We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palazzo Mirto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Mirto

Palazzo Mirto
Via Merlo 2, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)
0916167541
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 155 Attractions in Palermo
Type: Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Palazzo Mirto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An extraordinary building with superb furniture, porcelain and glass and interesting pictures. We were there about 2 hours.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    47
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Life stopped in 1982”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

That was the year that the da Mirto family gave up the Palazzo to the city. And it appears to have stayed precisely the same since then. It's a fascinating place, a real insight into how the well-off of the 19th century lived...and how they could run out of money to support such a palace and bequeath it to the city as a museum. Well worth a visit; it's down near the harbor and easy to get to.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Interesting glimpse at how the rich lived”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited this old palazzo as we were wandering the streets of Palermo. It was the home of a rich family who have only fairly recently moved on (probably to some tax haven!) It has the feeling of a family home with photos dotted around and no doubt was the scene of lavish soirees until fairly recently.
What is shocking is looking round and reflecting on the fact that when these people were living with gold, great works of art, fountains and beautiful furniture, they were litterally a stones throw from extreme poverty in this city which is still pretty poor. It amused me that one of the guide books described it as a "modest" palazzo!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“See how the aristocrats of Palermo lived...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Take a fascinating step back in time, as you stroll through the sumptuously decorated rooms of Palazzo Mirto. Though the staff seems bored and are not particularly helpful, the beautiful palazzo speaks for itself. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming Palazzo Mirto”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I agree with all the other reviews and wish they had English brochures so I could learn more about the place but it was a fascinating visit nevertheless because it gave me a glimpse a different side of Palermo. I find Palermo very complex - it has a kind of delapidated charm and a visit to Palazzo Mirto allows us to see what it was in its glory. Perhaps. I am still processing.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Mirto also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Palazzo Mirto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Mirto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;