We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Villa Amalia close sea 300mt to your Saves list.
Solarium
Solarium
Solarium
Covered patio, detail
Solarium detail
Citrus garden with BBQ, amaca and lunch/dining area
Sail room
Palermo
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geoff P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great villa in a great location for both beach and city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We would warmly recommend this apartment, which is tall and airy, well equipped and furnished and which has excellent outdoor areas - including a covered terrace at the front which we used every day.

It is on a quiet street and just a short walk to the beach (either public/free or private/charge further along) and close to good local shops and restaurants. We swam every day, at least once, and took the local bus (30 mins ride?) to Palermo a number of times and really enjoyed the city too. The combination of beach and city worked really well for us.

Elena was extremely helpful and she organised taxis to and from the airport as we did not hire a car. If we were planning another trip to the area we would definitely contact Elena again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sean H
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sun, Sea and Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

After trawling the internet for villas/apartments/hotels that would fit the bill for a long weekend away in the sun, we could not have asked for much more from Villa Amalia and Mondello Beach.

The short hop from London Stansted to Palermo took around 3 hours on the Ryanair flight, and after early complications which involved boarding passes being left in the long stay car park, £8 on the airport printer only to discover we couldn’t print our passes, a 45 minute round trip on the hopper bus and £20 for a speedy security pass we managed to make the flight on time and were in Sicily by lunchtime.

We had earlier arranged to be picked up at the airport by a taxi arranged for by Elena and Bruno, which although was 10 minutes late due to traffic, was a charming chap (with a heavy right foot) who we bantered with in anglo-italian for the short 20 minute drive to Mondello beach.

On arrival we were met by Elena and Bruno, who were very welcoming and apologised for the mix-up with the taxi and made it up to us with a beautiful tray of Italian pastries, a great first impression! Elena and Bruno both have a very firm grip of the English language and went the extra mile to explain local points of interest, supermarkets, the nature reserve and said to call if ever we had any problems or mixups.

After we had settled in and made ourselves comfortable in the large spacious bedrooms, (the highlight being the ‘captains quarters’ – the master bedroom beautifully decorated with ship memorabilia) – we headed down to the beach bar for the first ‘Biere’ of the holiday. We were served by a chap with remarkable likeness to John Hartson, and practiced our Italian ordering skills (which were to be tested all weekend with varying degrees of successfulness). There was a great vibe in the bars by the beach and we made good use of these all weekend, including the Solarium where we made friends with a Law student working as a bargirl who was lovely to speak to and had a real bubbly character.

The first night we had a lovely meal out in Mondello square, where we managed to overcome the language barrier by ordering a Sicilian ‘Bistecca’ and later, some ‘Pattatini’ – there are a few nice restuarants, and this one was potentially the pick of the bunch with a lovely view off the balcony over the square and the beach. A fantastic spot to watch the hustle and bustle over the harbour!

By recommendation of Bruno, we took up the offer of hiring a boat to explore Mondello bay and the local Nature Reserve and caves along the local coastline. Our driver for the day was ‘Vincenzo’ – an easy going local who it turns out had a knack of mastering any skill he turned his hand to, and held a peculiar fondness for Nelly Furtado. Drinking beers in the sun on the boat, swimming in the sea and in the cave, even having a go in a small sailing boat had to be one of the highlights of the holiday and was a great recommendation by Bruno and Elena!

One of the features of the Villa had to be the barbeque in the back garden – we made use of this on more than one occasion – and even added to our Italian vocabulary searching Mondello for ‘Carbone’ which it seems was difficult to come by – try the shop down by the post office/cash point – the young lady in this shop had a fierce attitude but was very helpful in our hunt for coal. Another local shop owner we got to know very well is the lady at the supermarket with the veg in the front. This shop, on Mondello square has all the basics, including ‘Camparisoda’ – an inviting red drink which must be drank to be believed.

One of the tips Elena and Bruno also gave us was to head to Palermo (bus 806 – 1.5euro for a single ticket). We visited the ‘Catedrale’ and ‘Teatro Massimo’ which were strikingly beautiful, particularly against the backdrop of the palm trees and sun. If not for the culture – Palermo is a must to see the horses which pull tourists around the city – some of which wear a customised hat similar to that of Liam Gallagher circa 1996 (but with holes for the ears to poke through).

The only accusation we could land against Sicily was the perpetual irritant of mosquitos – despite spending close to 30euros on repellent and bite ease, our fair English skin seemed irresistible to the mozzys and was a constant annoyance. At one point scratching a bite drew the anger of a local who shouted in Italian to ‘stop scratching and use some cream’, a warning which was heeded for fear of further persecution by local pensioners.

Spending the evenings with a carton of red wine on the front porch in the Sicilian mountains as a backdrop and being surrounded by beautiful white drapes gave the impression we were in a Roman dream (just like that scene from Gladiator) and on our last night we wished we didn’t have to wake up and step back into reality, but our stay was over for this year. Elena and Bruno - we will certainly be back!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Barbeque and the sun terrace with the chairs and drapes.
Liked least: Mosquitoes!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BeirutDri...
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Mondello is an excellent choice and Villa Amalia is a perfect place. The villa is very large and can easily accommodate a large group yet still comfy for a couple or small family. Shops, restaurants and the beach are walking distance. Palermo is 20-30 minutes by bus or taxi. Elena was great from the start and throughout our stay. The terms of our stay were perfectly clear and handled very professionally. She arranged our transportation to and from the airport for a reasonable rate. The house was very clean and well appointed. It was so tempting to spend the entire day relaxing at "home". It's just a great atmosphere with plenty of privacy in this quiet neighborhood. Villa Amalia did indeed exceed our expectations. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: I felt at home :)
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sophie l
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent - Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Very spacious, only a 5min walk to the beach. BBQ at the back was well used! Very friendly locals and Virginia that handled our booking went above and beyond in helping us out before and during our stay! excellent all round!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The BBQ facility
Liked least: Bedding was a bit thin
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sarah C
Novara, Italy
1 review
“Settimana bellissima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

Ottimo posto per una vacanza rilassante e divertente. La villa è comoda, spaziosa e ben arredata, inoltre è posta sia vicino al mare che ai locali e con un pullman si raggiunge facilmente Palermo.I padroni sono gentilissimi e disponibilissimi. Ecco perché io e i miei amici abbiamo passato una bella settimana di vacanza.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
auroramil...
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ottima posizione,arredi e forniture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
Google Translation

La casa è vicinissima alla piazzetta di Mondello,ma nello stesso tempo ha un giardino e due pati dove si puo' prendere il sole fare un barbeque e mangiare all'aperto in completa privacy.Pulitissima,bagni nuovi,la cucina interamente attrezzata e di grande comodita' il wi fi. E' il connubbio ideale per avere giardino e mare vicino.Nessun problema di parcheggio anche nelle domeniche affollate di Mondello.La proprietaria è squisita e discreta.Disponibile ad ogni esigenza.La consiglio vivamente

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: posizione
Liked least: la chiusura delle finestre
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$218
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Elena B
39 392 3174283
Speaks English, French, Italian
Listed since : Oct 2012
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing