We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and wonderful city views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambasciatori Hotel to your Saves list
Ambasciatori Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 111, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
Killarney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location and wonderful city views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location. We stayed in their apartments around the corner, which were much cheaper than the hotel rooms, but we had breakfast every morning in the main building. Having passed some hotel rooms in the main building I wished we had booked in there instead as they did look lovely. The apartment very basic but was clean and convenient, but the wifi connection was non existent, we were able to get wifi in the terrace in the main building. A cocktail on the terrace for sunset in the evening is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, staff reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guests,
we are glad you enjoy your staying here, we always do our best to give you a pleasant staying.
Hope to see you again.
the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    369
    78
    14
    10
See reviews for
130
450
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel has no reception on the ground floor. You have to carry your bags up to the fifth on your own. The rooms are tiny, the bathroom is good enough. Very noisy and a real labyrinth. I was very surprised to see that Trip advisor had it well evaluated.....couldn t believe!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lovely hotel, I was put in a room under the kitchen but changed when I there was too much noise. They also have rooms on the 3rd floor (hotel is on 5th & terrace on 6th) so an option is to go there and it is quieter. 5 mins walk from central station, 10 mins to catch the bus to Mondello beach, 2 mins walk from the market of Ballaro. The terrace is the high point.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the the 3rd floor for peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location, nice area near train station. Had a room that was underneath the rooftop restraunt first night which was noisey (601) but staff moved us to a lovely room when I metioned this - no problem. Lovely rooftop area for breakfast.

Room Tip: Room on 5th floor was great (not 6th underneath resteraunt which was noisey)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I spent 8 nights at the Ambasciatori and we couldn't be happier with our choice. Our room (501) was the largest room we've ever had in Europe and included a king-size and single-size bed. The bathroom looked like it had recently been updated with high quality fixtures. The shower was small (though not by European standards) but more than adequate for the job. Breakfast is served on a rooftop deck that had truly spectacular views of the Palermo skyline. Breakfast is carb-heavy, but the scambled eggs, ham and cheese were a hearty addition. We ate dinner there one night and the food was excellent, though the menu is limited compared to other nearby restaurants. The staff -- in particular Aida, Francesca and Rachel -- were exceptionally friendly and helpful. If we return to Palermo I wouldn't think of staying at a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff Reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
we all remember you and your wife with pleasure and we are glad to have hosted you for 8 days.
Thank you for this message and thanks in particular from Aida, Francesca and Rachele for remembered us.
We hope to see you and your wife again and delight you with our specialties.
See you soon
The reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went to Taormina last summer and enjoyed Sicily so much we wanted to see more of the island so arranged a break, flying out with Ryanair and staying at the Ambasciatori. I've stayed in better hotels but they were 5-star Hiltons and the like. This is great value, clean and comfortable and well located which is what you want when you're on holiday. It's close the the station which is not only where the trains arrive, obviously, but also where the buses from the airport arrive and leave from. It's also only a short walk from the main sites - the Quattro Canti, cathedral etc. It also has free wi-fi and a PC with internet connection for free use by guests which is a big plus point for me. The breakfasts were more than adequate too. The only negatives I'd point out are that the lift is a bit antiquated so if someone leaves the doors open it won't work and you also have to walk up a short flight of stairs on the ground floor to get to the lift. Breakfast is on the 5th floor - spectacular view - and you also have to walk up a couple of flights to get there too, so anyone who has difficulty walking should beware. the only other criticism is that the wi-fi wasn't working on the 3rd floor so you had to go to the 5th floor to get a connection. Despite those minor irritations I'd strongly recommend the Ambasciatori.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff Reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind comment.
One of the pluses of our hotel is the location, in the heart of the city center and close to any part within it.
We know that, today, the wifi connection is very important, so we offer this service for free. We are improving it, extending its range.
Our building was built in the earlier 1900s, that’s why there are some stairs getting to the attic.
We hope you can enjoying your staying here again.
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel in January 2013. The rooms were of a good size and clean. We enjoyed great breakfasts and have to make special mention of the fabulous Sicilian oranges which were available for guests to make their own juice. Words almost fail me. The orange juice was without doubt the best I had ever tasted. The rest of the breakfast on offer wasn't outstanding, but was nevertheless delicious, especially when we had a great view over the city, to the hills. As a family, we stayed in the two roomed-suite one level down from the breakfast room. The only downside was that the room under the kitchen was noisy, once staff were preparing for breakfast. Apart from that, the staff were always pleasant, we loved the old-fashioned lift, and thought the hotel was well-situated. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps not the room situated under the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mrs Katherine,
first of all we all want to thank you for leaving your precious comment .
Oranges are one of the symbols of our beautiful island, and we are glad you appreciated our fresh juices. We will give you a quiet room when you will come back.
Thank you again for your kindness.
The staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Address: Via Roma 111, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palermo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambasciatori Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.