We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Jasmine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palermo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Jasmine
Save
You added Chez Jasmine to your Saves list
Vicolo dei Nassaiuoli 15, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 319 Palermo B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

Myself and two friends stayed at Chez Jasmine for 4 nights and we loved it! We actaully found ourselves staying in, in the evenings as it really did feel like home away from home! Mary was just amazing, it was almost as if everytime we needed to know something she just appeared! She gave us practical advice, things that were happening in the area, booked us in at a local restaurant for lunch on the day we arrived. She really is the most wonderful host, without being intrusive. CJ is gorgeous, everything you could need and more. I'm hoping to go back again!

  • Liked — Mary!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

We stayed 3 nights, the beginning of a 3 week trip to Sicily. The apartment is very comfortable, and Mary has thought of everything in terms of stocking it with items one would need: well-appointed kitchen, helpful guidebooks, ready to answer questions. It felt authentic, with friendly neighbors hanging out their laundry and going about their lives -- quite different from a hotel experience. La Kalsa was fascinating, and the apartment was well-located for walking or catching a bus.

Mary was very helpful, but also cautioned us about La Kalsa: avoid walking around at night, and carrying any bags. We noticed later that several guidebooks contained the same cautions. We did go out to local restaurants at night (walking), but stayed on the main streets. We had no problems.

  • Liked — Good value, wonderful hostess
  • Disliked — Concern about our safety when walking in La Kalsa at night.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed at Chez Jasmine for 10 days in September and had an enjoyable holiday. The La Kalsa area is something very different from the more touristy areas of Palermo in that you are living amongst the locals, and that can make for good 'street theatre' It is an area in the throes of refurbishment and what has been done has been done very well and this looks to be an area on the up. That said some areas still remain slightly run down, but it is not a problem in any way.

We had heard that you should be careful when out in the La Kalsa are at night but we certainly never felt that to be the case (we are city dwellers so that might be why) and at no time felt unsafe. There is reportedly some problem with pick pockets etc but we did not witness anything like that during our 10 days there. It is the same with any city in that you should be sensible about carrying possesions with you.

There is lots to see and do in the area and good restaurnats in Piazza Marina which is around 10 minutes away.

Chez Jamsine was a delightful place to stay it is a peaceful oasis in a busy city. It is beautifully decorated and has everything you could need. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the roof terrace which is sunny, but provides shade too.

Whilst there we visited the beach at Mondello, which also has restaurants and cafe nearby and also went to Cefalu on the train, which was very straightforward. The journey takes one hour, but it is worth the trip as there is again nice beaches and cafe bars etc and breath taking views. We also went to Monreale and visited the Cathedral, another great day out.

All in all we had an interesting trip to Palermo and whilst we may not return to the city as we have seen it, would perhaps stay in the Mondello or Cefalau area for a beach holiday.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

We stayed at Chez Jasmine in October 2006 when we came over for the Palermo v West Ham UEFA Cup game. It's a bit of a blur now, but I remember that Mary was very helpful, and she did take us to this absolutely fantastic ice cream place which I will have to come back to visit again one day!!

I think staying somewhere like Chez Jasmine, with all the character of its location and set-up, is infinintely better than staying in some box in a hotel.

We had a great time - apart from the football result. It was quite something for about 5,000 West Ham fans to march through the main thoroughfare on the night of the game - thougha few bottles did go flying and we ended up getting a police escort into the ground. But I digress...

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2006

Chez Jasmine is in Palermo's Kalsa district, arguably the city's most vital neighborhood, with abundant gentrification, restoration, and plenty of local artists and artisans in attendance. Chez Jasmine itself is a beautifully maintained private apartment on three levels, including a lovely roof garden. The kitchen has a full-sized stove and ample counter space, and it comes stocked with breakfast essentials and fresh fruit. The washing machine is very handy as well, especially if you want to travel light. Mary Goggin, the proprietor, has furnished the house with a lovely and soothing collection of muted pastels and furnishings. And Mary herself is an Irish ex-pat who knows Palermo inside and out. She is a delightful host who made us feel welcome. She was happy to handle any questions, and offer advice about the city and its environs. Staying at Chez Jasmine was a lovely experience. We hope to return at the end of the year. We recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2005

Palermo was our first stop on our honeymoon. Chez Jasmine is everything that it was advertised to be. All the reviews you are reading are accurate. It's the kind of "find" that you hope never changes. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2005

Although we are only just getting round to writing this review, we felt it is important that we did post a review, after reminicsing about a wonderful holiday we had in Palermo.

When we arrived we were greeted at the station by the wonderful host, who then gave us a lift to the appartment. It was a wonderul surprise, to find the property tucked away in a flowered courtyard. The interior was lovely; on the first floor a bedroom with a large double bed with a bathroom - all beautifully decorated, on the first floor a large lounge/kitchen/dining room, and a spiral staircase leading to a breathtaking roof garden. It really was a very pleasant surprise.

Everything was provided, all the utilities you could need, along with a nice kitchenette with a fresh orange juice maker for which there was a stash of beautiful sicilian oranges in the fridge. Bread, conserves, cereals were also provided. The lovely host visited every so often, but was never intrusive, and brought us a bottle of local wine and some tips on what to visit.

The Kalsa neighbourhood was excellent, as you really feel like a local when you walk around. There were fruit stalls and street traders selling a variety of local produce along with botanic gardens nearby, which really are a treat to visit. The appartment is a few paces away from the sea, which is nice for an evening stroll. Palermo was wonderful- many wonderful monuments, areas and markets to visit and things to do. But what really made our holiday one to remember was the reception of the host, the wonderful appartment, and the local life. Highly recommended for anyone who really wants to live the culture of the city, and relax in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Jasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Jasmine

Address: Vicolo dei Nassaiuoli 15, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chez Jasmine is basically a doll's house, tucked away in a flowered courtyard and sheltered by the centuries-old wall surrounding the Baroque church of La Pieta. The chalet covers three floors and is much appreciated for its seclusion, where the only sounds heard are birdsong and church bells ringing. Its charm lies in its flowered balconies and delightful roof garden, with old wooden beams throughout. While the chalet is ideal for two, the sofa bed in the living room is perfect for the extra couple. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chez Jasmine Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Jasmine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.