We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curious Historical Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Mirto

Palazzo Mirto
Via Merlo 2, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)
0916167541
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$110*
and up
Palermo Segway Tour
Ranked #23 of 276 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Curious Historical Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As i walked and gazed inside this beautiful historical museum of a mansion embellished with history, elegance, and mystery; I couldn't help but ask questions and be curious about how the family had inherited such richness through generations, such masterful, cultural antiques. Travels abroad around the world left me curious to find out more about this family that in the end had left no one to inherit this treasure but was graciously left to the region of Palermo. It is immaculate and brilliant to see, it leaves you wanting to know more about the families that actually lived in it, but also how much did they help the people of the region did others starve and struggle while while they richly became the most established family in their royal lines for so long, yet they left nothing behind of descendants, the line hadn't continued to grow, why was that and why did the princess fail to ever marry? Curious too? Wait until you actually walk through it! 3 levels to walk up flights of stairs, but absolutely worth it. Researching all the ancestry this week because as you see it the challenging questions of the era they lived leaves me fascinated to find out more who were the MIRTO family? Video & Photography are not permitted so please respect it after all at only 1 EURO to see such an exhibit travelers and visitors can enjoy this great treasure while being able to afford a great meal out!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    78
    12
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Palace in Palermo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went through in early December 2012 and were the only visitors in the museum. It was definitely worth the time to see how the ruling class lived. We were the only people being escorted by our guide and, since it was a quiet day for them, it let us into the dining room which had been closed down to do restoration work on a huge tapestry. The amount of person-hours that restoration work would take is unimagineable, as the threads are very fine and the work very detailed.
At the end of the tour, we left through a servant's stair well and came out in the carriage house/stables. The stalls for the horses and the equipment provided a look into the working side of the residence.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
千葉県
Level Contributor
265 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Opened new year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was in Palermo on 1st January. The most of the shops and museums were closed but Mirto Palazzo was open!!
The rooms were well decorated and well maintained. I was impressed at carriages outside also.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gem of a palazzo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Palazzo Mirto is a few yards from Piazza Marina on Via Merlo in La Kalsa. We were not sure what to expect (we were the only visitors) but it turned out to be a real treasure. We were accompanied by an attendant over two floors of a richly furnished aristocratic palace which just looked as though it had been lived in until recently. A beautiful well-stocked library full of rare tomes finished off the tour. Excellent location, unusual attraction.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Palazzo Mirto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An extraordinary building with superb furniture, porcelain and glass and interesting pictures. We were there about 2 hours.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Mirto also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Palazzo Mirto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Mirto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.