We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Palermo Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Palermo Centro to your Saves list
Mercure Palermo Centro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mariano Stabile 112, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Castellammare)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
london
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Myself wife and daughter stayed two nites here in July.10 mins on bus from Central station.Check in fine Room decent size with double and single beds.Large bathroom with powerful shower.Breakfast quite good with breads,hams,eggs,bacon,cereal and cakes tho the orange juice was awful.Very central Teatro 5 mins walk etc...Loads bars (Alleyway off Teatro back Burgerking)Good air con as was 32 degrees at night.Free Wifi added bonus...Defo stay again Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    520
    157
    53
    28
See reviews for
186
434
56
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. From the main Palermo Airport get a coach from just outside the terminal to Palermo Central for 6EUR. Taxis are very expensive (45EUR). Then get off one stop before the main bus terminal (near the old theatre)- the hotel is then a 5minute walk (follow signs for the nearby Joli Hotel).

The hotel is very modern, It was 'currently under renovation'. We had a balcony but there was scaffolding outside that. We had a double room which was two twin beds pushed together. The room was nice but the build finish did look like a DIY attempt. Nothing really lined up correctly. There is free WIFI in the lobby which we also received in the room. The breakfast was basic but sufficient. The hotel location is very central and most things are walking distance. The staff at the desk were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sverige
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

good service, clean and nice. Very affordable.
The staff was also very friendly and helpful.
If you want to stay in Palermo in a nice, clean and updated hotel, i truly recommend this.
As said above: good service, clean and nice. Very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The girls at reception were wonderful. Antonio the bar tender was the best! We loved chatting with him and sharing our day. He made our stay one we won't soon forget.

The room was huge, the bathroom lovely. The cleaning staff were lovely.

Breakfast is a feast, so much to choose from, all very fresh and constantly replaced with fresher plates.

Free wifi and use of the apple macs in the lobby was convenient.

The location really can't be beaten though, only 5 mins walk to Teatro Politeama and Teatro Massimo, you really are in the heart of Palermo.

If you're keen on walking, we took the hop on hop off bus on day 1 to see what was about and ended up walking back to everything we wanted to spend more time at at a later date which worked well. I was in Palermo to do genealogy, best archives in Sicily. Make sure and check hours and days only open until 1:30 on Saturday closed Sunday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trogir
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We checked in mid afternoon and were allocated a very small double room, so small that there was hardly space to place our 2 suitcases and still move. We complained and asked for the type of room we believe we paid for, but Reception insisted there was none available.
We did manage to change to decent room the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel.

Patrizia on reception was an angel and saved us a fortune by telling us the best ways to visit the places outside of Palermo that we wanted to go to see without being conned by tourist companies.

The room was huge, bathroom was lovely - no bath though which was a shame. The cleaning staff were lovely.

Breakfast is a feast, so much to choose from, all very fresh and constantly replaced with fresher plates.

Free wifi and use of the apple macs in the lobby was a good touch. The art work got replaced fairly regularly too which was nice.

This hotel was perfect for the sort of holiday my partner and I wanted. There is no gym or pool which is a shame, but you're in a city so it's not a chill out by the pool type of place.

The location really can't be beaten though, only 5 mins walk to Teatro Politeama and Teatro Massimo, you really are in the heart of Palermo.

If you're keen on walking, we took the tourist bus on day 1 to see what was about and ended up walking back to everything we wanted to spend more time at at a later date which worked well.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel, there are no rooms with amazing views but being at the back meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good central location, but a tip- do not rely on the hotel map to get around. we spent the first day literally walking in circles, until we got another map and realised everything worth seeing is walking distance. Hotel was being renovated, so we couldn't use the balcony. but it was clean and tidy. Breakfast was nice, and replenished often. Wifi only in the lobby was very annoying, it should have been everywhere! Bathroom was nice clean and big. Beds were comfy. No safe in the room, which I didn't like. Take earplugs as I found it quite noisy, the family in the room nextdoor were far too loud!! I found a lot of the restaurants hit and miss there, try Carlo V by the Cathedral, and Vino & Pomodoro. Would return and recommend to this hotel. Visit the catacombs, a bit of a walk (we got a taxi from the cathedral) but worth a visit, different to the ones in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Palermo Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Centro

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 112, 90139 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Castellammare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Mercure Palermo Centro is located in the city centre, 200 meters from Teatro Politeama and Teatro Massimo. This 4 star hotel offers 93 soundproofed rooms, a stylish hall, bar and internet point. Ideal for business and tourist stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Palermo Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Palermo Centro Hotel Palermo
Accor Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Palermo Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.