We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking rooftop view of Palermo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambasciatori Hotel to your Saves list
Ambasciatori Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 111, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Breathtaking rooftop view of Palermo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We are a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) and it wasn't easy to find a quadruple room in Palermo so it was a good value for the price. The room was clean (most importantly), spacious and eventhough it faced the main street, it was quiet as it had double windows. The breakfast was good but the view from the rooftop (breakfast area) was extrordinary. Fresh sweet Sicilian orange juice (squeezed with the electric juicer), just can't be beat! The hotel is a few minutes walk to the train station and walking distance to all of the main sites. The staff were very professional and eager to help. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    368
    78
    14
    10
See reviews for
130
449
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palermo, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location, in the heart of Palermo, walking distance to everywhere, great views from the rooftop when having breakfast... Parking not at hotel but 400 metres away for €15, so keep in mind for overall price. Clean, nice, solid accommodation for a decent price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Bottom line - this hotel was a good value, with everything we needed. Quaint hotel, nice clean and well maintained room, quiet at night, really good breakfast, great location, nice staff. And the roof top terrace was unbeatable. No need to say more than..... I will return to Palermo, and I will stay at Hotel Ambasciatori again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with our two nights here. Good location in the old city, within walking distance of the major old city sights and variety of good restaurants. We had no problem finding parking on the street beside the hotel though staff said it often is difficult. Reception on fifth floor not an issue for us (we heard someone complain about this) - the lift up to reception was quaint and part of the experience - right out of some old movie. Room a bit small but adequate - we did not know about the new large rooms or we would have asked ... hotel was not full. Maybe booking through a discounter had something to do with that. Room was clean, bed slept well, lots of hot water and good water pressure. Staff was friendly, spoke passable English, and very helpful with directions and recommendations for dinner. View of the old city from the terrace is spectacular. Breakfast was good, a step up from the usual, with fresh squeezed orange juice, scramble eggs, two kinds of yogurts and two kinds of cakes, AND it was served on the terrace. We would go back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just come back from 4 nights here. The staff were all absolutely lovely (and, it shames me to say it, all completely fluent in English).

Considering that it was situated really close to the heart of this vibrant, diverse, beautiful and edgy city (10 mins walk from the station), the soundproofing was absolutely fantastic in our room (room 510 by the way).

Without a doubt, the best thing about this hotel is the roof terrace - absolutely jaw dropping views over Palermo and the surrounding mountains. You can spend breakfast (also served on the terrace) planning the day's adventures using the free wifi. And enjoy a nightcap here marvelling at Palermo by night.

They were also happy to look after our luggage on the last day - and also allowed us to enjoy the roof terrace one last time!

Honestly, could not fault this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - worked for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have used Ambasciatori on 3 occasions now and it never fails to meet our requirements. It has gone more up market since we first went but hasn't lost any of its charm. We stayed this time in the new rooms which were enormous with a lovely spacious bathroom. The lift is quaint - struggle to fit two of you in with luggage but all part of the experience. The roof terrace is simply breathtaking. it is a hop skip and a jump away from the main bus and rail station so easy to get to and from the airport. If you love city life and the excitement of a slightly faded mediterranean city go. Tip - use the air conditioned interbus to travel between cities/airport as the train is less than reliable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Reception staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your review.
It has been a pleasure for us to host you again, in our newest rooms this time, and we are glad you enjoy again the terrace and the city.
Waiting for your third time here we send you our
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Ambasciatori. The hotel is in an older building, with a small elevator to take you to reception on the 5th floor...no need to carry bags except for a couple of steps up to the elevator. Our room was fairly small, basic but comfortable, ... The bed was good, there was a desk & chair, wardrobe, bar frig.... Not luxurious, but all one needed. As is likely in any older building, there were odd sounds in the night.....fan noises? Plumbing? but not too intrusive. As stated by others, the rooftop breakfast area and large outdoor patio give wonderful views of the Palermo skyline...beautiful day and night. Breakfast was very good, and you could make your own fresh orange juice. They served what I think was homemade yogourt which was the best ever! The coffee was "Americano" though...not good Italian style,which was disappointing. We ate dinner there both nights, and although the menu is not large, the food was very well prepared and delicious. The hotel location is excellent, with easy walking to the interesting areas of east Palermo. The real strength of the hotel is their wonderful staff....very professional, more than helpful with maps, advice etc. When I left a jacket there, they very kindly packaged it up and had it couriered it to me. (Thank you Fabiana & Francesca ). We would stay there again if we could return to Sicily!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Reception Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guests,
we are very glad you left your comment,
as you wrote nighttime noises may happen in buildings like this, so we are always available to help our guests, maybe with a room change, to make your staying pleasant.
For breakfast we offer homemeade cakes, creams and marmalades, so we are very glad you enjoyed them.
Last, a sincere thank you from Fabiana and Francesca, and form all the staff, for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Address: Via Roma 111, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palermo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambasciatori Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.