We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiesa del Gesu

Chiesa del Gesu
Piazza Casa Professa 21, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Palazzo Reale)
091-581880
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 155 attractions in Palermo
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Quite stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

When we went to see this church we expected it to be quite plain inside -- we'll we got that wrong. It is unbelieveably amazing with the marble work and the statues everywhere. It is very beautiful and definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    43
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salerno, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was a real feast for the eyes. In addition to the usual christian icons there are stucco decorations of centaurs, unicorns, cerubs, dogs, horses etc. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terni, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A masterpiece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Often people doesn't want visit churches so I suggest to chose the best in different style to have an idea. This is full of marble buil by the spanish in 1600 more or less with Jesuit prists living still around

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fear of horror vacui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We learnt this by our guide. Is the only way to explain the rich style of this church so full of marble. Each square metre has a meaning and there aren't explanations around, you really need a guide, not be afraid to spend money for your culture

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Well worth a few hours of visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is one of the churches that were recommended to our B&B owner. We paid the 4 Euro ticket to walk around the interior and the several museum displays in the back. Talking to one of the guides was very helpful. Monica was the one that speaks great English and was passionate about giving visitors a positive experience. We ended up talking to her for an extensive amount of time. She pointed us to the intricacies that we wouldn't even know to look. She shared how history and religion intertwine to affect the architecture and the art in the church, including the (ugly) painting that was done after the roof was bombed during WWII.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa del Gesu also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Chiesa del Gesu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiesa del Gesu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.