We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“theatre Massimo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Massimo

Teatro Massimo
Piazza Giuseppe Verdi, 90138 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 091 6053580
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$23*
and up
Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #12 of 102 Activities in Palermo
Type: Theaters, Theater & Concerts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the biggest opera houses in Europe, Teatro Massimo is renowned for its excellent acoustiscs and holds over 1,300 seats.The venue hosts more than 130 music, opera and dance events every year.The exteriors are in neo-classical style with influences from Greek Sicilian temples, while the interiors are art-nouveau.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“theatre Massimo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very beautiful building with beautiful statues, sadly we were not allowed inside to see the dome, my husband loved renacting godfather 3 on the theatre steps

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    258
    77
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The plaza in front says it all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

A massive structure without overwhelming. The drama on the plaza outside is even more interesting then the doings inside, at least in the daytime. Seems to be a drawing point for everybody with a viewpoint and a desire to get it across. A real Hyde park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a beautiful theater!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We purchased tickets for Madama Butterfly a few months before our trip. The theater was beautiful and the production was good, although I have heard voices in the US that were just as good if not better - but Italian opera in Italy! Fantastic! My only complaint about the theater si that it took forever to get our tickets from the box office - and we had already paid for them. Still, overall, it was a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First opera house in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Impressive both inside and outside, the Teatro Massimo is like much of Palermo; much of it is in good repair but there are still sections awaiting renovation. Two massive regal lion sculptures guard the entrance.
We joined an English language tour (small group) and explored the public and behind stage areas. Of especial interest are the visits to the Royal Box (anyone can book seats there but you have to book all 27 seats in one lot) and the round Echo Room where many a private political discussion is said to have taken place. Try to pick which are the false doors just by looking.
If you enjoy attending operas, check out their season offering beforehand. They had different operas almost every month but we missed the October performance by a night.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Setting the Stage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A very impressive building. We were lucky to arrive just before a tour was about to start. Tickets were 8 euro each. We had an english speaking guide. We started in the main gathering room (photo taking only allowed in this room) with an introduction to the history of the theatre, then we went inside. Wow! About 6 floors of viewing booths, and the Royal Booth front and centre. Unfortunately we could not see the stage area (apparently about 50m deep) because of a performance that night :-( A shame, because that was a key element of the theatre. We then went upstairs and into the Royal Booth. From there we walked through the Women's practice room and then into the Men's room, or Room of Echoes. Downstairs again and it was all over.
The guide was very entertaining, but I felt we should have/could have seen more 'behind the scenes' areas, and maybe a few tit-bits on some of the shows or performers that have played there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Massimo also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Massimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.