We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Massimo

Teatro Massimo
Piazza Giuseppe Verdi, 90138 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 091 6053580
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$111*
and up
Palermo Segway Tour
Ranked #6 of 276 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the biggest opera houses in Europe, Teatro Massimo is renowned for its excellent acoustiscs and holds over 1,300 seats.The venue hosts more than 130 music, opera and dance events every year.The exteriors are in neo-classical style with influences from Greek Sicilian temples, while the interiors are art-nouveau.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was another nice visit. The lady doing the tour was a singer with the opera and gave us a very good idea of the theatre and its history. The costumes were really nice to see and the the hall itself was impressive,especially the royal box where Al Pacino sat for Godfather,part 3.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    304
    90
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“theatre Massimo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very beautiful building with beautiful statues, sadly we were not allowed inside to see the dome, my husband loved renacting godfather 3 on the theatre steps

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The plaza in front says it all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

A massive structure without overwhelming. The drama on the plaza outside is even more interesting then the doings inside, at least in the daytime. Seems to be a drawing point for everybody with a viewpoint and a desire to get it across. A real Hyde park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a beautiful theater!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We purchased tickets for Madama Butterfly a few months before our trip. The theater was beautiful and the production was good, although I have heard voices in the US that were just as good if not better - but Italian opera in Italy! Fantastic! My only complaint about the theater si that it took forever to get our tickets from the box office - and we had already paid for them. Still, overall, it was a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First opera house in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Impressive both inside and outside, the Teatro Massimo is like much of Palermo; much of it is in good repair but there are still sections awaiting renovation. Two massive regal lion sculptures guard the entrance.
We joined an English language tour (small group) and explored the public and behind stage areas. Of especial interest are the visits to the Royal Box (anyone can book seats there but you have to book all 27 seats in one lot) and the round Echo Room where many a private political discussion is said to have taken place. Try to pick which are the false doors just by looking.
If you enjoy attending operas, check out their season offering beforehand. They had different operas almost every month but we missed the October performance by a night.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Massimo also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Teatro Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Massimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.