We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sculptures in Oratorio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oratorio di San Lorenzo

Oratorio di San Lorenzo
Via dell'Immacolatella, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 217 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Woodridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful sculptures in Oratorio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I were delighted to see the white stuccoed three dimentional scultpures in this Oratorio. The cherub sculptures were humourous. Giacomo Serpotta was a fantastic sculptor. We were the only visitors at the time. It seems most tourists don't know about this place but it is well worth it to see it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    38
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another baroque masterpiece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Sculptor Giacomo Serpotta at his best, with all those sculptures so expressive, they're almost alive. Worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, België
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The most beautiful oratorio in Palermo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Without any doubt the most beautiful of the 3 ! If you are lacking time I would advise only visiting this one. Although considerably damaged due to years of neglect it is still breathtakingly beautiful.
Sadly the painting by Carravagio was robbed in the 60 and still has not been recovered.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A history lesson in art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

So, you know how people will tell you that, on just about any corner in an Italian town, some famous painter or architect or other personage probably lived, worked or has a piece of art hanging there? Well, it's true! So, we happened upon this little building that, for centuries, was abandoned and allowed to fall into ruins (like so many places here in Palermo, unfortunately) and had much of its artwork looted. However, not all! This is the home to some beautiful sculptures in stucco by Giacomo Serpotta, who apparently got this art form started.

When you look at the figures in this building, you have to remember that Serpotta was working very fast because the medium dried rather quickly while he was working. The two stories told are about San Francesco and San Lorenzo. We mostly enjoyed looking at the playful figures of the cherubim, like one who is blowing a bubble (!) and others who are tickling each other or just have big grins on their faces that remind us of some friends of ours. Our son really enjoyed this one.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Putti" in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

The Oratorio is stunningly beautiful. The juxtaposition of serenity and playfulness is a delight. It's a little tricky to find, but perseverence will be rewarded. The putti among the saints and virtues are a treat.
The price is very reasonable. The only drawback is that they don't allow photos. Even this would be OK if they had photos or books for sale. As it is, I rely on memory.
Ah! Sweet memory!

Go! You'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oratorio di San Lorenzo also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Oratorio di San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oratorio di San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.