the audience applauded enthusiastically. Interesting - can't imagine this happening in Covent Garden!

By the way, the production and orchestra were really imaginative and good!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Madame Butterfly at the 3rd Largest Opera House in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I hated opera until we went to this presentation of Madame Butterfly. Beautifully presented in two acts in one of the most beautiful opera houses ever. A walk back to our hotel after the presentation and late night pizza in an alleyway added to the fun.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Found this to be well worth a visit take time to enjoy plenty of interest to see and good value time of the year was great not too manypeople

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“beautiful from but the renovation destroyed the interior charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

ten years ago the city renovated the building but as for many renovation done in Italy the charm of what it used to be was lost. According to many locals. It's still nice to see from the outside and if you are fans go see an opera just to feel the atmosphere of being in a building that once hosted performances by opera stars such as Maria Callas.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Massimo also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Teatro Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Massimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.