We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A'Cuncuma Restaurant

A'Cuncuma Restaurant
Judica 21/23 | Palermo, 90134 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 320 164 6036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,150 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $56
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A'cuncuma Restaurant e ubicato presso il centro storico di palermo,tra la cattedrale e il teatro massimo e lungo un percorso turistico che si snoda tra i beni storici e culturali piu apprezzabili del capoluogo Palermitano.il locale offre un ambiente intimo e ricercato in grado di soddisfare lo spirito ed il palato
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The dishes here that were amazing, blew our minds! There were some odd dishes that didn't hit the mark, but that's to be expected. I came here because it said online they had a decent meat menu, but it was mostly fish.

Service was okay, if a little Sicilian. Which would be okay if the meal didn't set you back quite a lot of money. I'm okay with laxed, non-over bearing service, but I would prefer it if the owner/manager left their phone on silent. And I don't think a 20-30 minute wait between courses when you are spending that much is appropriate. Over all they were very friendly.

It might sound harsh, but at around 130-150 euros, this is Michellin star prices, so it really does need to be perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    68
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try the tasting menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We went based upon previous trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. When we arrived we were not sure whether the restaurant was open but upon checking to see if the door was locked we were welcomed in by the maître d'. We were quite early in the evening during their down season but the restaurant filled up during the evening and had a nice atmosphere.

Each course was beautifully presented and the younger of the two chefs, despite not speaking a lot of English did a great job of explaining what each one was. The main chef came out of the kitchen a few times talking emphatically in Italian and checking we were okay - he definitely seemed passionate about the food produced.

A couple of the courses were combinations of food we would probably not have selected off of the menu on our own accord but were more than pleasantly surprised. Each dish was different and there wasn't a single one that disappointed right down to the traditional Sicilian dessert served to finish.

Carrot sticks alongside the bread at the beginning of the meal were also a great addition!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

After reading the reviews on here we couldn't leave Palermo without stopping by. Very glad we did - one of the best meals we have had in a long time.

The fish taster menu was more than enough to fill us both - four dishes plus deserts - each packed with flavour and a pleasure to devour. Service was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. A relaxed atmosphere and great wine, of course we choose a local bottle.

Don't miss out on having a meal here during your stay. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We're a couple of San Francisco-based foodies, and came across this place thanks to the TripAdvisor reviews. They are spot on: one of the best meals we've had in Italy (and that's saying a lot.)

We went by on a Tuesday evening, and the place was empty - what a shame! (This was early April, so probably a widespread phenomenon.) We made a reservation for the following night - which proved unnecessary, but your mileage may vary. We were looked after by the chef and his son; despite their limited English and our limited Italian, we got on fine - mostly because the food was so good. There's a few English translations in the menu, which helped get the basics right.

We can't speak for the seafood, but the starters and meat courses were fantastic. (One minor snag: no lamb.) The creations are interesting - e.g., dark brown pasta as part of a dish (when we asked, we were told 20g chocolate powder to 100g of flour.)

Highly recommended. Don't be put off by the slightly out-of-the-way location; it's well worth the trip. Really friendly. EIUR120 for two, including 2 starter, 2 mains, 2 desserts, and a bottle of wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Marvelous meal in Palermo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We happened upon this gem of a restaurant because it was near our hotel in Palermo and came highly reviewed on this website, and we were entirely pleased with our dinner experience there. We arrived early and hungry and they accommodated us immediately. We decided to try the tasting menu for two and it was magnificent. There were numerous small and delicate courses, each a little gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A'Cuncuma Restaurant also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to A'Cuncuma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A'Cuncuma Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.