We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambasciatori Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambasciatori Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 111, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in the middle of August. Excellent location - in the old city, close to all tourist sites, railway station and buses (if you like traveling like locals - we do!). Good restaurant. Most important - the staff! Everyone is with a smile and very helpful. My wife had a back problem while we stayed there. Everyone took part in helping. We got the reference to a doctor (thank you. Aida!), place to have an x-ray done (thank you, Gabriele!). It all starts from the management - Aida, Mario and the staff - Francesca (with a wonderful smile!), Gabriele, Enzo, Fabiane, Simona, Alessandra, Meline, Ileania, Violetta, Benedette. And, sorry forgot your name, a Nigerian man that all sorts of jobs. Sorry if I misspelled anyone's names. Thank you for making our stay a pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    353
    74
    12
    9
See reviews for
123
433
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel has a central location with a few minutes walking from the central station and the flight bus terminal. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms differ, there may be some street noise from some of them. The air condition is working. The main asset is the roof terrace where breakfeast is served with a splendid view of the city. In the evening you can enjoy the view with dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in July, 4 of us in 2 adjacent rooms. The hotel was very convenient to the old town. The room rates were good. The Terrace was lovely, with a great view, and eating breakfasts and having pre-dinner drinks there was very nice. The breakfasts were good enough, with pre-prepared eggs in addition to ham, cheese, rolls, pastries, juice, coffee (cappucino on request), and melon. Probably the best breakfast variety and quality of our Italy/Sicily trip. The dinner we ate there was just OK.

We arrived with a car, and were able to unload in the front with no problem, then park in a nearby garage with little trouble (however, we caution anyone driving to/in Palermo as the streets are difficult to negotiate without a good navigation device such as the iPhone maps because there are tricky one-way streets, the drivers drive like mad-men, the pedestrians pop out of nowhere, and the streets are narrow).

The room was spacious, but the window view was a wall. There was no outside air option, but also no traffic noise, and the AC worked well. The lighting in the room was dim (even when the CFL's warmed up). WIFI didn't work well in the room, and often didn't work in the adjacent hall, only up top in the Terrace or next to the front desk (on the 5th floor). WIFI was important to us because we wanted to preload maps and routes onto our devices (iPhone/iPad) for our sightseeing, which included some car trips, without turning on our cellular data.

The bed was typical-Italian hard, but we found it fine. Our room was quiet and clean. The staff was helpful getting us to Mondello beach for a day-trip (not sure that was worthwhile, but it was an experience and our first beach on Sicily) and finding us good nearby restaurants for dinner (which were great). We recommend this hotel for travelers to Palermo, even those with cars. Would give 4.5 stars if I could, but 4 stars seems a bit unfair, so 5 it is.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside (the wall) are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed one night at the Ambasciatori Hotel, and it was really impressive. Service was great, staff friendliness super and with a great location. The bar and restaurant on the 6th floor makes it for a little oasis in the center of vibrant Palermo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is very close to the train station and airport bus. We found the room to be very clean and comfortable. We were asked if we could like a street room with a view or a room in the back with no view. Thinking about noise from the main road we went with the back room and had a very quite night. The views from the roof terrace were very good. We only stayed on night on our way home and we were glad not to be spending more time in Palermo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was ok, but just ok.

Here are my issues with the hotel:
- It specifically says rooms are sound proof on its website. Whilst they do have double glazing, it is certainly not sound proof. Rooms near terrace suffer from noise above and other rooms have street noise.
- Gym: There is no point advertising having a gym if weight machine and other cardio machines are broken. This is not a gym but 1 treadmill in a storage room.

Now for the positives:
- Close to train station and airport bus
- Central Location
- Nice view from terrace

Not likely to stay at this hotel again. The Mecure' and Cristal Palace seemed to be of similar price range and looked alot nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were very pleased we chose this hotel for my Palermo stay. Firstly, it is walking distance from The Grand Stazione on Via Roma (Average 5 minute walk). This is an excellent start when you have had a long journey to get there. We were in room 307 which is an extremely large and very quiet third floor room. There is a safe, a small fridge that you fill up with items yourself rather than pay hotel prices. However, the hotel replenishes bottles of water if you need them. The room is tastefully decorated and as I suffer with my back from time to time, I was delighted that the bed was very firm. This allowed for excellent sleep on the six nights we were there.
As many other travellers have previously stated, the roof top terrace provides superb views across the rooftops of Palermo with the mountains as a backdrop. This is worth viewing both at breakfast and also at dusk when Palermo lights up.
We didn't eat dinner there both the menu looked interesting. I just prefer to eat in restaurants rather than hotels.
It is true, the staff are very friendly and most helpful. Whenever there was a problem, it was dealt with immediately. Another plus is that the air conditioning works superbly in room 307 which was a Godsend as it was 34C outside and to come back to a cool room was the most welcome feeling in the World.
The Breakfast was buffet style and there were enough choices to suit all tastes. Once again, this gave us the chance to enjoy the stunning view.
In conclusion, do choose this rather lovely hotel. AS a three star it ticks all the boxes and some of what it has to offer is certainly more like four star quality. Palermo appears to be going through a difficult time due to the world recession and Hotel Ambasciatori is like an Oasis within it. Thank you to the staff for making our stay a particularly good one.

Room Tip: Room 307 is very quiet. Rooms on the 5th floor are smaller and noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Address: Via Roma 111, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palermo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambasciatori Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.